Significant Songs (77)

Another Nail In My Heart

Let’s face it, I was always going to like Squeeze. This cheerful group were from the same area of London as me, and almost the same age too. They arrived at a time of Punk and dire pop, with a retro feel to both their style and music, making them look and feel more like a band from ten years earlier. All their songs were original, and written by members of the band. They sung them in a London accent, using slang on occasion, and they had a sound like nobody else, instantly recognisable. What’s more, they could play their instruments, and play them well too.

Glen Tilbrook was an accomplished guitarist, rarely getting credit for the quality of some of his solos. Jools Holland could play any keyboard, and Gilson Lavis provided crisp drums. With vocals by both Tilbrook and co-writer Chris Difford, they really did have it all going for them, at least in the UK. Success in America was never to happen for them though, and they became a popular British band, somewhat trapped by their very English style. from 1977 until 1982, they had a string of hit albums and singles, and made regular appearances on TV and radio shows.

Late in 1982, they split up, with band members embarking on their own projects until the band reformed in 1985. But it would never be the same. The line-up went through changes, and the new songs failed to capture the imagination of both old fans and new listeners alike. Jools Holland became a successful presenter of music shows on TV, and formed a large touring band, still doing both to this day, with Gilson Lavis as its percussionist. Difford and Tilbrook worked as a duo with limited success, later touring as Squeeze again from 2007, playing all the old hits.

This song will give you a flavour of their unique sound, and it also features a great guitar solo from Tilbrook. As the words are sung quite fast, and with a real London accent, here are the lyrics for your information, as they are often misheard.

The case was pulled from under the bed
She made a call to a sympathetic friend
And made arrangements
The door was closed there was a note
I couldn’t be bothered, maybe I’ll choke
No more engagements

With where have you been’s
And faraway frowns
Trying to be good
By not being ’round

And here in the bar
The piano man’s found
Another nail for my heart
And here in the bar
The piano man’s found
Another nail for my heart

That stupid old bug
That kills only love
I want to be good
Is that not enough

So play me the song
That makes it so tough
Another nail for my heart
Then play me that song
That makes it so tough
Another nail for my heart

I had excuses, those little boy lies
That she computed by watching my eyes
And told me firmly
She couldn’t stand it, I’m bad on her heart
She dropped her makeup and I found the bar
Now it concerns me

I’ve had a bad time
Now love is resigned
I’ve been such a fool
I’ve loved and goodbyed

So here in the bar
The piano man’s found
Another nail for my heart
And here in the bar
The piano man’s found
Another nail for my heart
And here in the bar
The piano man’s found
Another nail for my heart
And here in the bar
The piano man’s found
Another nail for my heart
And here in the bar
The piano man’s found
Another nail for my heart

Songwriters
DIFFORD, CHRISTOPHER HENRY / TILBROOK, GLENN MARTIN

Published by
Lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group

And here is the original video, courtesy of You Tube.

10 thoughts on “Significant Songs (77)

    1. Crowded House are from New Zealand and Australia Cindy. No connection with Squeeze I’m afraid. The songs are very clever, even more so if you are English, and get the slang references.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I loved Squeeze in their time and remember distinctly Cool for Cats, even though I was only around 10 or 11 years old at the time, the influence of two older sisters! I’m reduced to the greatest hits album now, but it still gets quite a bit of air time.

    Like

All comments welcome

