Checking my calendar

Heavy rain again all day, non-stop. It’s still raining tonight, and guess what the forecast is? You got it. It’s not just Norfolk, as most of the country is getting a real pasting from the unseasonal weather. Sports events cancelled, holidays washed out, and homes flooded. Businesses that rely on summer trade will go bust, homeowners in some places are out shopping for new furniture, and even the Americas Cup off the coast near Portsmouth had to be cancelled, due to strong winds.
(I thought sailing boats needed strong winds, but apparently they would have capsized. What do I know about sailing anyway? Nothing, is the answer to that.)

Out with Ollie as usual this afternoon, I had to abandon the shorts, due to a cold breeze, and go back to joggers for warmth. The heavier waterproof coat had to come out of storage, and I had to wear the wellington boots again, as some of the area around the Meadows is under water. After twenty minutes trudging around under my trusty umbrella, my face was actually cold from the wind. But my feet were too hot, as I was wearing boots designed for sub-zero temperatures. If this keeps up, I will have to buy some lightweight unlined wellingtons, just for such occasions. Just over an hour into the walk, it felt more like March than July, and I resolved to check my calendar when I got home, in case I had lost my mind, and a few months too. After two hours, I had endured enough, and headed home. Once I had shed all the wet clothes, I did check my calendar, a paper one that lives on my desk, featuring characters from Thomas The Tank Engine. Sure enough, it was July still. High summer in the UK.

On the plus side, I did manage to get something out of being housebound for most of the last three days. I conceived and wrote a new film article, which I have sent to James at Curnblog, to see if he wants to publish it. Hours of research into seven films, and a good time spent checking the proof, correcting and re-writing. Time well-spent, and no guilt that I should be doing something outside. If he decides it is good enough, I will let you know.

32 thoughts on “Checking my calendar

  1. Pete, I’ll grab up some of that rain across the pond if I could. It’s been 36-38c here with very little rain to speak of.. But, just enough to fill the rain barrels to use during the dry spells. Take care and happy blogging to ya, from Laura ~

    Like

  2. Your musings on the rain amuse me, Pete, so I decided to do a little research. My findings?

    On average, you and I get about the same amount of rain during the summer, though you get a little more in June. Here on the Somerset Levels, we get rather more in winter amounting to about 2″ more a year in total (~28″ vs ~26″).

    Sea Level does make a difference to the amount of rainfall around the country. My house is less than 20m above sea level and we get considerably less rain than either the Mendips or the Quantocks. So we’d only have to relocate 5-10 miles up the road to get noticeably more rain!

    Meanwhile, central London gets some 4″ less rain each year than does Beetley. And the difference would be particularly noticeable in July, when Beetley gets more than does London by about half as much again. London is also warmer.

    Over the past 12 months, we’ve both had pretty average rainfall. (Following two consecutive years of extremely wet weather all over the country). However, In the 6 months prior to this weekend, you’d had about 76% of your normal rainfall (so just a little less than you’d expect in London), where we’d had 82%. In the past 3 months, that had fallen to 67% in your area and 76% in mine.

    All of which probably explains why you look upon the current weather as unseasonably wet, whilst I look upon it as relatively normal 😉 It has turned cool in the past few days, though. I’ll certainly give you that! And it’s also been more than usually windy this year, which is also something I’d noticed: http://blog.metoffice.gov.uk/2015/07/24/has-2015-really-been-that-windy/

    Like

    1. Ros, what can I say? Your meticulous research puts me to shame. However, it also brings doubt on the frequent claim that Norfolk is the driest county in England, so perhaps I am not going mad after all! Thanks for your much-appreciated efforts, and comment.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mad? I think not. London appears to be the driest city, followed closely by Ipswich, then Cambridge. Norwich not so much, though some parts of Norfolk are supposedly quite dry. Apparently, Clacton has the dubious privilege of being drier than Jerusalem some years, so if you want to live in a desert, you know what to do 😉

        Like

  3. 40 degrees C in Athens and scorching heat! Hasn’t rained for the last 3 weeks and it feels like a real Mediterranean summer. We are eating loads of watermelon and dreaming of going for a swim. As long as this heat only lasts for about a week, I can take it. More than that, and I start missing some milder weather, with a little bit of rain and lower temperatures. We will see how it goes!

    Like

  4. Good luck with your Curnblog article. You’ve been a valued contributor there in the past, and I’m pretty sure your new article will be accepted for publication. I look forward to reading it.

    Like

  5. A similar story up here in Manchester Pete, cloudy skies and drizzle all day.
    Still a Sunday afternoon snooze, uninterrupted by the sound of lawn mowers was a bonus.
    Fingers crossed for clear skies tomorrow!

    Like

All comments welcome

