Coming to terms

After living here in Norfolk for quite a while now, I have finally begun to believe it. For so long, it didn’t feel real, as if I was always going to be going back to London, or moving on to somewhere else. It has taken a long time to fully embrace the peace, and the unreal slowness of life here. I used to think that I was deluded when I told myself that I didn’t miss anything about life in the city. Part of me always thought that I would snap out of it one day, and wonder what I thought I was doing here.

I now realise that I have come to terms with this life. I am living life in a way I never previously thought possible, and I am glad about it too. I have written a lot about the weather in many posts, as regular readers will be only too aware. I think that this is because I have come to understand weather in a very real sense. I now like to prepare for it, to be aware what might happen, and to make it part of my life, as opposed to disregarding it. I welcome the darkness, and the way that it closes things down around us. I enjoy that slow pace of life, and adjust my own speed accordingly. This is where I live now, and I won’t be going anywhere else.

I expect that many of you would never consider giving up the comforts and amenities of life in a large town or city. I know that I once thought that I never would. There are trade-offs, it would be foolish to suggest otherwise. Life outside villages has a convenience and simplicity not found here. We have to plan ahead, make sure that the car is reliable, and be aware that we cannot rely on public transport. Going to a theatre, a good restaurant, or an exhibition, is not something that can be done on the spur of the moment. It involves forward planning, and of course, driving. Yet it restores that sense of occasion, so often lacking in cities, where these things are so common, they become almost mundane. They can still be achieved, you just have to think about them.

In return, you get a great deal, once you understand what it is. Sky, darkness, stillness; a sense of safety previously unknown.

I can really recommend it.

11 thoughts on “Coming to terms

  1. How I wish I could live in a place you so aptly describe. I miss visiting our home in the province – being quiet here with my own thoughts but I feel quite lazy to blog.

    Like

    1. You should never feel lazy about blogging Arlene. Your mind is working hard, your fingers are busy, and you are creating something interesting and worthwhile. It is an activity like any other, and you do it well.
      Best wishes from England, Pete.

      Like

  2. I have always been fascinated by the very idea of Las Vegas, and the juxtaposition of the garish constructions of man against one of nature’s grandest backdrops. It sort of works, in the same way as a theme park, standing out against the surrounding countryside like a distant place of destination. A city created by gangsters for profit, serving the twin purposes of entertainment and gambling, has also become a base from which to explore the nature that it despoils.
    Only humans could achieve this strange contradiction.
    Very best wishes, Pete.

    Like

    1. Pete, it is a strange contradiction indeed! I’m pretty sure that most people who visit Las Vegas spend their days on the Strip shopping, gambling, and attending stage shows rather than venturing out into the city itself, or beyond its borders to places like Hoover Dam, Red Rock Canyon, Mt. Charleston, or Valley of Fire State Park. I enjoy the occasional walk down the Strip, and the city is quite modern and nice, but the real joy of living here is the Mojave Desert. You’ll have to check it out one day!

      Like

  3. Hope you are preparing for those winds that are threatening to batter our tiny island tonight -though actually here in the Shires it was extremely windy yesterday and almost still today! Having lived here for three years I can’t see me going back to a larger town, I’d happily live in the middle of nowhere, but for reasons you state, i.e. no public transport, that’s not going to happen. I wonder about elderly people who are stuck in the pretty villages that no longer have any amenities and who can no longer drive. Like my MiL, they become dependent on other people for everything and that’s not always easy or even possible.

    Like

    1. I confess that I am a little concerned about the massive chimney Jude. I will be charting its progress, during the predicted gales. Otherwise, I don’t really know how to prepare for the winds, other than to avoid standing too close to trees. If our oaks came down, it would be all over for us anyway. Squashed like flies under hundreds of years of wood!
      You are correct to state that living alone in these places as you get older is best avoided. I know of at least two people nearby who are completely dependent on neighbours. I advised them to sell up here, and move the three miles into Dereham. If I found myself in that situation, that is what I would do.
      Regards as always, Pete.

      Like

  4. Great post! I realized how important the weather and the seasons are when we moved to our current place, which is out of town and in a forest. We have a garden with trees and plants and the seasons are so obvious when you watch them grow. I now understand how beautiful changing seasons are and I have actually become aware of them.

    Like

  5. Pete, I have now lived in Las Vegas for 19 years, having moved here from Kansas City, Missouri the first week of October 1995. And yet, after all these years, I still sometimes get that unreal feeling you describe. Growing up in the rather flat American heartland, I always yearned for the mountains, and always thought the desert, with its colorful rock formations and breathtaking vistas, would be the ideal environment in which to live. I still think so. If I look out my bedroom window, I see Gass Peak (6943 ft / 2116 m), which, along with its sister peaks, is part of the Las Vegas Range that forms the northern boundary of the Las Vegas Valley. As one wheels around town, this and other ranges, most notably the Spring Mountains on the west side, form a constant backdrop that makes even a trip to the supermarket, gas station, shopping center, or doctor’s office a scenic drive.

    As for the pros and cons of city living versus village or country living, I think there are many. Personally, I could adapt to any level of population density, and wouldn’t mind driving a fair distance to, say, shop for groceries, so long as I’m able to conduct daily life in a picturesque setting that offers outdoor recreational opportunities.

    Like

All comments welcome

