Finally published!

I have to admit to some vanity in this post. I have had the great personal satisfaction of having something published on another blog, as a ‘guest article’. This is not just a re-blog, but a reworking of something originally written as a post on this blog. More importantly, at least to me, it is on a blog that I have great respect for; the first blog that I ever followed in fact. It is not even really a blog, but a website, dedicated to film and cinema, my great love.

The young James Curnow, all the way from Australia, has created a site that looks in detail at films, genres, and the whole subject of cinema, both as an art form, and from a social perspective. It is of a real Academic standard, and a long way from some sites, that just seek to praise indifferent films, or try to be ‘amusing’. He is now allowing other writers to have articles published on his site, and I am proud to be able to say that I am one of them. When I started this blog, only eighteen months ago, I had never even hoped that someone else would appreciate something I had written, let alone publish it. It has increased my confidence, added to my already somewhat inflated self-esteem, and given me just the spark I need, to become more creative, and less set in my ways.

I understand that he will also publish a second article from me soon. But in the meantime, please visit his site, and as well as hopefully reading my article, take time to explore the whole thing, and enjoy the sheer quality of his writing, and relish his extensive film knowledge. Here is a link;

http://curnblog.com/2013/12/10/thank-orson-welles-definitive-actor-consummate-director-true-auteur/

Thanks in anticipation, and regards to you all. Pete.

8 thoughts on “Finally published!

  1. Words can’t express how proud I am of you. I am sitting here beaming like a cartoon character. Wonderful tribute and I have already left a comment. Hugs, me x

    Like

  2. Pete, I read your fine review and watched the long and amazingly complex crane shot filmed by Welles for the opening of “Touch of Evil.” I have never seen this film, but I am definitely intrigued. I have “Citizen Kane,” “The Lady from Shanghai,” and “The Third Man” on DVD, and a couple of other films that feature Joseph Cotten, including “Shadow of a Doubt” and “Niagara.” Congratulations on being featured on Curnblog. I agree that Cotten was a fine, but not outstanding, actor. I’ve subscribed to James Curnow’s site, as it looks very professionally produced. I’m looking forward to seeing your blogs there again in the near future!

    Like

  3. It was only a matter of time before you were appreciated by a wider audience; I just wish I shared some of your knowledge as you articles are on a level beyond my simple northern mind 🙂 Still I enjoy reading them and promise one day to pick up your top films and expand my horizons.
    All the best, Eddy

    Like

All comments welcome

