Asking the blogger

I have recently read a post on Vinnieh, where he offers the chance to his readers and followers to ask him anything. The things that they always wanted to ask about him, or his blog, but never got around to doing. They can ask personal questions too, as long as they are not rude or offensive. I thought that this was a very good idea, and told Vinnie that I would be following his trend, with a similar post on this blog.

Of course, my life has been an ‘open book’ here. I have written about my past in great detail, as well as my previous locations, and the area where I live now. There may be no need to ask me anything!

So, readers, followers, and those who just happen across this blog. Is there anything you would like to ask me about my blogs, or myself? Any burning question that has smouldered inside for some time now?
Ask away, and I will do my best to be honest and truthful with my reply

And here is a link to Vinnie’s post.
https://vinnieh.wordpress.com/2016/06/27/ask-me-anythingwell-almost-anything/

55 thoughts on “Asking the blogger

    1. I have always enjoyed the strange sound made by guinea pigs. I used to have one (as an adult, in the late 1970s) and loved that sound. If you go to a petting zoo, or pet shop where there are lots of them together, you will hear it.
      Strange one, I know, but there you go.
      Regards, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The relentless screams of a crying baby. Especially sitting near me on an aircraft, or train.
      I have my own name for it, ‘WAH-BAH!’
      As in WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH…BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHH (Repeat, indefinitely.)
      Try to say it in your head, at a much higher pitch that your own voice, and you will get the idea.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I had to think about this in a public forum, but I will tell you that my favourite swearword is ‘Complete’.
      As in; ‘This is complete shit!'(Normally a film remake)
      Or, ‘Complete bollocks!’ (Political speeches, or praise of the Royal Family)
      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Thanks for doing this Pete. Very brave. I’ll admit the question I want to ask most of all is how many years were you an ambulance driver? Thank you for your time doing a tough job that was in service to others as well.

    Like

    1. That’s a tricky one, Arlene. I would like to choose one each from different genres, but I have to give one answer. So it has to be ‘And Quiet Flows The Don’, by Mikhail Sholokhov (with the second part, ‘The Don Flows Home To The Sea’.) This had a profound effect on me, when I was younger. It is an historical novel of great scope, set during World War One, then the Russian Revolution, and later, the civil war that followed. it won the Nobel Prize, in 1965, and I read it about four years later.
      Here’s a link.
      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/And_Quiet_Flows_the_Don
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Just curious Pete 🙂 Is he a Russian author? I love historical fiction that is why I collected Leon Uris’ books before but I lost some of them during the flood last 2009. Will keep this title in mind.It seems familiar but I haven’t read it yet.

        Like

    1. Coffee when I get up. Instant, ‘Nescafe Blend 37’, quite strong. If I can’t get that brand, I have tea instead, as I don’t like any other instant coffee. I used to use a Bialetti coffee brewer, and have strong ‘real’ coffee. Nowadays, it gives me indigestion.
      In the evenings, I tend to drink milk, especially since I read that it hydrates better than almost anything else. I only drink tea occasionally now, and have that strong too. We buy ‘Yorkshire Tea’. When I was working shifts, I used to drink endless cups of tea, and that made me a bit tired of it.
      Cheers mate, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Since no one has asked, “Boxers or briefs?” (Just kidding!) You often discuss music and architecture, but I don’t recall any posts on paintings. Do you have a favorite painter or art movement? Do you intend to see “Loving Vincent,” the painted animation feature film that should be released by year’s end?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good question, Jude. I have considered this myself, over the last four years. Given that we could only really afford to pay cash in either Norfolk, Lincolnshire, or parts of Suffolk and Cambridgeshire, then Norfolk was the better option, overall, but mainly due to work opportunities for Julie.
      Rather than the county, I would change the semi-rural aspect of our location, which leaves us with no local shops or pub, and unreliable local transport, non-existent after 6 pm. I would have chosen to live within walking distance of a town. Perhaps Cromer, to be nearer the coast, or somewhere like Diss, or Downham Market. We bought the house before Julie got the transfer, but put in for the two nearest branches of her bank.

      There are better places to live in Norfolk obviously, but they are considerably more expensive.
      In an ideal world (given our budget), I would have preferred Sandilands in Lincolnshire. Right on the coast, with a view of the beach from the house I liked, and within our price bracket. But work for Julie was a major problem there. Skegness has only a tiny branch, so a trek to Lincoln would have been necessary. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sandilands,_Lincolnshire
      It was just on the edge of Sutton-on-Sea, a small town with shops, pubs, and all amenities, less than a ten-minute walk along the dunes. I could have lived with the extra distance from London. After all, I still haven’t been back!

      I hope that fully answers your question.
      Best wishes, Pete. x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I suppose you could always move once Julie retires? Lincolnshire is rather nice and Lincoln beautiful. Funny, but I do know Sutton-on-Sea as it is a place we used to visit when I was a child and lived in Retford and then Scunthorpe. I loved the dunes and the beach huts along there. And yes, being in walking distance of amenities may be something for the future for us too.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I adored Sutton-on-Sea from the first moment we drove into there. I felt that we had entered a time machine, and travelled back to England in the early 1960s. As long as Julie’s twin girls (and one grandson) live in Norfolk, I doubt she would ever want to move again. x

          Liked by 2 people

  3. your header photo is just beautiful, Pete. i’m sure you’ve blogged it’s history but i’m not here long enough to tell. it is the place where you and Ollie go for a walk? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If only, Lola. I didn’t take the photo, it is a sample background from my HTC mobile phone. The foreground is not unlike the river where I walk with Ollie, but the hills and mountains in the distance do not exist in Norfolk, which is very flat. I suspect it originates from somewhere in the USA.
      I have thought of changing it in the past, but it is very popular, so I am sticking with it for now.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Obviously, perceptions of fear change as you get older. What frightened me as a child seemed silly once I was grown up. Also, when you say ‘scariest’, are we talking in terms of making me jump, or being ‘creeped out?’ Lots to consider, when coming to a conclusion. But I have to answer your question honestly, so I will have to say that ‘The Blair Witch Project’ frightened me the most (as an adult) because there are no monsters, ghosts, or scary effects. All the fear is in your own mind, imagining yourself in that situation.
          Cheers, Pete.

          Liked by 2 people

      1. Thanks, Sarah. We have just one photo of Julie with my cousin on the blog, and one of Julie with a group of my family. We are rarely out and about together, truth be told. And I am always taking the photos, so rarely in them. I might have to start using the self-timer! x

        Like

All comments welcome

