A Very Strange Day

Five days ago, I published a post that I called A Very Quiet Day. It was about a day when traffic on my blog was very low, and I had not been posting for a few days. I had been writing a Film article, and it had taken up a lot of time. That is now finished, and has been sent off for approval. The weather that day had been fine, and I was unconcerned about the statistics, as I felt pretty good at the time. It came across a bit like I was complaining, bemoaning the lack of views and visitors, but that wasn’t the intention. I just explained myself badly on that occasion.

When I got back from walking the dog today, I fired off a post about the weather, and how strange it had been. When I had posted it on the blog, I checked the stats for the day, as is my habit. I noticed that I had one of those ‘your stats are booming’ messages, and sure enough, they were. It is now almost Monday, and Sunday the 29th has proved to be the best day for views ever on my blog with over 400, almost twice the best previous number. This created an unnatural looking spike on the graph, dwarfing the previous days entirely.

I was intrigued, so I looked a little deeper. I noticed that visitors to the blog were not that high. The average view for each visitor suggested that everyone had read almost 15 posts, and I know that will never happen. So I conclude that someone has been reading a lot of the posts on my blog. And I mean a lot. They also originate in the UK, which is unusual, as UK readers generally only account for around half of my views. Looking at likes and comments is hardly definitive, but I got a good idea who I think this might be. I won’t name them of course. They might not want to be identified, and anyway, I could be wrong. But you know who you are, so I send my thanks.

Not for boosting the stats no, not that. For taking so much time to read all those posts, things that I wrote mostly for my own amusement, and never expected to attract such an audience. I hope that you were not disappointed. Come back anytime. Pete.

20 thoughts on “A Very Strange Day

  1. Hm, I think that I am not the only one who had much time to read! πŸ˜‰
    And now you have a mysterious Englishman! Fine! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Pete, this does not surprise me in the least, as your blog is always a delight to read..

    Take care and continued happy blogging to ya, from Laura

    Like

  3. You’ll always be a popular writer Pete it’s the way you tell ’em!!!
    I remember those Saturday breakfast shifts. Best wishes Pebbs x

    Like

All comments welcome

