Our TV aerial: The conclusion

I know that you have all been waiting with bated breath to hear the outcome of the missing TV signal, here in Beetley. (Go on, admit it, you have!)

So, if only for my electronic diary, and even if nobody else ever reads it, this is what happened.

The aerial man came at around 2 pm, as arranged. He brought with him an impressively large shiny new pole, and some fresh cable too. We both examined the loft space, and soon found the interior connection that he had to drill through to. Using a drill as long as my arm, he went into the outer wall with ease, until he struck some wood from the inner roof fixings. Undeterred, he carried on, moving the aerial a good ten feet to the west, away from the encroaching tree branches. I made him a cup of tea, and we had a chat. It turned out that he was originally from a part of south-east London that I knew well. In fact, I used to live there at one time. We swapped stories as he had his tea, and then he got back to work. I was reassured, as he had been installing TV equipment since 1966, so knew his stuff.

The exterior aerial looked good on its shiny new post. He bolted it firmly into place, then ran the cable into the hole he had drilled through into the loft. Although it turned out that he had also drilled through a wooden joist, that was not an issue. It was soon connected, and his meter showed that it had a good signal too. We went back to the living room, and re-tuned the digital receiver. Not all of the TV channels appeared, and some that did were breaking up. What could be the problem?

There was some head-scratching, but he was onto a solution. Perhaps it was the socket where the cable ran from the wall into the PVR? That was duly changed, and we did another re-tune. A little better, but still missing some ten of the possible eighty-eight channels. (Most of which we never watch, by the way.) After the previous one was removed, it was decided that it was indeed very old, possibly a 1989 vintage. It was a little faulty on inspection, in that the pin on the co-axial cable was a little corroded, and slightly bent.

I wondered if such a minor aberration could cause so many problems, and I was assured that it could.

With the new socket placed on the wall, we attempted another re-tune, the third in less than two hours. He looked happy, I told him that I was guarded, and a little pessimistic. Still quite a few channels missing, we discovered. His last resort was to change the cable running between the wall socket and the PVR. He went out to his van to get one, and by now he had been here for almost two hours. The small white cable was put in place, and we attempted the fourth re-tune of the afternoon.

Success! All the channels were back, and lacking any interference. I had to ask. Could it just have been the small wire that connected the PVR to the wall socket, all along? Perhaps it was the outdated socket, replaced with a new one? Did we even need to move the aerial in the first place? The man shrugged. It could have been all or any of those issues. At least we had removed the aerial from intrusion by the tree, and had a new socket, and new cabling too. As far as he was concerned, it was job done.

I thanked him, and paid him. He asked for no more than his estimate, despite the extra time taken, the new socket, and additional cables. I was happy too. He was obviously a good tradesman; conscientious, and determined to leave me satisfied. We could do with more like him, and I assured him of our positive recommendation to anyone needing his services.

I hurried inside, to check the TV listings magazine. Wimbledon Tennis, Euro Football, and many programmes cancelled because of these sporting events. I have seen all the films on offer, and many of the other shows were repeats.

I had to conclude that there wasn’t much to watch tonight. Hey-ho.

43 thoughts on “Our TV aerial: The conclusion

      1. I am enjoying catching up. I started in late May and have reached early July but I fear it is taking too long. I might not even be able to read all the posts I follow when I am caught up. Which is a shame because they’re quite good. I don’t know how some of you do it.

        Like

  1. AT least now you know there wasn’t anything on the telly. That’s always the case. It’s always the last thing we check the wrong one, as otherwise we wouldn’t have stopped so…

    Like

  2. Oh my goodness, well at least it’s fixed and all channels are working, even though there wasn’t anything to watch that night.. There’s always tomorrow, and that tree will continue to grow so it’s probably a good thing in the long run to have moved the antenna… Happy Telly Watching To You Both… 🙂

    Like

    1. I really only watch BBC rolling news, Dramas on BBC 1 and 2, or films on Film 4. I could happily cope with just 4 channels. But I have to be able to have them all tuned in, or the PVR doesn’t work properly. It’s a pain!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

      1. Good choices! What about NatGeo? And of course, you need all eighty eight channels so you can scroll through all eighty eight and say “… nothing’s on!”

        Like

        1. I don’t have NatGeo. That’s on satellite or cable here, and we just have the free stuff.
          I always do say, ‘nothing’s on’, but as I read the TV guide a week in advance, I already know!
          Best wishes, Pete.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, my, I wonder if we really need all those channels? Mom always offers something to repair persons who come to the house. Most of them decline. It was nice of you to fix the man some tea. I’m glad you got the TV back! Woof!

    Like

    1. We only watch about ten of them, Maggie.Trouble is, if it isn’t tuned in correctly to receive all the rubbish too, then it doesn’t work properly.
      Thanks for the comment, here’s a biscuit- catch!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations on getting the tube up and running… I still remember those days when everything was so simple… just turn it on (yes, you had to actually get up to do so), fiddle with the rabbit ears and those lovely 3 channels would appear, well maybe 5, and all for free too!

    Like

  5. You’re a hoot. Ah, the annoying glitches surrounding a home. Love the irony at the end of your post. The best part was offering him tea. No one would do that here in the states. Why? Because tradesmen are instructed not to take anything from clients for insurance purposes and the problems it could cause such as favortism, manipulation, or even bribery. I always offer water (appropriate in the desert, here) and they are inclined to say they have plenty in the truck.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A culture difference indeed, Cindy. Offering tea or coffee is the ‘done thing’ here, in all circumstances. He had three cups, eventually! We are approaching your ‘litigation society’, but thankfully have some way to go yet.
      Very best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 2 people

  6. “…he had been installing TV equipment since 1966…” Obviously, not a young man, which probably explains his honesty and determination to solve the problem to your satisfaction. I have to wonder if a younger man would have been as persistent and fair in terms of pricing. In any event, I’m glad you have your service back. Now you can relax in front of the TV and enjoy your favorite Disney Channel programs.

    Like

    1. I don’t have The Disney Channel, David. My grandson watches that rubbish on DVD!
      He was an ‘older’ man, perhaps even older than me! That is probably why we got on, and why he didn’t increase the charges too.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. He’d almost have to be in his late 60’s. If he began installing TV equipment at age 18, his birth year would be 1948, and that would make him 68 years old. I hope your TV can return to adult programming in the not-too-distant future.

        Like

  7. That’s too much!! hahaha Someone I know finally has a repairman that actually repairs something – and there’s nothing to watch? I would HAVE to watch something, just out of the sheer principle of it all!!

    Liked by 2 people

All comments welcome

