Point taken

My latest post with photos, ‘A Natural look at Beetley’ drew a large audience, and a very large amount of views. It exceeded anything else I have posted so far this year,and was pleasingly popular. Once again, I was reminded of the popularity of images on a blog post.

I can see from the stats, that any photo post exceeds a text post by at least 30%. The last one beat my best previous post this year, by over 40%. I am beginning to conclude that the many hours spent mulling over text posts are less well-received than photos, and starting to wonder if a dedicated photography blog is the way forward.

Of course, that won’t happen. Writing is what I am about, and photos must always play second fiddle to pictures, as a rule. I am not complaining, you understand. If readers enjoy the photos, then I am more than happy. It is just that I feel that I have a lot more to say. The old adage is that, ‘a picture is worth 1,000 words.’ That would appear to hold true, to this day.

To make everyone happy, the better weather will certainly generate more posts including photos. But be aware that there will be as many text-based posts too. Because fundamentally, writing is what I do.

23 thoughts on “Point taken

  1. I have missed blogging because I am busy campaigning online ๐Ÿ™‚ This would probably go on until election day which is just two weeks away. Yes, posting photos makes blog posts more interesting.

    Like

    1. You are always one to add relevant and colourful photos to most posts, Arlene. That might be one of the reasons why your blog has had so many hits, and continues to be so popular.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  2. On the Reader page, it is very easy to by-pass someone’s post that does not have a photo to draw the attention. So, even though someone follows you, they can miss that particular article, and as much as we all like you, Ollie and Beetley – we don’t want to do that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I stand by what I said before. It’s both. There are thousands of dedicated photography blogs out there and some of them have pictures that are simply amazing, but I don’t follow them because… I dunno… I like the personal touch. That’s why I come back here time and again. You write well and you make yourself a friend to people and I like your blog for both those reasons. For me, the photos are the icing on the cake. They enliven your posts, but they are not the reason I am here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for those kind observations, Ros. It is nice to know that I make myself a friend to people, as that is generally my intention. I enjoy posting the photos too, and I was just making one of my regular observations about those differences in blogging that always intrigue me.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It seems pictures also help because of SEO (whatever that means…). But yes, I guess we all spend so much time reading that pictures are a welcome break sometimes. I like other people’s pictures because I am very bad at them, and I appreciate everybody else’s mastery. ๐Ÿ™‚ But of course I’m a reader…

    Like

    1. I like to look at nice photos too, Olga. I feel that I made it sound from this post that I was complaining about this issue, when I am not at all. I was just observing the popularity of photos and how readers will pick up on them.
      As for the written posts, I am more than happy with the regular readers who comment on them, and take the time to stick with the (often long) stories too.
      Very best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  5. I’ll bet if you illustrated a short story (even if written in multiple parts) with a photo or two, you would get lots of views. Maybe find inspiration in a spot you frequent, photograph it, and write a story in which the spot plays a role, central or otherwise. For example, that old fallen tree or that old bunker could be the setting for, or serve as a feature in, a story. In any event, regardless of the post, you know I’ll be here to read, listen, and view.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the suggestions, David. You have made a good point about illustrating posts, and the ideas for stories are welcome too.
      I don’t want to give the impression that I am ungrateful for the views, far from it. It is just that every now and again, I realise just how popular photography is, compared to the other stuff!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  6. Well Pete was you know, I am a woman of few words and many pictures, but my stats are always rubbish ๐Ÿ™‚ I just plod on, and really stats don’t concern me as I’m liking my little posse of pals comments best. I like your text posts as much as picture posts, it’s nice to read something.

    Like

All comments welcome

