A quick question

****Updated for information.****

I managed to get the photos back in this morning, although for some reason, they are smaller this time. But the large files can be viewed, by clicking the image. They had been mistakenly deleted from my ‘Media File’, and if they are not in there, they will not appear on the post. This answers my original question. All and any photos you wish to include in a post must first be uploaded to the media file, and they must be retained, or they will not show on the post when viewed.. This doesn’t seem to apply to external links, but only to those you wish to feature in posts. Most of you probably knew that anyway, so after three years, I am still learning! Thanks again, Pete.

Thanks to everyone who helped with this. It seems that the photos in question have ‘disappeared’ from my WordPress photo section. I may well have mistakenly deleted them, as I didn’t really know what I was doing at the time. I will get them back in, and edit the post soon.

Looking back over my blog, tidying up, and correcting small errors, I came across something strange. On my post about Prague, Holidays and Travel: Prague 2011 (Part 1) I did something unusual for me, by posting some photos to accompany the article.

When I look at it today, the photos have been replaced by code letters, and when I click on them, the link shows ‘file not found’. These are my own photos, and still exist on the PC, so why would this happen? As someone who almost never includes photos in a post, this is something new for me to get to grips with. Do any of you, especially all the photo-bloggers, have any clue as to why this might have happened, and how I can remedy it?

Thanks in advance. Pete.

33 thoughts on “A quick question

  1. Good news, great to see it has been sorted out, Pete!
    Warm and rainy greetings to you and Ollie from Cley β˜”οΈπŸ’¦πŸ’¦
    Dina, Klausbernd, Siri & Selma

    Like

  2. Yes, I read somebody who said they had removed the photos from the media library for some reason and didn’t realise that would leave the posts with a gap. It was lucky I read that post when I did because I was thinking of doing the same. But I’m not technical at all, so it could well be something completely different.

    Like

    1. Thanks Olga, I am sure that is the problem. They obviously want us to leave everything in the ‘Media Library’, so we fill up our allowance eventually…
      I will get around to fixing it soon. Hopefully.
      Very best wishes, Pete.

      Like

    1. Thanks David. I think I have found out why, but haven’t had time to fix it yet. Will take some time later in the week, and see if I can remedy things.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  3. Yes, that happened to me too on my earlier posts at my garden blog. Since I only update the site once in a while, I never get to check the earlier posts. See your media library if the photos are still there then maybe you can just edit the post again.

    Like

  4. No photos in part one, all links to file not found. Maybe a corrupt database, at least that’s what I would say when you called me on tech support! Try and edit the post and link them again, or the helpdesk as others have said. If everything worked as it should just think how many people would be unemployed!

    Like

  5. Hi Pete…you need to have the relevant image(s) in your WordPress media library. If that means nowt to you, ask and I will provide more detail….

    Like

      1. Is it the same photos on part 2? If it’s onl part 1 images missing, then go back and edit that post, re-selecting the relevant images from your library…Hope that helps

        Like

  6. Oh dear, 😒I put the URL in to show how it’s spelled and now the photo appeared! 😳
    Second try, after the https, just put toffeefee.files.wordpress.com/2015/05/weisse_rose
    dot jpg πŸ˜₯
    I’m obviously not the right one to give advice …😷

    Like

  7. I’m not really good at this Pete, but it’s not relevant if you have the photos on your PC; they have to be in your WP mediathek. Recently I missed a header photo and I think it was my fault as I deleted the wrong one. I suppose this is not the case?
    It could be that the URL is missing: I only started blogging back in 2011 and I know I was totally frustrated as suddenly the photos didn’t show up in a post. The system had changed and a fellow blogger helped me out:
    Please go the mediathek and have a look the photos from Prague.
    All photos need to have an URL connected to the photos, this comes first, when you klick the photo:
    A rose in our recent post has the URL:

    If you include a photo in your post today, WP will automatically include a URL for this photo, connected to the post. This was not the case, early 2011. I’m not sure this is really helpful, otherwise ask the WP help desk, they are great! πŸ™‚
    Best regards, Dina

    Like

    1. Thanks very much for your efforts Dina, but they were added to the wordpress file, before inclusion in the post. I am at a loss to see why only these photos have ‘gone’, from the few that I have posted.
      Much appreciated, Pete. x

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I was looking for an image to show someone and it was replaced with a question mark.
    I was going to email wordpress support and thought I would double check a few others and found it was back.
    Sorry I can’t be more help.

    Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

