A bright afternoon in Beetley

After last night’s gales, and driving, torrential rain, I awoke this morning to clear bright skies, and a cool, crisp temperature. Once it was time for Ollie’s walk, I had decided to take the camera along, and see if I could make some use of the good weather for photos. As luck would have it, by the time I got to the area I wanted to photograph, the clouds were covering the sun, and the light was fading fast. Undaunted, I took the shots anyway.

The camera was set to a 1:1 square format ratio. This replicates old-fashioned photography, and the limits it imposes on composition can be problematic, but personally, I always find the results appealing. They are all large files, and can be clicked on for more detail. Despite the poor light, I am pleased to report that all the pictures are clear and sharp, and benefit from enlarging.

Outside the local school is the Beetley Village Sign, in front of the more recent Millennium Clock. Signs like these can be found all over the county, and in the absence of a village green, or a central point of congregation, ours was erected outside the school. You can see a representation of a woodsman, using a wooden mallet. Beetley derives it’s name from the Anglo-Saxon word ‘Betel’, meaning a wooden hammer, and the many trees in the area made it a regional centre for the production of these tools. This sign was erected for a village centenary, in 1994, although Beetley is much older than that.

DSCF0193

Walking along the main road, I came to The New Inn. This was formerly the only pub in Beetley, and closed some years back. It was later reopened as a Thai restaurant, although a traditional bar is still provided at the front for drinkers, and it is well-used by local people.

DSCF0197

Walking over to the recreation ground, I could see a local football match was in progress. The Beetley Bees are our village team (in yellow and black of course) and they were hosting a home game. I have no idea who their opponents were. The blond goalkeeper tried to stroke Ollie, but something about him frightened the dog, and he ran away from the young man. It might have been the bright green outfit.
I tried my hand at a sports shot, but didn’t get the ball in the frame.

DSCF0199

At the edge of the football pitches, is the Village Hall. This is widely used for all sorts of activities, and by many local clubs too. It was recently refurbished, and looking at its best, despite the failing light.

DSCF0201

As it was almost time to go home, I walked the few minutes back to Beetley Meadows, to give Ollie some familiar places to check out. By the bridge, I spotted these snowdrops on the riverbank. The river beyond is muddy and murky, not as clear as it usually is, and much higher, from the recent rains.

DSCF0203

There you have some more images of the village, on a day that seemed more like late Autumn, than the depths of winter. I hope you enjoyed them.

36 thoughts on “A bright afternoon in Beetley

    1. He was contriving to always be just out of shot, GP. I think he was scared of the footballers. They were very noisy, and shouting a lot. By the time I got to the snowdrops, he was running off to sniff around his favourite bushes.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m amazed to see daffodils at the front of the school! I wonder how long they’ll last in the weather. I love seeing these photographs of places which are so familiar to me. I *think* I very vaguely remember the ‘unveiling’ of the Millennium clock at the beginning of the school year in 2000, though I was only in Reception class then!
    L

    Like

    1. Ah, Reception class in 2000. What it is to be young.
      All the spring flowers are out around here, Lucy. The dog is moulting, and some birds are building nests. They have all been thrown out by the mild wet weather, I reckon.
      Glad to take you back to Beetley, and your old school. xx

      Like

      1. It feels a very long time ago – I can’t say I remember all that much, though many of my closest friends are those I met in that same school!
        That makes sense. I’m very much looking forward to seeing it all again when I visit home for a weekend in a couple of weeks. It’s been relatively mild up here, too, until the last few days which have been bitingly cold and windy – according to my housemates at least; I’ve been stuck in bed ill since Tuesday!
        Lx

        Like

    1. The current population figure for Beetley is over 1,300, David, so large for a village, I believe.
      I was very pleased that you enjoyed the photos. Village signs have always interested me, and I may do a series on them, in better weather.
      Regards from Norfolk. Pete.

      Like

      1. Nice to be back, Pete, and to see your posts again πŸ™‚ Yes, I was away from blogging for a couple of years because I had other priorities and quite frankly life got in the way. However, the other day I felt inspired to post again (and finally made the time to do so). Thanks for reading my blog again and I look forward to more of your posts.

        Like

  2. How lovely to see more of your little village Pete, or is it a hamlet? You don’t appear to have a village centre despite having a school and village hall. I bet you were pleased to be dry!

    Like

    1. The call it a village, Jude, although we have no central point of reference. Old Beetley is more of a hamlet, though I believe that they combine the two, when deciding on population, and other village matters. It was nice to have no rain for a change, and despite cold cheeks, I enjoyed the walk in the afternoon sun.
      The nearby village of Gressenhall has a traditional village green and duck pond, surrounded by old cottages. I will go and take some shots of that one day. It is where our local post office and village shop is to be found.
      Best wishes, Pete., x

      Like

          1. It does look lovely there. It’s the same here. Without transport people have to have cars to get to work (no work in the villages) school (no schools) and shops (no shops). Village life is dying. We will soon be a country where everyone has to live in a city and the rest of the country will be turned in to a theme park.

            Like

All comments welcome

