The wrong door

I was recently notified that I had a new follower on WordPress. As is my habit, I checked out the site. He seems to be a pleasant young man, and is studying in his last year at university. His site seemed to mainly consist of photos of attractive women, some well-known apparently, (though not to me) in various states of undress. From the comments, I deduced that many of the photos were possibly ‘Internet fakes’, shots of popular women, with the naked attributes of someone else manipulated onto the original. In amongst all this, I found other posts scattered, on very different subjects.

I replied to one of his posts, thanking him for following my blog, and indicating surprise that he had done so, as his style of blogging, and featured content, was so remarkably different to my own. I wished him well, and left it at that. However, he replied soon after, informing me that the reason he featured so many naked ladies, was to attract traffic to his blog, so that the more serious content might find an audience. He added that he had achieved over 250,000 views in less than two years, and was currently experiencing a daily view rate of 500+, so would soon reach the magic figure of 1,000,000. He asked me how many views I had received on my own blog, after more than three years. I replied again. If he had that many daily views, surely he could make a good income from advertising, if he left the WordPress platform, and converted it to his own site? I also told him how many views I have accumulated, less than 40,000.

He soon commented on this, telling me that he did not have enough money to start his own website, but as soon as he graduated, he would do just that, and start to earn a very good income from the increasing number of visitors admiring the naked ladies on his blog. I will refrain from naming him, or posting a link to his blog, but I do wish him well with his future. It would appear that he has a good future to look forward to.

This got me thinking about the world of blogging once again.

We all blog for different reasons of course. These have been discussed previously, here and elsewhere, so do not need further elaboration. But I was struck by the success, in terms of visitors, of the young man I mention. Almost a third of a million people, all wanting to see photographs of naked, and near-naked women. This on a web already overwhelmed by images of nudity, and sexual content. I am not a prude, and do not judge anyone who wishes to look at legal images. Censorship is a slippery slope, and is a scalpel to be wielded with some precision. But I could not help feeling apart from this. In a community of bloggers trying their best to be heard, expressing their innermost thoughts and desires, or artistic aspirations, the success of an intelligent young man is measured on how many people want to look at naked women. We can choose not to look of course.

I was reminded of an incident from some years back. I entered a restaurant toilet, and had a feeling something wasn’t quite right. It looked familiar, but somehow different. It slowly dawned on me that I had gone into the Ladies by mistake, and I hurriedly left. It was an easy mistake to make.

I had opened the wrong door.

23 thoughts on “The wrong door

    1. Indeed they are, David. I just think it is a little sad that they attract so much attention to a blog. There are so many other opportunities to look at them, if you wish to do so.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  1. Does one has to go to those extra lengths to attract viewers on his blog? The number does not matter but the message does. I have one or two followers who diligently click “like” on my posts although their blogs are so very different from what I write about.

    Like

    1. I suppose some people want to get high stats to earn money, Arlene. I think it is a shame that they do that by posting those sort of pictures, instead of relying on their writing talents.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

      1. If he was serious about the writing then he’d go about it in a different way. I suspect he’s more serious about the numbers. Not something we are concerned about.

        Like

  2. What was the old saying? “Sex sells!”. Indeed. It is the reason that the Kardashians, who cannot sing, cannot act, cannot dance, cannot write – as so popular. A career based on a sex video and various stages of undress.

    Regards.

    Like

  3. Well thought out and presented post, Pete. Like you, I would prefer not to attract posts whose main focus is nudity or profanity, but à chacun son goût…..

    Like

    1. As I have remarked before. I just think that it is so crushingly predictable that this sort of thing should attract so much interest. All well and good if they enjoy it, but there is so little effort and creativity involved.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post, Pete, you raise a lot of issues and say important things. I like the setting on WP which sets your preferred rating–I like PG13. So, people that visit me are like-minded and vice versa. I don’t think of myself a prude, either, but I am old-fashioned enough to value decorum and my goal on the blogoshere is not to see how many hits I get or followers. Honestly, the follower button is similar to facebook and means little to me. The longer you have a blog, the eventual number for followers increases. I have 750 followers. Do 750 people comment or even like my posts? Of course not. I have a core 40 people who vary from participation based upon whether I’ve posted about movies, photography, or writing. That’s perfectly fine with me. I have enjoyed the intellectual climate and friendly support by my followers. I think it’s a healthy outlet. However, like you have mentioned, I wouldn’t want to attract or visit posts that are very shocking or whose main focus is nudity and profanity. A little goes a long way.

    Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

