Summer in England

Next Monday is the first of June. ‘Flaming June’, beloved of poets and writers, long light evenings following warm and sunny days. Mellow moods, vibrant flowers, and young animals frollicking in the fields. Crops reaching a good height, trees in full leaf, and the buzz of insects announcing the arrival of the long-awaited season of joy.

But this is England. So of course, it has been raining heavily for the last ten hours. The wind is ‘getting up’ as they say, and it feels a little chilly, not much more that ten degrees. It is dark enough inside the house to want to put on lamps, with barely enough light to read comfortably. The sound of the constant raindrops seems like a form of sonic torture after a while, and the damp can be felt in your joints, and in your mood.

The last day of the school half-term holiday, washed-out. Bored and listless children returning to electronic games, instead of enjoying the fresh air. Umbrellas recovered from the cupboards, wipers squeaking on car windscreens, the sound of water splashing as vehicles pass the window. The soundtrack to an English summer. Damp birds sit on branches, waiting to see if I am going to put out any bread today. Ollie has been fast asleep in the dark kitchen all morning, probably thinking it is still night. He came to look at me about ten minutes ago, as it is getting near the time for his walk. I explained to him that we were going to have to wait for a bit, hoping for the weather to break, at least a reduction in the strength of the rainfall.

He didn’t understand.

25 thoughts on “Summer in England

  1. Please stroke Ollie from me. Yes, an English garden at the end of May/beginning of June should be one of the natural wonders of the world….

    Like

  2. The way you describe it, I’d like to experience that kind of summer (in my dreams). Summer is almost at its end here. It rains now and then so the heat is now tolerable.

    Like

    1. I think that you would find it very cold here Arlene, after all that heat. I don’t like it too hot myself, but it would be nice to have some warmth and no rain now and again. I hope that the rain brings you some relief from the hot weather.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Now that summer has set in (the calendar gets little respect here), the Sun reigns supreme over the Mojave Desert. Today will hit 99 F / 37.2 C, but the mercury will rise higher over the next couple of days. I enjoyed your post very much. I would enjoy your weather right now, too.

    Like

    1. Funny how we always want the weather we haven’t got David. But to be honest, I wouldn’t want 99 degrees F and relentless heat. A nice warm dry day will do very nicely.
      Best wishes from England. Pete.

      Like

  4. If it’s the rain we just had then it gets worse before it gets better, but when it gets better, it’s better than before it started to get worse and the rain is soon forgotten. Lovely post Pete, all the best from the Winkos.

    Like

  5. Hmmmm. For once, you seem to have more rain than we have. It was a bit bleak this morning, but only rained (so as you’d notice) for about an hour. As far as I can remember, that’s the first rain we’ve had this week and it’s been sunny all afternoon. It’s been somewhat cool and windy for late May, though. My beans and tomatoes remain unimpressed.

    Like

  6. Same, same in Bonn, Pete. We are waiting for summer too. 😉 Great reading, actually the weather in England is not that bad at all. Only at times.
    Wishing you a good weekend, after all
    Dina Xx

    Like

  7. This week it has been very weird. Quite a few days rainy in the mornings and then sunny late evening but… You’re right, this is my experience of English summers for the last twenty odd years. Let’s hope…

    Like

  8. G and I are back off to the Lake District on Monday – something tells me I’ll be well and truly used to this dreadful weather before the week is out…! Hoping you’re well, aside from the weather. L

    Like

    1. Fingers crossed you both have a good week Lucy. You might get a lot of water up there, that’s for sure, but unfortunately, those lakes have to come from somewhere! At least you can get your wet-suits on and do some canoeing.
      All fine in Beetley thanks.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  9. Gorgeous post! Beautifully written, funny and moving. Sounds like an awful cliché but you truly brightened up my day. Summer ain’t got nothing on you my friend x

    Like

  10. Haha, lovely post Pete! As I look out my window into a cloudy, rainy sky – I totally understand!

    For the past three weeks, the weekends have been naff and the weekdays (when I’m at work!) have been better. Please change soon! June….I have faith in you!

    x

    Like

    1. Thanks Emma. I remember that feeling of being let down by the weather on days off, after working all week. I don’t have that particular problem any more, fortunately.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

All comments welcome

