That other blog

If beetleypete could be called my full-time job in retirement, then my other blog is just a hobby, I suppose. I added my 50th post over there today, and it made me reflect on how small it is, and how the blogging process differs between the two. This week, it has enjoyed a total of only five views. It regularly lies quietly unread for weeks at a time, and has only ever accrued the rather feeble number of 140 comments, after less than 1300 views.

I have no issues with that at all, as it it rather outspoken at times, and offers opinions that are a little unpopular in the mainstream. Despite the fact that much of the content is deliberately intended to be both ironic, and not too serious, I do allow some controversy to get in, and shamelessly expound some political ideas and theories that are, to say the least, outdated. Many other blogs cover the same subjects, and most do it better than mine.

Despite all this, I still enjoy writing it, and regard it highly. But then I would, wouldn’t I?

It is a blog that allows me to be unconcerned about being interesting to readers, or keeping a personal record of my life. It is just opinionated, allowing me to express thoughts and ideas that would be unwelcome in the everyday world of the general blogging that I enjoy so much here. It is not a guilty secret, as it is not a secret, and I don’t feel guilty about it. It is more akin to having an unpopular pet, like a poisonous snake, or a scorpion. Others rarely see the point of such things, but the owners love them just the same.

So, at the risk of upsetting some good blogging friends, and perhaps alienating others for good, I invite you to have a look at it, and see what you think. If it is not something that would interest you, then feel free not to bother. But if you fancy a trip to my different side…

https://redflagflying.wordpress.com/

17 thoughts on “That other blog

  1. Playing incognito? I am excited to swing by your other blog. I was able to update my other blogs too this week. Posted a funny post at Gardens and Empty Spaces yesterday re: my birthday celeb

    Like

  2. Well I never! Seriously Pete, that was quite unexpected, a bit of a dark horse so to speak. I have followed your other blog and am looking forward to reading through your previous posts and perhaps engaging in a few heated discussions from time to time 🙂
    Its great to have an outlet where you can discuss issues without having to concern yourself about alienating or offending others 🙂

    Like

All comments welcome

