Significant Songs (43)

Let Me Be Your Fantasy

In 1992, I was 40 years old. Hardly the target market for a new blend of modern music. Nonetheless, I was overwhelmed when I heard this record, from a group that I had never known before that time. Sung by the beguiling Dorothy Fearon, it soon became a staple of the rave/dance scene of the mid 1990s. Two years later, it reached number one in the mainstream charts, and I bought the CD ‘Deliverance’. This contained the track in question, as well as other favourites; ‘Casanova’, and the cover of ‘Everybody’s Got To Learn Sometime’, which I had owned by The Korgis. This was an amazing album, with no duff tracks, and a great version of ‘Let me Be…’ into the bargain.
Despite my age, I was overwhelmed by the quality of the vocals, and the production values.
This track has rightly been hailed as a modern ‘anthem’. If you don’t care for it, I can only say that, ‘you had to be there’. I have such great memories of playing the CD in my car, maxing out the volume, and singing along to the annoyance of other road users in London. Please enjoy it. I am sure you will.

2 thoughts on “Significant Songs (43)

  1. “I must admit, just when I think I’m king,” you come along with another significant song that I like and which has until now been totally unbeknownst to me. I don’t know how long this particular musical selection “sat in your lap” before you decided to include it on your blog, but, well, there it is! As for me, I’m still experiencing the repercussions of listening to Significant Songs (33).

    Like

All comments welcome

