Significant Songs (41/42)

Funeral music

I am getting to that time in life when you start to think about what music might be played at your funeral. To be very honest, I have thought about this topic for some years now, so it is nothing new. I have one song that is constant, and the second song keeps changing. I am still not certain, as I type this, if both songs will make the cut, but I like them enough to get them published as a post, and one will never change.

(Grant My) Last Request

The title alone almost guarantees Paolo Nutini’s song a place at my internment. It helps that it is also very good; a great pop song, sung well, in a great voice. It is haunting too, also appropriate, and has that timeless feel, suitable for the ceremony. The young Scot hit the headlines with his debut album ‘These Streets’, in 2006, and this track was a big hit at the time. Although the song is about the ending of a relationship, we will gloss over that, and regard it in the context of the ending of a life.

This is the video from the USA, to promote the single.

Someone To Watch Over Me

I think we might all agree that it would be nice to have someone to watch over us? This song has been around a long time, since 1926 to be exact, when it was written by George and Ira Gershwin. It is best known as one of the signature songs of Ella Fitzgerald, but that version is not my choice on this occasion. Little jimmy Scott, lately just known as Jimmy Scott, sadly died this year. He was born with a syndrome that made him unable to reach puberty, and also stunted his growth. Luckily, this also endowed him with one of the most unusual singing voices ever heard. If you didn’t see him singing, you could be forgiven for thinking that you were listening to a female vocalist. I was lucky enough to see him perform late in his life, on two occasions at Ronnie Scott’s jazz club in Soho. I feel privileged to have seen the man beloved of Billie Holliday, and many more of his peers. He first recorded this song during the 1950’s, and made many later versions too. For me, the definitive funeral song, and without doubt, the best version too. This is one of the older recordings. I would use the one from the 2003 album ‘Falling In Love Is Wonderful’ but I can’t get a clip of that.

That’s my funeral music sorted. Give yours some thought. You’ll be glad you did.

10 thoughts on “Significant Songs (41/42)

  1. I wonder how many people have chosen “Seasons in the Sun,” as sung by Terry Jacks? I’ve already postponed my funeral appointment (fortunately, it was a long distance call), so I have plenty of time to choose a song–or write one myself.

    Like

    1. When you have been to as many funerals as I have over the last few years Jimmy, it suddenly becomes very appropriate mate!
      Luckily, you have a good few years left yet, so no need to decide at the moment…
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

