Following your Followers

Today was the hottest day of the year so far in Norfolk. After taking Ollie for his usual walk, I was feeling pretty drained, and not really in the mood to spend much more time outside. There was little escape from the sun, and no breeze to speak of. I am not complaining though. After spending two years complaining about the rain, I am pleased to be able to enjoy some dry days.

I decided to spend the rest of the afternoon in the small room grandly called ‘the office’. With the sun towards the back of the house, and sitting on my usual backless stool, I was able to keep reasonably cool. My mission was to check out the blogs of my followers. I have mentioned before, that I am informed by WordPress that I have 350 blog followers, and another 50 or so who follow by e mail, or via Twitter. I sat at my desk, and called up the list on the stats page. Seventeen pages of gravatars and website addresses to work through. I decided to make a cup of coffee.

I could exclude those that I follow, as I know what they are up to. I was also aware of a few that I knew to be defunct, for various reasons. That still left me with over 320 to plough through. I felt guilty, as in many cases, I had not commented for ages, or read any recent posts. I was quickly able to whittle down the numbers. Blog after blog had been deleted by the ‘owner’. Many had not been posted on since early 2013, or even late 2012. Some had posts declaring that they were ‘taking a break’, or ‘closed for the holidays’. In some cases, those holidays were last year’s. Numbers were further reduced by being able to ignore any ‘followers’ still active, who were continuing to sell stuff, or promote religions. A fair number of the blogs were still posting near-identical posts about pets, cooking, or photography. Nothing wrong with that, not in my book. Some of the budding authors had come on sufficiently to be advertising their published works, or putting up links to where they could be found. I excluded these from the ‘sellers’. They are just blogging writers who have achieved their goal. Well done to all of you in that category.

By far the majority are still going strong. They are blogging with the same enthusiasm as when they first came to my attention, and their blogs have gone from strength to strength. They almost all have a great deal more followers than I do, so congratulations are in order. We had started on this journey around the same time, and most of us are still here, to tell our tales. Most of their blogs are great to look at. Colourful, strewn with photos, and full of guest posts, or tales of travel. I did notice that many have changed theme. It seems that black is the ‘new black’, usually with red or white type. Others have eschewed wordpress completely, and are blogging on different platforms, or have taken the .com route, to their own website. I wish them luck, all of them. Some of the sites are simple ‘re-bloggers’, where the site owner writes very little themselves, instead re-blogging articles from many other bloggers. I mean no criticism of this. I have benefited from this practice personally, and I believe that it is a great way to spread the word, and to get ideas and information to those who might not otherwise discover  it.

As and when I got the opportunity, I touched base with many of them once more. I liked a post here, commented on one there. Congratulated when appropriate, and encouraged if I considered it necessary. Some have already got back to me, no doubt surprised at my sudden and unexpected appearance. After a long afternoon into the early evening, I finally completed the list. It made me feel good, assuaged my guilt, and revitalised my community spirit, as far as the blogging community has one. I must be sure to do this more often. As I often say, we are all in this together,

 

11 thoughts on “Following your Followers

  1. Lovely post Pete, and great to spend sometime catching up with what others are writing about. I really appreciate the fact that you always take time to comment on my posts with kind words about my work. I’m honoured to be amongst the blogs you follow and support. A huge thank you. Best wishes, as always, Jane x

    Like

  2. Pete, I don’t always acknowledge your comments on my blog (something you do religiously [no pun intended]), but I always read them with great enthusiasm. I also read your blog regularly because I thoroughly enjoy what you write. I find particularly interesting posts that deal with your daily life in Norfolk, as not only are they informative but also tend to include a fair amount of wit, which is something that I value highly.

    Like

    1. Thanks David. Your input into my blog is always intelligent and considered, and much appreciated. There is no need to answer all the comments I put on yours, as we are frequently in communication. My posts about Norfolk are well-received generally, and that is very pleasing to me.
      Regards from Norfolk, Pete.

      Like

  3. I know you visited my blog because you made a few comments and I appreciate it. I wonder if I could do the same with what you did. Some bloggers I follow are just too enthusiastic about blogging at the start then you won’t hear from them for such a long,long time then you forget to check their sites and when you do, it’s the same old blog that you have read a long time ago. I’ve always been into keeping journals so updating my blog is quite easy.

    Let’s keep blogging 🙂

    Like

    1. Indeed Arlene, we must all try to keep blogging, to keep the ideas and process alive. I was pleased to be able to follow your blog, as for some reason, it seemed not to have worked correctly the first time!
      Best wishes from England, Pete.

      Like

  4. Gosh, I admire your diligence in doing this! I usually visit a new follower to see what they are doing, but I rarely follow this up. A lot are quite odd! At the moment I don’t seem to have enough time to write my posts, let alone catch up with commenting! Now I have completed my tax form and caught up with balancing the accounts and have no further holidays booked I may get the opportunity to pay more attention to the blogging community – or then again I may just make the most of the sunshine and sit outside with a book 😉
    Or even go house-hunting again!
    Jude xx

    Like

All comments welcome

