Back to normal

The good weather didn’t last after all. Much of the country has been hit by snowstorms. Airports are closed, trains are not running because of overdue engineering works, and we in Beetley were hit by a night of torrential rain, followed by hailstones at lunchtime. With one and a half days of the festive season still to run, life is pretty much back to normal.

As you might be aware, Norfolk is the driest county in England. That’s official. So you won’t be surprised to learn that we had a very bad flood in our shed again last night, caused by groundwater with nowhere else to go during the downpours. Wandering in there to get something this morning, I was shocked to discover 2-3 inches of freezing cold water sitting peacefully on the stone floor. It had seeped under the small freezer, but luckily was not high enough to short out the motor. The tumble drier was also safe, but my mood plummeted, as I knew that I had a big job on.

As this has happened before, I had made some precautionary defences, consisting of bundled-up dust sheets. They had been overwhelmed, and were sodden. Everything stored at floor level had to come out. The water cannot be brushed out, as there is a lip at the bottom of the door, to stop water getting in from outside. This stops me being able to brush it out from within. There’s an irony there somewhere that I don’t want to think about too much. Once the many items were removed and stored somewhere dry, (it was still raining…) I set about bailing out what water I could, using a dustpan. When this had achieved all it was going to, I then set to with towels. I used the towels that we normally use to dry the dog, then his blanket from the back of the car. These were nowhere near enough, and we had to resort to using our ‘reserve’ towels, ones that might be good enough for general use normally. We soon had a pile of grubby towels, drenched with freezing cold water. Julie started the long process of washing and drying them all, getting the first load into the machine.

I finished the job with paper towels, on my hands and knees, finally drying off the items that had been removed, before putting them back into the now very clean shed. Not for the first time, I considered that it might be better to demolish this building, and replace it with a boat of some sort. Trouble is, we would have a job getting the electrical items inside. After almost two hours of crawling around, kneeling in freezing water, on cold concrete, it was time to have a bath, and take Ollie for his walk. The meadow was a sea of mud; the small river had burst its banks, and was flowing like an Amazon tributary. The rear path was under water, so we had to head over to Hoe Rough, to make a decent walk of it. We found company with Oban and his owner, but much of the north side of the rough was under water too, so even walking over there was limited to the main paths.

I got back, pretty fed up, cold and damp, and pleased to be in.
I just thank my lucky stars that I live in such a dry county. It must be awful to live somewhere wet.

15 thoughts on “Back to normal

    1. Thanks Arlene. The shed is now dry, as there has been little rain to top up the groundwater. I still have the cough and cold though, which has really dragged on this time. At least there is lovely sunshine today!
      Best wishes from England, Pete.

      Like

      1. Right now, the southern part of the Philippines is flooded. There is another typhoon and it is bringing torrential rains to the area. I hope the people there are safe from the flash flood. BTW, I included a link to your blog in my year-end post.

        Like

    1. It wouldn’t be the same without one of your London weather reports Ro. Mind you don’t spoil your Hawaiian shirt when you are having dinner, or stub your toe wearing those flip-flops!
      Hope that you had a great Christmas mate. X

      Like

  1. It would be cruel for me to mention that Las Vegas has had 1.82″ (4.62 cm) of rainfall so far in 2014, and that the only possible hint of precipitation in the forecast is for December 31st. So I won’t mention it…. I will just say that I sympathize with your situation. I will just say that I advise buying a boatload of sponges in order to save the towels. I will just say that there is money to be made from bottled rainwater. And I will just say that although I smiled repeatedly while reading your post, I feel like a bit drip for doing so.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As angst-ridden as it sounded David, there was a humourous element to the post, as you suspected. I don’t really think that I could sell the leaf-filled water residue that came out, even if I marketed it as ‘Eau de Beetley’.
      I might invest in some sponge sheets though; the laundry costs are astronomical today!
      Best wishes as always, Pete.

      Like

  2. Stilts! Ok, maybe not, but you may need them if the water level gets any higher, maybe use then when walking Ollie as well πŸ™‚
    Maybe a raised floor with drainage set in the old floor, should be doable with bricks and beams with damp proof in between. Maybe even a DIY job if you don’t have too much area to cover.

    Like

    1. Raising the floor was considered Eddy. Unfortunately, it is an extension on the garage, and the flat roof is flush! I think that I will just have to carry on bailing old mate.
      In case I don’t ‘speak’ to you, Happy New Year to you all in Poland. Pete. x

      Like

  3. Hahaha… sorry Pete, but this made me laugh! I am picturing you on your knees mopping up that shed floor with a woeful look on your face πŸ˜€
    Floods in Shrewsbury I believe, so I am surmising that a lot of rain has fallen in mid-Wales over the last month. I wonder where it actually IS dry?

    BTW: Can’t you build an extension to the bungalow to store your electrical goods in? A small lean-to maybe?

    Like

    1. The shed is an extension on the garage, purpose built in brick and wood. If we added on to the bungalow, it would be off the main bedroom unfortunately, due to the configuration. I will just have to keep bailing Jude! x

      Like

All comments welcome

