A mostly monochrome walk

I headed out once again in bright sunlight today, to take Ollie for his walk. It seems that taking my camera anywhere affects the weather, and not in a good way. After snatching a shot of the unprepossessing Beetley Village sign, a freshening wind brought in some low cloud, and it was as if someone had switched off the blue in the sky. Undaunted, I changed the setting on the camera to ‘monochrome’, and thought that I would see if black and white shots looked any better in the grey light.

One of the benefits of these modern digital cameras, is the ability to change ratios, as well as the ‘film type.’ Not so long ago, this would have necessitated a spare camera, loaded with black and white film, as well as an extra roll-film camera, shooting in a square format. It would have been a considerable load to carry, not to mention the expense. As it is, I can try to replicate all of this with just a tiny digital compact, and the benefit of microchip technology. It may be far from perfect, but it is a hell of a lot easier, it has to be said. Once again, I was not overjoyed by the results, and still prefer to shoot in better light, when (and if) it is available. But here are some of them. You can click on them for the larger file, which can be further enlarged, for detail.

As you can see, Beetley does exist.

DSCF0083

Those tall trees are home to hundreds of crows.

DSCF0077

The biggest hose-reel I have ever seen.

DSCF0078

Two rusty old water tanks, used by the pig farm.

DSCF0082

Despite the dull conditions, rabbits were around in good numbers, and Ollie had an exciting time. We were out for three hours this afternoon, and he is now sleeping off his dinner.

27 thoughts on “A mostly monochrome walk

  1. Pete, I just love the black and white pictures…they almost tell a story. I remember that’s all I use to take with my old camera that contained black and white film. I suppose I was going through a phase with the subjects at hand. Bravo, loved seeing the sign.. Take care and happy blogging to ya, from Laura

    Like

    1. Thanks, Arne. I am glad that you are enjoying the photos here, but the ones on your own blog are usually equally as good. My new camera is helping me get back the interest I once had in photography, but I still have to learn how to use it properly.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  2. Pete, there are times when black and white photography is better suited to the subject being imaged. I happen to like black and white photography a lot. To take this one step further, I sometimes prefer black and white films to color films. The gray scale, when fully exploited, can be breathtaking.

    Like

    1. I agree, David. When I used to use film, I tried many different emulsions and speeds of B+W and used to enjoy experimenting. I always preferred it for city and industrial areas.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

    1. As I am sure you know, Ros, B+W is not the answer to poor light at all. It is just with such a lack of colour around, as in yesterday’s conditions, I tried to see if B+W would be more forgiving. As it turned out, I wasn’t very happy with them, and mentioned that somewhere. Just an experiment.
      I was hoping that the farm machinery would look OK, but as Sue mentioned, the rusty parts would have been more effective in colour.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

      1. I take your point. I was just thinking that the B&W removes that dull, washed out look that colour photographs can take on in poorer light. Your results may not be stunning, but they are definitely ‘good enough’ and I’d say that’s a considerable improvement on ‘not worth keeping’.

        Like

  3. Whenever I have my camera, nothing happens and I don’t see anything worth snapping. So in the interest of eliminating boredom – I leave the camera at home and spend my days wishing I’d had a camera to take a picture (making any sense?) I not a very good photographer anyway – so not much of a loss.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with Cindy. Better to carry the camera in the hope of seeing something, than not to have it when you do see something worth taking. These shots are just a way of showing readers the area where we live. They are not great photos, and quite easy to take. I am certain that you could do the same.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

All comments welcome

