Spreading more words

This is the second part of a short series of appreciation of the blogs that I follow. I am hoping to get them even more traffic, and some new followers or admirers. The first post on this topic was well-received, so I thought that I would strike whilst the iron is hot, and recommend some more excellent blogs for you to consider. As I said in the previous post, I have not informed the bloggers in advance, but I am confident that you will find much to admire, to gaze at, or to give you food for thought.

A German man, his lovely Norwegian partner, some imaginary ‘bookfayries’, and a home on the Norfolk coast, in one of its most picturesque places. All of this adds up to one of the most unusual blogs on my list. The learned Klausbernd, resident of Cley-Next-The-Sea, compiles unusual and informed articles and travelogues. These are accompanied by the sumptuous colour photography of Dina, who shares her time between work in Germany, and home in Norfolk. Not only will they introduce you to places and sights you have never seen, they also bring to life places you thought you knew, from a different viewpoint. Dina’s photography is improving in leaps and bounds, and the sea-faring Klausbernd, a successful author, adds detail and fascinating facts to their collaborations. It is a massively popular blog, and it is easy to see why. And it has bookfayries…Oh, and it is also in German, as well as English.
http://toffeefee.wordpress.com/2014/11/14/blakeney-point/

Arlene lives in the Philippines. She is a retired bank worker, a cancer survivor, and devoted mother and grandmother. She has a love of reading, and of buying books. She is also a great cook, using the traditional ingredients of her region. She loves to take photos, contemplate on sparrows in her garden, and to appreciate the orchids that grow in those exotic climes. Her religious faith is strong, but not an issue as far as the blog goes. She loves to reflect, to be with her family, and to post about how she is feeling, and anything and everything in her life. Visiting her blog is like taking a break, retreating from the busy side of life, and slowing down a little. Her blogs are very popular. She has enjoyed views in the hundreds of thousands, and has a loyal following. It is easy to see why.
https://arlene1956.wordpress.com/

I have written a fair bit about my past in London, as well as some posts about places that I recommend you visit. If you ever wonder how some of those streets and areas got such unusual names, then this is the site for you. Even though I know a lot about London, and have walked or driven over a good part of its streets, there is always something great to discover here. Elizabeth is actually an American. In her desire to publish a book about the street names of London, she has unearthed a rich treasure trove.
http://thestreetnames.wordpress.com/2014/11/07/gin-lions-and-the-black-prince/

Gretchen lives in New England, in the USA. She is an accomplished artist, restorer of furniture, and creator of floor-cloths. Her style, and especially her use of blues, keeps me captivated. Her stories about New England life, her cat, and her beloved garden, always make me feel good. I worry about her when the snow is bad, and she gets so cold; and when her upstairs neighbours drive her crazy with noise. She has some warm tales to tell, of life in a different place, and at a different pace.
http://regnistegg999.wordpress.com/

Someone I worked with, back in my Ambulance days in London. Now blogging about his love of photography, and his desire to master the art. A real Londoner, a dedicated Paramedic, committed motor cyclist, and someone that I am pleased to call a friend. His photos cover unusual aspects and angles of life in London, as well as his trips elsewhere, and his love of photographing live performers at gigs. He is still learning, but has already achieved a lot. Always happy to take advice, welcoming constructive criticism, and striving to do better. Check him out here.
http://jimjimmyjamesdotorg.wordpress.com/

Five more of my most-loved blogs for you. I hope that you get the chance to look at them, perhaps follow them, comment on posts, or just come back to them, now and again. They are all quite different, but all have their strengths and originality. There are a few more to come. Another time.

17 thoughts on “Spreading more words

  1. Sorry for the delayed reply. Bit heady with a temp of 102.
    Will be heading back to bed in a mo.
    Thank you so so much for including me in this list. I’m a bit gob smacked!
    I feel a huge amount of pressure to produce something more in-depth now……. I hope anyone visiting is not too disappointed.

    I will also visit the other blogs when I feel a little more able to concentrate.

    Kind regards,
    Jimmy.

    Like

    1. No pressure at all Jimmy. I made it clear that you were still learning. I hoped to generate some more traffic for your blog, and hopefully something constructive will come out of it. Or nothing will happen at all. Who knows?.
      Hope that you feel better soon mate. Take care. Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Pete,
    thank you very, very much for spreading the word about our Bookfayrie Blog. We feel honoured. You made our dear Bookfayries Siri and Selma very happy and of course our beloved Dina and our dear Master as well 🙂
    It’s a pity that you can’t write about your own blog because the beetlypete-blog shouldn’t be missed on a list of well done and entertaining blogs. We love to read the musings of Ollie and you 🙂
    With lots of love from the rainy coast of North Norfolk – horrible weather today
    the Fab Four of Cley
    Dina & Klausbernd, Siri & Selma

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

      1. A massive thank you from me too, dear Pete! You make me blush and then again smile from ear to ear. This is so kind and most generous! Now I look forward to get to know more new bloggers from your list. Tusen takk, as we say in Norway! 🙂
        Big hug and lots of pats for Ollie from rainy Bonn,
        Dina

        Like

  3. Wow, thank you for including me in your list, I’m honored. You’ve thought of a lovely way to share links and blog posts that are worth-visiting. I enjoyed reading a few posts from the first list of blogs that you linked here. The wonder of blogging, reaching out to people, sharing ideas. Don’t you just love it? I do.

    Like

    1. You are very welcome Arlene. Your blog means a great deal to me, and our blogging friendship, over thousands of miles, is priceless. I am very pleased that you were able to enjoy some of my recommendations. I do love it, as you do.
      Best wishes from England, Pete.

      Like

  4. Pete, I think it’s great that modern technology allows us to engage ourselves in the world community so that we can mutually share our individual passions, our personal anecdotes, and our particular points of view. By spreading the word to your followers about the blogs you frequent, you are polishing the network even further. I look forward to checking out these fine blogs.

    Like

    1. I cannot think of anyone who deserves it more Gretchen. We have been ‘around each other’ for a long time, and my life would be diminished, if you were not a part of it.
      Best wishes as always, Pete.

      Like

All comments welcome

