A sunny walk with the camera

Despite the cold, and recent snow, I awoke to a sunny day, that if anything, was too bright. I made up my mind to venture out with Ollie earlier than usual, to get the best of the day, before any cloud settled in during the late afternoon. This meant that his usual doggy pals would not be around, so I quickly headed over to Hoe Rough, to give him a bigger walk, with my camera taken along too. As usual, all the photos are large files. They can be clicked on, for full screen, and further enlarged for detail. The bright weather allowed for some good photos today, and the details are very well-rendered.

The constant rains have waterlogged the ground. This standing water was frozen on the surface.

DSCF0205

A few paces further on, and the rest of that water was joining up, forming what looked like a small canal. It made the normally dry area look more like marshland, or a swamp.

DSCF0204

I wandered across to this fallen tree. It has been down for some time now, and nature is beginning to reclaim both the crater left behind, and what is left of the root-ball.

DSCF0206

Near the limit of the reserve is this small depression, which we know as ‘The Dell.’ This is where I usually ask Ollie to search for bears, and have a well-earned rest on one of the lower branches.

DSCF0207

I tried to get Ollie in all the photos. He was drinking from the water in the first ones, but managed to avoid being photographed. Near the fallen tree he scampered off, and refused to return for any posing. Once at The Dell, he left as soon as the camera appeared. I suspect that he has employed a photographic agent, as he never willingly appears in shot!

It was a nice walk, and the sun felt hot, on my heavy coat. At least it wasn’t raining.

16 thoughts on “A sunny walk with the camera

    1. It might well be my own shadow, as the sun was behind me, and to the left.
      I have just enlarged this in detail again, and I am sure that it is me, Lola! I must try to not get into my own shots. Glad you liked them though.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

All comments welcome

