Significant Songs (69)

I’m Going All The Way

If ever a group transcended the boundaries between Gospel music and Soul, this is the one. Sounds of Blackness was formed in Minnesota in 1969; the large ensemble was also backed by its own dedicated orchestra of the same name. They were essentially a Gospel choir, but they embraced many types of music as well, from Soul to R&B.

After the release of the album ‘Africa to America:The journey of The Drum’ in 1994, they came to my attention by releasing this track as a single. Not normally a lover of Gospel music for its own sake, I immediately recognised a different path here, and took to this sound immediately. There seemed to be a genuine joy in the performance, and I could only sit back and bask in that feeling.

I couldn’t honestly say that it is a purely Gospel recording. It feels like soul music, and has a great orchestra behind it too. I just knew that it made me feel good, and had a joyous message too. It is almost impossible to resist the sheer enthusiasm of the vocals, and I don’t want to. More than 20 years after its release, it is as compelling and uplifting as ever. Here is the original recording.

2 thoughts on “Significant Songs (69)

  1. I’m not really a fan of this type of music. Rather than feeling “good” at the end, I felt a bit worn out. Having said that, I do think it’s a solid piece of music, and I do understand the appeal. I tend to favor low key performances, like Sinéad O’Connor’s cover of “Nothing Compares 2U” or Amie Duffy’s “Warwick Avenue.” I also like catchy melodic songs like Sam Brown’s “Kissing Gate.” I’m listening to “Warwick Avenue” as I write this.

    Like

    1. That’s fine David. I am much the same, though I think that songs like this, with an uplifting theme, do have their place. The mood, and the occasion have to be aligned at the same time though, for it to work.
      Thanks for your comment as always. Pete.

      Like

All comments welcome

