Blogging observations (Again)

A couple of times a year, I cast my eye over my blog, look at some of the stats, and have a think about what I am doing. Which posts do people like most? Are they the same as the ones I enjoy writing? These and other questions pop into my head, at times when I think about the blog as an online entity, rather than just a personal record of my day to day life, memories of my past, or thoughts on films and songs.

As I have said before, I don’t write the blog to get followers, or to receive high viewing figures. But as bloggers, we would all be fooling ourselves it we didn’t admit that it is nice to have people willing to follow you; to read your stuff, and even better, comment on it. Over the past couple of months, my daily views have risen steadily. Some days, I get more views than I did in a week, just a year ago. That is welcome, undoubtedly. But there is something very interesting (at least to me) behind the increase in these figures. Visitors to the site remain at an almost constant number. For well over a year, I have had almost exactly the same number of daily visitors. Yet views have increased by close to 70%, which suggests that the same number of people are reading more posts, or more likely, that a few of them are reading a lot.

Anything I write involving Ollie is always popular. Niche interests, like film reviews and music, always attract the same people, judging by the comments. The recent foray into posting photos proved incredibly popular, with the highest views on the days that those posts appeared. Despite losing a few of my longest-serving fellow bloggers, for reasons that they have told me about outside of the public forum, the new crop of visitors and followers appear to be resiliently loyal, whatever my output. In that respect, I consider myself blessed, by the online companionship of these valued individuals alongside those who have stuck with me since the beginning, and have always been cherished.

My advice remains the same as it has always been. If you follow someone’s blog, read it. Comment on it, even re-blog it, if you think it good enough. Don’t just click ‘like’, and move down the reader to the next one. If that’s happening more than it used to, then you have to face the fact that you might just be following too many other blogs. And keep blogging. You know it makes sense!

As always, my thanks to everyone who has viewed, commented on, or followed this blog. It is always appreciated, and never taken for granted. Pete.

38 thoughts on “Blogging observations (Again)

        1. It’s a fine line. What some see as witty, others perceive as sarcasm, and take offence. I find it is generally best to only try to be witty about yourself, or outside events. That way, you don’t run the risk of upsetting anyone.

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Reblogged this on Is it really that easy? and commented:
    My dear friends here on WordPress, please take a moment in time to check out this lovely post… I’m positive you’ll be glad you did.. Take care and Happy blogging to ya, from Laura

    Like

  2. Pete, I couldn’t have said it better! Bravo my friend from across the pond. As a matter of fact I’m going to re-blog this post as it speaks volumes in such a loving and gentle way. None of us would be blogging if there was no one around to read our thoughts, and when we receive comments that’s a grand validation that our words have truly touched someone out there on the waves of the internet. Great Post my friend… take care from Laura ~

    Like

  3. I loyally follow and comment on the bloggers who reciprocate with me. I wouldn’t miss them. I do follow quite a few bloggers just because I like some of their posts/topics. If after many months they never comment on my posts, I stop following them. I enjoy all your posts, Pete. You have a great knowledge of films which I appreciate.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Arlene. I know that you like these occasional ‘blogging’ posts, and I always look forward to reading about your live on the other side of the world.
      Best wishes as always, Pete.

      Like

    1. With the name of your blog, I would imagine that you enjoy the bird mentions of course!
      I have come to realise how much people like photos, so will try to post more. But they were never the core of this blog, and I doubt that they will become so.
      I hope to have more bird sightings again soon. It should soon be time to see the owls at dusk.
      Best wishes, from just up the road (A47), Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. He DOES look like Val Kilmer, or at least how VK used to look πŸ˜‰
    I have just reached a thousand followers on my travel blog, but I only ever receive comments from a very, very small portion. In fact recent follows have me a little concerned reading their blog names, but there is no way we can remove followers we are not comfortable with, That is one aspect that I wish I had control over.

    Like

    1. That is a strange aspect of wordpress indeed, Jude. You can block comments, send others into spam, yet you cannot reject or block a follower. Perhaps they should change that? Other than the ladder salesmen, and the occasional religious obsessive, I have been lucky with my followers (Like you!) so far…x

      Like

      1. I have not noticed any ladder salesmen (???) but yes to the religious obsessives. They are the ones who worry me. I might start a new blog in the NY. Those who enjoy interacting with me will most likely follow and the rest will quietly disappear…

        Like

All comments welcome

