Just back from Greece

I am hesitant to type this, but my problem with Google seems to have resolved itself overnight. After some weeks of being considered by them to be based in Greece, I have miraculously returned to the UK this morning. No more Greek writing on my Google searches, or suggestions based around suppliers in Athens. The legend ‘Google Greece’ has also gone from my homepage, and a quick check on Google Maps has now placed me in the UK. Nowhere near where I live, for some reason, but at least it is presenting me with a familiar map as a starting point.

I cannot claim to have resolved this with some newly-acquired technical skill. In fact, I had given up trying to hurt my brain, by attempting all kinds of solutions offered by the Internet. Google chose not to respond to either my fault-reporting, or my forum contacts. I expect they were much too busy to bother about some old bloke in Norfolk wondering why he had been ‘moved’ to Greece. But when I fired up Chrome this morning, I couldn’t fail to notice that I was back in Britain, where let’s face it, I belong.

In some ways, I liked my time over there. It made me feel a little special, to have been chosen to operate from another country. It also has planted the seed of an idea in my mind, that I am sure Google could to use to their advantage. Perhaps they should move us around in a random fashion, so we are never sure where our maps will begin, or what searches will be thrown up as a result. This would add both novelty and education to our Internet searching experience, and might be more popular than you would imagine.

So, one last thing to say. Αντίο Ελλάδα !

19 thoughts on “Just back from Greece

  1. 😀 I spend my time in different counties and countries and Google always now where I’m and offer my various interesting things. I get used to it.
    As soon as I enter airport terminal it says pling in my handbag and I have a greeting on my iPad: Welcome back, Hanne! Nice to see you. Makes it sort of familiar. 🙂

    Like

  2. Greece is the word, is the word that you heard
    It’s got groove, it’s got meaning
    Greece is the time, is the place, is the motion
    Greece is the way we are feeling

    Oh wait… Just replace Greece with UK.

    Like

  3. Pete, while in Greece did you at least get to dream of all of the good food and wine, while goggle had you placed over there on the map?

    Take care and happy blogging to ya, from Laura ~

    Like

All comments welcome

