Mega-Blogs

I occasionally post updates on this blog about how many followers I have, how many posts I have written, and whether or not I have had a lot of views, or hardly any. Although I am not obsessed with statistics, I do find them interesting, especially when my blog is viewed in a very unusual country. (Bhutan, anyone?) I never cease to be amazed at the diversity of the blogging community, and that is only those writing in English.

A couple of days ago, I received a ‘like’ from someone. As is my habit, I checked out her blog, to see what it was like. It was an accomplished and well-established blog, with diverse articles, lots of photos, and many reviews. I noticed a stats counter in the margin. I could hardly believe my eyes when I read the figures. She has 40,000 followers. That’s forty thousand! Average daily views exceed 12,000, over half as many as I have ever had, every day. This got me quite excited, and I set about trying to find blogs with similar heavyweight stats. I found a few with more than 50,000 followers, and one with 107,000. I found another blog with daily views in excess of 25,000, and two separate pages of blog awards, requiring their own category.

These were all based in the USA. One was religious, and two of them were about American sports. I won’t bother to show links to them, I think they are doing well-enough as it is.

Looking deeper into this subject, I had to wonder why a blog with 40,000 followers is only getting 12,000 daily views. What happened to the other 28,000 followers? Is it just that they cannot be bothered, or have they never really actually followed the blog, just added a follow, and moved on? Is the blogger just adding a like to every post published anywhere, in the hope of generating return traffic perhaps? Then there is the housekeeping issue. Do they ever reply to what must be hundreds, if not thousands, of comments? No doubt views at this level must generate some income, in one shape or form, but how do they manage that amount of time at the keyboard.? Do they have a team, or an assistant?

I can only imagine that these mega-blogs are no longer just blogs. They have transcended blogging, and the reasons that most of us blog in the first place. They are jobs, a source of income, pure and simple. This discovery, and the small amount of research, actually made me feel quite good about my own blog. I never wanted it to be a job. It is exactly what I hoped it would be.

26 thoughts on “Mega-Blogs

  1. Interesting thoughts and comments, Pete. Getting bigger and having more traffic = more work, no income, less free time and a bad conscience because you’re always behind repaying the visits; like me now: I’m far behind again. πŸ˜‰
    What we have noticed, many of our co-bloggers from the past two years that are growing big-bigger are either posting articles with big gaps (like 1-2-3 months) or it seems like they have stopped revisiting the other bloggers. Because they have a life and job and social obligations.
    If you have 500000 followers, then you probably follow thousands of bloggers as well; you are bound to miss hundreds of posts each day – unless you operate your reader the whole day. I suppose that could also explain why the views are going down. Altogether, it’s better to stay small, consider it a nice hobby and do it your way, without thinking is this good for the traffic.
    Many famous bloggers with more than 100 000 followers have very little traffic, like comments, likes etc. But they make money, because they write about topics that are interesting to all the readers outside the own blogosphere, mostly lifestyle/fashion. They get lots of publicity. Growing big inside WP solely = wearing oneself out, I think. πŸ˜‰

    When I first started to follow Steve McCurry he had 6000 followers. Every new post of his gets reblogged so often, today he has almost 30.000. Still, likes and comments are not that high, but he doesn’t answer comments or visit other blogs. At the end of next year, he’ll probably have more than 50 0000 followers.

    Stay a happy blogger, Pete, do it your way.
    Love, Dina

    Like

  2. “Do they ever reply to what must be hundreds, if not thousands, of comments?” Pete, that is an excellent question. One very nice thing about your blog is that you take the time to write a personal response to every comment. I think that is priceless. As for my blog, I get very little traffic, but that’s not surprising given the nature of what I publish there. I have what you might call a micro-blog, and even that sounds generous!

    Like

      1. I was mainly thinking about the blogs that seek to make a living from blogging, and that is their sole ethic. You know the sort. They follow countless blogs, like endless posts, and when you check them out, they are generally advocating (or selling) a lifestyle based on blogging. Perhaps I shouldn’t generalise so much, and be more specific. Though I recall you writing that generalisation is a good thing…
        Item 9 on this link.
        http://aopinionatedman.com/2014/10/28/these-people-should-not-read-my-blog/
        But I take your point, and there’s a plug for your blog too!
        Regards from England. Pete.

        Like

          1. This is most definitely “banter mode” for me and likewise. I appreciate the responses Pete. πŸ™‚

            One common thing for ALL BLOGGERS is we like responses, regardless of the size of blog. So I do appreciate your blogging ethic.

            Like

  3. We are bloggers like everyone else, we just see it from a “larger perspective.” As one commenter said, just because someone follows us doesn’t mean we read all their posts or really even “any.” It is up to them, just as it is up to us, to generate eye catching materiel. The “follow” count is a very small number to go by, it is the views and interaction that matter. And for some of us we do indeed attempt to respond to everyone. πŸ™‚ -OM

    Like

    1. Thanks OM. It is always nice to get a comment from someone who qualifies as a mega-blogger, and to hear the other side of the story. You are most welcome here anytime.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  4. I don’t get a great deal of traffic through my blog but as its kind of a diary about my progress in learning photography I’m happy that anyone actually reads it.
    I’ve just had a look at the stats and I have had views from forty countries. That’ll be nothing compared to your mega blogs but it is still a little strange to think people in all those places have read my ramblings.

    Like

    1. I think that 40 countries is really good Jimmy. I like to think of those people from different cultures enjoying a bit of what goes on in London, or Norfolk.
      I don’t get the mega-bloggers at all. If it is done as a job, surely all the fun and interest eventually disappears?
      Cheers mate. Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post…and it raises a question: if someone “follows” your blog, and therefore gets a post sent directly to their email, do you get any sort of credit in your view total?

    Like

    1. I think it’s a ‘no’ on that one John. I know of several occasions where e mail followers have read things just on the e mail, often on a phone, and replied by e mail. Because they didn’t actually click on the site, it didn’t show up. At least they read it, which is nice…
      Thanks for the comment, always welcome.
      Regards, Pete.

      Like

  6. 12,000 daily views for a blog with 40,000 followers does seem very low. But you can’t expect every single follower to keep up to date with the blog. I know that my followers don’t read every single post on my blog but my views for the month tend to be double the number of followers I have.

    I have to admit my favourite thing about the stats is seeing where the people that read my blog come from. Its strange knowing there is someone in South Africa reading my blog.

    Like

    1. That’s interesting to know Emma. I have just checked, and my own monthly views are also just over double the number of followers too, though I expect that some are looking more than once.
      Thanks for your comment, it is much appreciated.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

