Blogging ups and downs

I have been having some problems with wordpress over the past few days. Slow to load, taking ages to post comments on other blogs, and long delays to load the Reader. Is it just me, or is anyone else experiencing this? I have gone through the usual housekeeping; defrag, delete old files, full system scan, clean-up, and restart. Still lumbering. The Internet connection is sound, and running at a decent speed, so I am at something of a loss to get to the root of the problem. Perhaps it is one of the occasional glitches that wordpress seems to experience, as they update their site, or introduce new tweaks. Time will tell.

After enjoying my best week ever on the blog for views and readers, during the first week of November, it has now settled down, and is back to ‘normal’. The heady days of high stats columns, and unheard of figures are behind me for now, and I am back down to earth with a bump. It was nice while it lasted, like a short holiday, or an unexpected visit. Time to get back to reality, and to continue with the posts, and the everyday life of an average blogger. December is looming, and with it, the coming winter. Darker days, longer evenings, an ideal time for putting in the hours at the keyboard.

13 thoughts on “Blogging ups and downs

  1. My question is how accurate are the stats? Someone said they were surprised more people didn’t “like” a post, but it got a huge number of views…or did it? Anyone have a POV on whether the stats are accurate?

    Like

      1. That’s a great point! If you are signed up to receive the post via email, then you don’t have to go to the site, so it must not count, right? I’m only curious because I have a consistent daily view total that goes up when I post something that gets a lot of sharing…so I wonder if the day-to-day total is accurate…would love others to weigh in who may know!

        Like

  2. It seems to me that wordpress glitches will always be with us. I’ve had similar to you in the past, Pete. My glitch at the moment is one of the worst in that the system is removing my images. Every day, on one or other of the blogs, my customised Facebook, twitter or Award-free blog images are missing and have to be uploaded again. In spite of all, have a lovely week!

    Like

    1. It must be a lot more annoying when you have a few blogs as you do Sarah. As you say, we will have to live with these glitches. A lot of the country hasn’t even got broadband, and I’m grumbling!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  3. I could see all the gravatars now unlike several days ago where the message is always “loading”. Our problem nowadays is not with WP but the slow internet connection. Keep on blogging, sometimes, you’ll just be surprised that someone found your blog and read everything you’ve written.

    Like

    1. Thanks Arlene. I will undoubtedly keep on blogging.
      I am aware that my irritations are minor, compared to the frustrations of a slow Internet speed. You deserve to be congratulated for producing your blogs without the benefit of the broadband speeds enjoyed here.
      Best wishes from England, Pete.

      Like

All comments welcome

