A big sleep, and a long walk

I went to bed before midnight yesterday. For a weekend, that is a little early, but there are times when I feel as if I have been sitting around for too long, and need to lie down. I had a good undisturbed sleep, until I was woken up by the yapping of some dogs along the road. When I stumbled out of the bedroom, I was surprised to discover that it was almost 11.30, and I had been asleep for nearly twelve hours. Julie said that she was leaving me for five more minutes, before coming in to make sure that I was still alive!

With the morning slept away, I resolved to make something of the afternoon, and decided to drive Ollie over to Neatherd Moor, which is three miles away, on the edge of Dereham. He likes it over there, as he sees many new dogs, and there is a large area to explore. Almost as soon as we left the car and entered the first field, we saw a girl with a Shar-Pei, something of a rarity. This dog was six years old, and slightly larger than Ollie. The young girl was walking her with another small dog, a snappy terrier. I would have liked to have taken a photo of Ollie with his new ‘girlfriend’, but snapping shots of girls who are not yet teenagers is best avoided, I feel. I didn’t like to ask her to let her dog off its lead either, so here is a photo of the moor instead.
(All the following photos can be clicked on, to view larger files in detail.)

DSCF0153

The area is intersected with wide and narrow paths, including some public footpaths. This is one of the main entrances to the moor, shaded by a plantation of trees. Unfortunately, the local Council has been very generous with planning permission lately, and new estates are being built right up against Neatherd Moor. I fear that it will soon be hemmed in by these projects, and much of the open feel will be lost.

DSCF0154

On the west side of the moor, I got this view of the Dereham Water Towers in the distance, behind the farm. There is the original Victorian red brick tower, and the space-age modern replacement. These are two of the highest buildings in the town, and the modern one is something of a landmark. The old tower is actually for sale, with plans to turn it into housing. Here’s a link.
http://images.eigroup.co.uk/propertyauctions/378/15233/190b4083-e97c-468e-9977-09e9574a7691.pdf

DSCF0156

Despite warm weather, the light was hazy, almost misty, so not ideal for photos. However, with the weather set to turn wet and windy next week, I decided to take them anyway. After walking for well over two hours, and covering some six miles, we returned to the car via the duck pond, which has recently been enlarged. Ollie had a drink there, but would not linger for a photo.

DSCF0157

It was a pretty good walk for both of us, and made up for my extended sleep.

17 thoughts on “A big sleep, and a long walk

  1. Hi πŸ™‚

    I realise it’s a few days since you posted this. I’ve been out of action again. However, I wanted to say that I really enjoy seeing your pictures of your surroundings and of Ollie. I don’t always comment or remember to click the like button, but it doesn’t mean I’m not following your progress. Mostly, it just means I’m in ‘read only’ energy mode. I really missed your posts when you were away.

    Anyway, back to the pictures… It was a really hot day when I visited Beetley in the summer. Probably, the hottest day we had. So I didn’t see much of it except my friends’ front room. It’s good to see what I missed πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks for your kind words, Ros. I am happy that you enjoy the posts, clicking like, or commenting, is not a requirement. If you ever visit Beetley again, you must come and meet Ollie!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

    1. Indeed they are, Arlene. What you can see in the photos is only about 20% of the area that you can walk around. It is a large area, extending to the edge of local villages.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

All comments welcome

