A wintry spring

The Beetley weather continues to confuse. After walking for many hours in bright sunny weather on Saturday, Sunday arrived with chilly temperatures, and a light dusting of snow. I had to remind myself that it was the 1st of May soon, and wonder what the hell was going on.

On Sunday afternoon, I was assailed by every season in one day. Leaving the house in rain, with an umbrella, Ollie and I soon experienced hail showers, strong cold winds, and some torrential downpours.
After around half an hour, the sun came out, making me feel uncomfortably hot in my heavy clothes.

I sat in the dell, taking a rest from the heat. But within minutes, the sky had darkened again, and we saw the return of some hail, and more heavy rain. The mud on Hoe Rough was regenerated, and I was secretly pleased to have decided to wear my heavy boots, once again. Ollie’s fur was white with tiny droplets, and I was becoming exceedingly fed up.

Today, we ventured out into brief sunshine. I wasn’t fooled, and was dressed for the worst. Just as well, as the downpours soon started, and my umbrella could hardly cope with the rain and sleet. Ollie was absolutely soaked, after just thirty minutes, but I struggled on, to give him a good walk.

Two hours later, we got back to the house. It was still raining hard, and Ollie was saturated. He appeared unconcerned though, just happy to be out and about, free of the confines of the house. I was left to wonder about the change in the seasons, and how spring could become winter, overnight.

30 thoughts on “A wintry spring

  1. I’m not sure if it’s winter or spring that’s coming. I don’t know what the animals and plants might think (not sure plants think but…) Today it looks like that too. It started sunny and bright, it was hailing a while back, sunny again, dark again… I’m supposed to have three windows replaced tomorrow, so if there are no gales it would be helpful…

    Like

    1. Same thing here, Olga. Freezing cold and hail, followed by a brief sunny interlude. I had a much shorter walk with Ollie today, tired of being pelted by hailstones!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  2. We’re in the opposite end of the spectrum feeling the heat and humidity. Things have been nicely getting cooler the past week but I remember a couple years ago railing on a May weekend that it was almost winter and still bloody hot.

    Like

  3. I’m thinking about going back to the old Druid or Norse gods, not that it will change the weather but they could offer a more entreating and interesting explanation to the odd climatic changes we are having. Global warming is wearing a bit thin.

    Like

    1. Global Warming started out pretty thin for me, Eddy. As the years drag on, it seems more unlikely than ever. Thor’s Hammer is more interesting too, I have to agree.
      Cheers, Pete.

      Like

  4. A windy, chilly, rainy day in Las Vegas. But the temps will be back on the rise in a couple of days. By the way, there’s an old Missouri saying: “If you don’t like the weather, just wait five minutes.” I think that saying more appropriately applies to Norfolk.

    Like

    1. We have the same saying in England, David. I think it must have travelled over with The Pilgrim Fathers. Chilly today, cold fingers on the keyboard as I type.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  5. The coldest April we have had for several years. We always took a holiday in Devon or Cornwall in April and usually had very warm weather. Seems this year is the exception, though I have no complaints about the weekend 🙂

    Like

  6. Crazy! Ours is temperate. We don’t have weird weather until June – Sep when we experience the monsoon season. Quite dramatic then. I hope your extreme weather mellows and you temperatures return to a comfortable level.

    Like

  7. Don’t ask me how it happens, but here we have the opposite – we are having quite a decent spring for a change, and then Snap! Withing an hour’s time – we have Summer!

    Like

All comments welcome

