It’s getting me down

Yesterday, I went to the windmill for my usual Friday shift. I took my camera along, as I was hoping to get some nice photos to show everyone, by posting a few on this blog. The skies were dull though, and the light flat and uninteresting. I left the camera in my bag, and got on with the routine of opening up. The wayward pigeon from the last windmill post was fortunately on the right side of the wire, so all went smoothly.

Fifteen minutes later I felt a few raindrops, so brought the benches back inside as there was no point leaving them out to get wet. As I turned to head back to the cafe, it began to rain heavily, soaking the path in seconds. It was just before 10 am. That rain continued unabated during the morning, and when the time arrived to head off home, it was still raining very heavily. Despite the schools being on holiday, we had not had a single visitor to the windmill. Very few people were going to brave such conditions, understandably.

Back home, it was time to take Ollie out. The rain was still bucketing down, and although it wasn’t very cold, it felt miserable. I trudged around under my umbrella, legs and shoulders soaked by the driving rain, feet cold and wet. I managed almost two hours, to be fair to Ollie and give him a decent walk. When we got home, I flung off my soaked coat and shorts, and needed two large towels to get Ollie even remotely dry. The gutters were unable to cope, and the side entrance to the house was awash with water.

During the evening, the rain just kept getting heavier, until the sound of it hitting the ground and windows became the soundtrack to our Friday evening. We could only open the windows a tiny bit, as water was immediately getting into the rooms. Once it was dark out, we could hear nothing but the rattling and pounding of the drops, as it just kept increasing in intensity.

I stayed up late, unwilling to retire to bed, just to listen to the constant noise.

It is almost 10 am on Saturday as I type this, and it has just stopped raining. Twenty-four hours of continuous downpours. Not mere showers, as there was no break, no water-free intermission, just relentless, torrential rain. The outside areas are soaked. Water, leaves, mud, and debris have been trodden in to a house that was cleaned thoroughly on Thursday. House-mats were unable to cope with the need to keep moving from house to shed, house to car, etc. And the outside mats are like sponges, littered with things blasted down from the trees.

Last Sunday, I wrote about a trip to Essex, in fine weather. It was a summer’s day, as a summer’s day should be. Since then, it has rained every day at some point, whether a light shower, or occasional persistent rain. This culminated in the deluge that arrived over East Anglia (and many other parts of the UK) yesterday. I write a lot about weather on this blog, particularly about rain. I have lived a fairly long life, but I cannot ever recall a time when there was such a merging of the seasons, or when rain was more or less a daily feature. When I see weather presenters on TV talking about how we need the rain, or listen incredulously as they talk about all the dry days we have just had, I want to slap the smug grins from their faces. It is one thing to write about all the rain we have had over the last three years, quite another to see and hear people denying its existence. I am tired of it.

It is beginning to have a real impact on my life, and my state of mind. Living in one season, that of rain followed by heavier rain, is taking its toll on me.

It is really getting me down.

48 thoughts on “It’s getting me down

  1. I agree with your comments about the weather. It’s relentless. I’m going to Spain next week and I’m sure it will be a shock to the system. I think everybody talked too much about it being so hot… Hopefully weather will improve as I miss your pics.

    Like

      1. An occasional downpour would be quite welcome here! We’d even take a sprinkle. Or a raindrop escapee from a passing cloud.
        Pete, I can see how constant rain would drain one’s spirits.
        By the way, that trail in the photo is available to any dog that wishes to walk it. No ducks, but the rare tarantula, scorpion, or slithering creature….

        Like

  2. I sympathise Pete. I’ve just walked a soaking, cold three miles around Trentham Gardens. It’s been poor for a few weeks here. Hope it improves for you…..if it makes you feel any better it isn’t so long since my father in law said goodbye to the snow up in the Highlands!

    Like

    1. I appreciate that much of the country has had a crappy spring, followed by nothing to speak of as a summer. My general theme with these posts is attempting to counter the idea (and stated fact in many cases) that Norfolk is the driest county in England. It has been raining here all day, and as I type this, it’s coming down harder!
      Cheers mate, Pete.

      Like

  3. —in North Norfolk. The fails are thundering over The Rhine Valley at the moment and the rain is heading North to us in Norway. 😦
    Enjoy your sunny Sunday.:-) We’ll patiently wait for the windmill photos, no sweat. πŸ˜‰
    Big hug, take care and please give Ollie a pat from me and the girls Xxx

    Like

      1. You’re right, the sun didn’t last at all, soooo sorry. My mum in Norway complained about the shitty summer, too cold, too wet. Today 12Β°, grey sky. Germany, on the other hand, had the warmest June in history!

