Lacking inspiration (again)

It has been five days since I posted anything. I have four posts in drafts, and need to work on them.
I have managed to keep up with all the blogs that I follow, but I am lacking the verve to write anything fresh, or relevant. There are at least ten Significant Songs waiting to be written up as well, but they won’t spoil for the waiting.

The weather has been good, and we had a visitor this weekend, so got out and about for a change. Life is fine, with no issues, but I am finding it hard to work on blog posts, for some reason. I have ideas for another Literary Inspiration post, and lots of films jumbled in my head. I don’t really know why it’s not happening, but it’s no big deal.

Just letting you know. That’s all really.

28 thoughts on “Lacking inspiration (again)

  1. I’m still here… Whistling in the shadows. Back after almost a year away and it will take me to time to readjust. Everything looks different. Bear with me xx

    Like

    1. Imagine someone spinning in circles in an office chair, delighted beyond words to see the return of a valued friend thought lost.
      Bearing with you, as I have done since your departure. X

      Like

  2. I read each and every word you write and look forward to your next ‘post’ popping up in my email. You even have a direct link to your page on my iphone as an app. Everything you write is another letter, word, sentence and paragraph towards getting to know you better.
    If I had it my way I’d force you to commit my family years of history into blog posts. One for me personally to resonate and daydream about a time that I so dearly never get bored of hearing about.
    In fact, whilst writing this I’ve realised your posts are very much like presents. I cannot wait to unwrap them and see what delights you’ve gifted to us all.
    Terry x

    Like

    1. One day, I will write some family stuff just for you and Rob, but I will send it privately perhaps, rather than as a blog post. Then again, the social history of London families might well be worth recording here, so I’ll think about that.
      Many thanks for your kind words, dear cousin, they mean a great deal. Love as ever, Pete.

      Like

  3. After about three days I start to wonder if everything is ok, at four days I think it’s over a week since you posted and on the fifth day I consider sending you an email but then reason with myself that you may be on holiday or something. More than a week seems like a fortnight and I’m fraught, but then as if by magic you always post.
    I wish I could trot them out as you do Pete, but I never seem to find the time despite having the ideas, so hats off to your 700+ posts and enjoy a break once in a while.
    All the very best from The Winkos.

    Like

    1. Cheers Eddy. I doubt you have the time mate. Lots to do over there, and a small child too. I’m retired, so have all the time I need. It feels strange not to be posting at least every couple of days, if not daily. I am still fiddling around on the computer, and keeping up with everyone. I expect the muse will return soon.
      Take care, love to Gosia and The Winkette. Pete.

      Like

  4. Sometimes, it’s just good to get away from the virtual world and experience the real one.
    Although I haven’t posted a limerick on my blog in some time now, it’s not because I’ve been away from my computer, or because I’ve been uninspired. I’ve just been busy proofreading and annotating a novel for a friend of mine. Today, I plan to step outside and get some fresh air.
    Once you’ve taken your mental vacation away from your blog, your brain will once again be flooded with inspiration. Enjoy your break. Your followers are patient!

    Like

    1. Thanks David. I have been enjoying the weather recently, and we had a friend visiting at the weekend. I expect I will be back ‘on form’ soon, just not sure when. Good news about the novel, no doubt your friend appreciated your efforts.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  5. I feel your pain Pete. Often when there are so many possible things to write about it’s hard to focus on one. I find that a trusty ‘to do’ list and a deadline help. Failing that, a nice cappuccino! Keep up the good work πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Hi Pete, I’m sure your inspiration will return soon, you’ve always been a good story teller!!! I remember the breakfast club!!!….. best wishes Pebbs x

    Like

  7. Pete, I can relate to your lack of excitement to post lately… with the weather warming over here I’m waiting at the starting gate to get outside and play in the garden and lawn.. I’ve cleaned out the garage this afternoon, from all of the salt and sand my car tires bring in every winter, then I gave my daughter and son a haircut. Placed my Christmas tree on the shelf in the garage, since both kids are here .. ( I don’t get on a ladder unless they are here, nowadays…)

    Now it’s time to consider what’s for dinner… I think my blog will be lacking my own attention soon, until I begin posting about all of the garden critters chomping at all of my veg’s…. it’s endless, but it keeps you young.. Enjoy your spring across the pond… Oh by the way how’s the windmill lately?

    Take care and happy Spring to ya, my friend… from Laura ~

    Like

  8. Hope your Writer’s Block eases soon, Pete…. I haven’t written any poetry for yonks, but life has been a bit earnest and real for a year or three….. I’m sure my muse will return one day when the stress reduces!

    Like

  9. I find a change of writing environment helps. If I write too much in the same space, it’s like I dry out all the creativity energy in that space. I can’t produce anything there until the creative energies have time to replenish. So, if I take my computer somewhere new, inspiration suddenly strikes.

    Like

    1. Thanks Layla. That’s very interesting, as I only recently sorted out an ‘office’ in a spare room, and have been writing everything from there. Mind you, I got a nice new chair, and the environment is undisturbed, and comfortable. I am a bit ‘blogged out’ at the moment, almost reaching 700 posts, so I presume a small hiatus is only to be expected.
      Many thanks for your thoughtful and most welcome comment. Pete.

      Like

All comments welcome

