Limerick #169

A brilliant limerick by David from Nevada. He has captured the essence of my posts generally, and the recent one about Ollie in the rain perfectly. Any fans of limericks will find much to enjoy, over at his blog.

Out with the dogs: Pragmatic Pete meets Cocky Brown. A double limerick…*
 
Pete felt the first raindrop, looked up, and said, “Golly!
I think I had better spring open my brolly.
My dog’s in the river. I’ll call him. Hey, Ollie!
You’ll wear yourself out chasing ducks. It’s pure folly!
You dog paddle well, but in vain.
And so you have nothing to gain.
I really do hate to complain.
But, well, it is starting to rain…”
Just then Hewett Brown came along with his collie.
“No duck can escape my Unsinkable Molly!”

© 2015 David E. Miller

*The characters and events in this limerick are entirely fictitious. Any resemblance to actual persons or animals l̶i̶v̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶i̶n̶ ̶N̶o̶r̶f̶o̶l̶k̶  is purely coincidental.

millerswindmill

Out with the dogs: Pragmatic Pete meets Cocky Brown. A double limerick…*

Pete felt the first raindrop, looked up, and said, “Golly!
I think I had better spring open my brolly.
My dog’s in the river. I’ll call him. Hey, Ollie!
You’ll wear yourself out chasing ducks. It’s pure folly!
You dog paddle well, but in vain.
And so you have nothing to gain.
I really do hate to complain.
But, well, it is starting to rain…”
Just then Hewett Brown came along with his collie.
“No duck can escape my Unsinkable Molly!”

© 2015 David E. Miller

* The characters and events in this limerick are entirely fictitious. Any resemblance to actual persons or animals l̶i̶v̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶i̶n̶ ̶N̶o̶r̶f̶o̶l̶k̶  is purely coincidental. 

View original post

19 thoughts on “Limerick #169

  1. Pete, thank you for re-printing Limerick #169. Truly, it’s an unexpected honor! Your daily walks, which you often recount here on your blog, inspired me to compose the limerick. I look forward to reading more dog walking adventures in Beetley Meadows, Hoe Rough, and all of the other places to be found in Ollie’s Territory.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Cindy. I realized early on that I had to write a double limerick in order to get everything said. The real challenge was finding words that rhymed with Ollie that I could incorporate into the limerick’s text. However, Pete himself was responsible for one of them: brolly. He introduced me to that British term in his blog entry, Ollie and a rainy day.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. GP, most of my limericks attempt to be humorous in one way or another. So if this one made you smile, then it has accomplished one of its goals. Of course, this particular limerick was inspired by Pete’s blog, so the other goal was to repay (in a small way) Pete and Ollie for having entertained me over the years with stories of their daily walks in Norfolk.

      Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