        Like

  4. Hi Pete, sorry to hear that it’s been so rotten by you. It’s not been great in Liverpool either, but certainly not as bad as you’ve had it. It made me really sad to hear that no-one had come down to the windmill either. I’m not sure what the forecast is going forward, but to be honest they’re so often wrong that I don’t tend to watch them. I hope you have a much better week πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks Jenny. It is unusual for us to get the rain and not you, further north. We often have no windmill visitors, but hope to see more during the holidays. That’s part of the reason why the weather is so irritating, as it puts people off of coming.
      Take care, and thanks for the comment. Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I won’t tell you that we have had a wonderful week of dry weather building up to 34C today. No instead I will empathise with you and tell you about the storm I can see in the distance that is heading this way and the mad dash I’m about to embark on to get the unwilling animals indoors. It’s due to rain until midday tomorrow and I hope they are right as we have a BBQ in the afternoon and I don’t fancy eating sausages and salad for a week!
    Chin up Pete, you could always move to Benidorm!

    Like

    1. Maybe not Benidorm, but somewhere close to Barcelona might be nice…
      I hope that your rain isn’t as bad as it was here. Some were places flooded out, road and transport disruption, and more on the way tomorrow.
      On another subject, you might like this. Strawberries and the Holocaust, combined in a Polish village. http://www.tabletmag.com/jewish-arts-and-culture/books/107970/polish-village-secret
      Cheers Eddy, love to all three. Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Quite a storm over night, but no damage and a cool windy morning to wake up to; a nice change.
        Interesting article, I’m sure there are many secrets hidden around here, but I was reminded about stories I heard in Jersey and the collaboration of some with the Germans. Adolf is a name you often come across in Jersey! Equally my old boss, who sadly passed away many years ago, told stories of hiding a Polish POW who had escaped form forced labour on the Islands.
        Hope the sun shines for you today Pete, all the bets, The Winkos πŸ™‚

        Like

  6. We are having rain issues here in the US as well. I know parts of the country have extreme dryness, but where I live it’s rained nearly every day. Unlike Ollie, I will NOT go out in the rain for any length of time. Brrrr! We’ve had 3 days of summery weather and now rain is expected for the next 5. The skies are cloudy as I write this. It’s depressing. At least you have Ollie. Woof!

    Like

    1. Thanks Maggie. Sorry to hear that you won’t go out in the rain. As Ollie is always in the river, it doesn’t really matter if he gets wet from above too. I hope that your dog-walking weather improves soon.
      A woof from Ollie.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pete, oh boy can I relate to this post…The past three years our Spring was nothing but rain, then we slid into Fall and Winter. It can and does wear on the mind and feelings of well being. Hang in there as tomorrow is another day for the weather to improve for you, (I hope) πŸ™‚

    Take care and happy πŸ™‚ blogging to ya, from Laura ~

    Like

      1. Pete, that’s wonderful news, so get out there fast before the weather changes… hurry & don’t delay… wink…

        πŸ™‚ Laura

        Like

    1. Pembrokeshire is a lovely place indeed Judith, and I have spent a couple of happy holidays there. Trouble is, all this rain makes me reluctant to go out to appreciate anything. I will stop moaning soon I hope. (Possibly…)
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  8. Sorry, mate. You two should take a trip to sunny Arizona.I have lived most of my life in the northern hemisphere (Scotland, Vermont, Maine, Illinois, Wisconsin) and I never understood why I had a propensity for gloom and doom days bordering on depression. I can’t stress enough how AWESOME the sun most all days of the year has affected my countenance in general. If you can’t make it AZ, at least treat yourself to a trip to Barcelona or Greece.
    That’s my friendly advice, assuming you have buckets of disposable cash. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  9. I know I shouldn’t laugh, as I see how fed up you are, but it is somewhat ironic that you live in the DRIEST county in the country! As for me, well we were told that it would always rain here, being as we are in the west and on the Welsh border (and everyone knows it ALWAYS rains in Wales), but it actually hasn’t been that bad. The rain often comes in overnight and then moves eastwards.

    I do agree with you though. We haven’t had the downpours you describe, or the storms, but it has been grey and cloudy all week (since the schools broke up, what a surprise) and a constant damp drizzle yesterday. I am itching to get out there with my new camera so I pray to the sun gods that we have some dry and warm (the temperature seems very low for summer) and sunny days SOON!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is just as well that we live in England’s driest county! (LIARS!)
      I can’t think what I would be like if I lived somewhere it rained a lot…x
      Hope you get out with that camera soon Jude.x

      Like

All comments welcome

