Doughnuts

Is there such a thing as a ‘bad’ doughnut? I think not.

My one enduring weakness is this wonderful confection. Whether classic jam-filled, glazed ring, custard-filled, or bear-claw, I could eat some every day. It is a tribute to my self-control that I rarely buy them, and that I am happy to settle for them as an occasional treat.

Yum-Yums, Krispy Kreme, supermarket own brand, or bakers’ delight, I have sampled them all. End of the pier at the beach, five for a pound, chocolate covered, or filled, they are all simply delicious. Nothing compares to the squirt of filling that escapes, as you bite into the ‘wrong’ end. Any flavour will do. Vanilla cream for choice, strawberry, raspberry, or chocolate, white or dark, I just don’t care. Sugar topped, covered in sprinkles, crispy with glazed sugar. I’m your man, whatever the option.

People are fond of talking about ‘guilty secrets’ these days. If I had one, and it isn’t a secret, it would be the divine doughnut. I can honestly say that I have enjoyed every one that I have ever eaten.

So there!

16 thoughts on “Doughnuts

  1. Back when I was a college student, I opted out of the Thanksgiving meal provided by the residence hall because a number of students were smoking marijuana around the table, and I couldn’t stand the smell of it. So I decided to eat out. Unfortunately, all of the restaurants (including fast food places) were closed. The only eatery open was a doughnut shop, and, not surprisingly, the doughnuts were cold and stale. I’ll never forget eating those doughnuts. They were my Thanksgiving feast that year.

    In general, I do like doughnuts, assuming they’re warm and fresh. Krispy Kreme and Dunkin’ Donuts have shops in Las Vegas, and every major supermarket in town has a bakery under its roof that puts doughnuts out on the floor. I’ve bought a few doughnuts over the years, but, to be honest, Pete, I’d much rather have a “pain au chocolat” (or any of a number of other French pastries) than a doughnut.

    Like

    1. Ahh, Dunkin Donuts. Thanks for that memory, Cathy. When I worked for the Ambulance Service in London, the Police used to collect all the unsold doughnuts (correct spelling) from our local branch, at closing time. There were so many, they would drop them off at our base, and we would share them with the hospital staff, around 5 am. Hundreds to choose from, halcyon days of sweet munching!
      Best wishes, and Happy New Year. Pete. x

      Like

All comments welcome

