A New Addition

At 14.23 today, after almost twelve hours in labour, Julie’s daughter Vicky delivered a healthy baby boy. The yet to be named new arrival is healthy, alert, and very hungry! He weighed in at a creditable 8lbs 9ozs, and I am pleased to report that Mum and baby are both doing well. Julie was at the bedside for the birth, and the overjoyed new Grandma even cut the cord. Vicky will be kept in overnight for observation, and should be home tomorrow, all being well.
Naturally, we are all delighted with the news, and welcome the new addition to the family.

However, I have barely mastered being a step-dad to Julie’s children. I am now going to have to learn to be a step-Grandpa. Any tips and advice will be most welcome. It looks as if Christmas is going to be busier than ever this year.

24 thoughts on “A New Addition

  1. Congratulations, Pete, on this new addition to the family. I don’t know how far away you live from the family, but if you are nearby, you would do well to read to the child. A baby will find comfort in the rhythm of the voice, and will come to associate your face with a pleasant experience. As he gradually becomes a toddler, he will pick up basic words and concepts, and will develop a taste for stories. Additionally, if you can share certain unique experiences with the child, that will also be meaningful. Here in the States, for example, I used to carve pumpkins and gourds with a child, and take her out on Halloween night. I also took her to the movie theater now and then to see animated films suitable for her age. Eventually, I took her on age-appropriate hikes in the desert, and to places of interest around the city. Once in a blue moon, I treated her to McDonald’s, a guilty pleasure for a girl who grew up in a home where both parents knew their way around the kitchen. So that’s my advice. Read to your step-grandson, and think of unique activities that will cement in his mind fond memories of you.

    Like

  2. Pete,

    Congratulations. Being a grandfather is a big job. First rule – you get to spoil the children because they go home! I am sure you will treasure your time with them – it will go by so quickly.

    As always, my best to now Grandma Julie.

    Phil

    Like

  3. Hi Pete, best wishes to you and your family to the new baby. I think it will be no problem to be a good step-grandpa – you have to spend time with the little children, listen to them, speak with them – and all things will go! Good luck for all of you!

    Like

  4. Congratulations Pete! Life will never be the same again! I am enjoying many cuddles with my latest grandson, and number 6 is due in February! My OH is a step-granddad. He finds them quite difficult now they are older, but loved them as babies, I think he finds the noise hard to deal with now so can get a bit grumpy, but for some odd reason they all love him to bits! I think you just need to be you – I’m sure you will fall in love with him with no trouble at all πŸ˜€

    Like

  5. Hi Pete, I’ve just seen the update, congratulations again on a healthy baby boy! I’m glad it all went well. Tips on how to be a popular grandad? I’m a popular uncle to two sets of siblings (boy/boy on my brother’s side, girl/boy on an uncle’s side [late father, complicated], all between 8 and 12). The secret of my success? It helps that I live far away on a big town with the Queen of England in a palace down the road. And they are excited that I can tell a policeman when to put his sirens on.
    For you, I think you will always be Grampa Pete with his big fluffy dog. And just for starters. You have nothing to worry about! πŸΆπŸ•
    [I just discovered all the little smileys and whatnots, so many!!)

    Best wishes to you all.
    Arne

    Like

    1. It would have been different if we had stayed in London, no doubt. As it is, I will trade on having the dog, and living across the road from The Meadows, and a small park for toddlers!
      Thanks Arne. (I have never used the ’emoticons’!)

      Like

  6. Congrats to Julie, a brand new grandma and to you too, an excited step-Grandpa. I tell you, it is so exciting to have a baby in the family.

    I wonder if you could help me with this Pete. I already searched in forums at WordPress but didn’t find a satisfactory answer. The question is, “how do you delete a follower”? I recently visited the list of my blog followers (recent ones) and I found someone who does not have any blog content and the blog name is even suspicious. Although it is a wordpress blog address, the url does not starts with https. Thanks! Have you encountered something like this?

    Like

    1. Thanks for your kind words Arlene.

      I have also considered deleting a follower, but I don’t think that it can be done. When I get a follow, I look at their details. If they don’t have any, then I delete the notification e mail. I looked at wordpress support, which you can access at the very bottom of your dashboard. I found these answers to a question similar to yours. I have copied and pasted the question, and the text of the replies.

      Q. How can I delete a follower so they do not receive a post by email?

      A. jeremeylduvall
      Happiness Engineer (wordpress)
      Oct 30, 2014, 5:41 PM

      We do not remove followers from a blog. Subscriptions can only be controlled on the subscriber side, not the site owner side. If you are certain you no longer want these individuals to receive your posts, I would advise you to setup a new blog. That way, you can start with a fresh slate!

      Q. I want to make my blog private and get rid of my followers

      A. Okay, what problem are you having? Go to Settings->Reading and set it to Private. Poof, gone.
      (A Private blog requires e mail permission to look at it, and to be invited to join. It is a drastic step though as most will not bother)

      Q. How to delete followers ?

      A. The only people that are able to remove themselves from following a blog are the actual followers. You are unable to remove your blog followers.

      As you can see Arlene, just from these three questions on a long thread, deleting followers is not possible. I hope that answers your question, though unfortunately it is not the answer you would have liked. If you want to read them yourself, go to wordpress support, and type in the search box ‘deleting followers.’

      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I already did, thanks Pete! I hope WordPress could address this properly. What’s the use of blogging if you just make it private, might as well keep an online diary. It defeats the purpose of interaction and learning from other bloggers too.

        Like

All comments welcome

