A seasonal slump

I don’t know if it is just the weather. It might be a lot of things, I am unsure. But I can confirm that my blog is in a seasonal slump. Despite quite a few posts recently, and some ideas for fiction pieces, and photos, (should the weather improve) I cannot but face the fact that I feel uninspired. For want of a better word, even a real word, I feel ‘slumpish.’

So dear readers, if my blog doesn’t seem up to standard lately. If you are sensing a lack of verve or inspiration, that is more or less the reason. I wish that I could explain it better, but I am at a loss to do so. Just one of those things. Blogs often experience down times, slack periods, or moments when they lack inspiration.

This is one of those times.

Best wishes, Pete.

56 thoughts on “A seasonal slump

    1. I know. Lola, we all have these down times. I perked myself up by considering the ‘Guest Posts.’ If you would like to send one to be featured here, please do so. I would be happy to post it.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  1. I thought you didn’t seem quite yourself when we spoke last week 😦

    I’m the same to be honest, the only thing I’ve posted all month so far is Opinion Battles! Sometimes you just want to slump….in front of The Chase….and not think about anything.

    xxx

    Like

  2. You are not alone with this feeling, Pete. And after having read all the kind and thoughtful comments, I find it comforting to see that we all more or less experience times like this. The rain is pouring down in Cley at the moment, what kind of a summer is this?
    All the best for your writing and your guest posts, Pete,
    have a wonderful weekend,
    Dina & co

    Like

    1. Thanks very much, Dina. Torrential rain here too, and no summer to enjoy this year. Whatever happens later on, we have already missed too much of the ‘good’ months in 2016.
      Let’s hope next year is better!
      Love from Beetley, Pete and Ollie. x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel the same, although here I’m blaming it on the heat. (As I read in a book this morning ‘even my sweat is sweating’). Luckily everybody has decided to send me guest posts of book launches information and with some reviews I hope that will keep me going… Do enjoy your walks with Ollie πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks, Olga. Heavy rain here again today, but the humid nights have made sleep harder to come by, that’s for sure. Not as hot as Spain, I have no doubt!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  4. Hiya Pete, sometimes a short break is needed, but then you miss writing on here, when you sit down there is nil to type.. that’s what happened to me last Fall.. I just stopped… I did however miss the challenge of the routine of writing a post.. So, I’ve not a clue how to help you out.. I suppose we all need a little down time.. if only for a short time.. Alright, I’m rattling on and on and not really saying anything, but my friend across the pond I think you get the drift of my thoughts.. and if you do I’m truly sorry that you can understand me at this moment.. LOL wink….

    Take care, Laura

    Like

    1. Thanks, Laura. I just felt that the blog wasn’t up to par at the moment, so decided to mention why. I am writing a film article for publication elsewhere, so still writing!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aw… I see Pete, bravo my friend and be sure to post a link for me to be able to read your publication on the film when you’ve completed it.. Happy days writing to ya, from Laura πŸ™‚

        Like

  5. It’s summer. People are on holiday. The sun entices them outdoors. The…. oops. Rewind. What? Summer? Sun? Outdoors? If only. I have noticed a drop in visitors to my blog(s) and I haven’t managed to keep up with them myself due to watching the tennis. I think it is a summer thing though, lots of blogging friends taking extended breaks until the autumn. I’m struggling to be inspired too and I only do photographs AND I have just got my camera back so you’d think I’d be itching to get out there. As for the horrid Brexit – who on earth came up with that dreadful moniker? I for one think it is a good thing that at last British politics seem to have been given a good shake up. About time! Life will go on and so will we πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was thinking less about views and visitors than how I was feeling, Jude. My stats are almost unchanged, and doing OK. But I know what you’re saying.
      I didn’t know your camera had gone away. Was it faulty?
      The constant Tennis and football on TV doesn’t help, as I never watch sport.
      I hate the word ‘Brexit’ too. Typical media corruption.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pete, we’re pretty much holed up in the house these days due to the heat, but at least we have a focus: the mourning dove and its one remaining chick. The nest (second one this year) was up in the palm tree. Last Sunday, the chicks finally came down to the ground. The larger chick was spooked and flew off Monday; we think the parent has been dividing its time between the two siblings. But now, the parent spends almost all of its time in our back yard, eating the birdseed we put out, drinking fresh water out of the large terra cotta saucer, and caring for the smaller chick, which has begun to eat the birdseed but also still feeds from the parent’s mouth. The chick is growing fast, and we’ve enjoyed watching its early attempts at flight. It can now fly just fine. Still, the parent and its chick like to relax in our back yard, either on the ground or perched on the wall, and so they’ve become our special guests. At first, we assumed the single parent was a female, but now, based on its chest and head coloration, we think it may be a male. Apparently, males take better care of their offspring than females (with whom they mate for at least a season, if not for life), and take over when females are no longer around for reasons fatalistic. Otherwise, there isn’t much happening around here. But there’s one thing I can definitely say. This heat is for the birds!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice to hear about the doves, David. Although I complain bitterly about our weather, I confess I could not endure the heat you have to suffer in high season.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

      1. First thing In the morning, and again mid-evening, we open the living room windows and let the breeze into the house. It’s pleasant enough. Afternoons are hot, though (we run the A/C a bit). Right now, temperatures are about average for this time of year (high of around 106 F / 41 C; low of around 81 F / 27 C). Hopefully, the last 10 days of June will have been the hottest of the summer. I hope you get over your slump, but there’s no rush. Have a great weekend!

        Like

  7. Never mind the blog, I feel ‘slumpish’, fatigued and uninspired…. Could be a whole lot of reasons, but it doesn’t make it any more bearable

    Like

        1. Sorry to hear that, Sue. I have some Brexit blues, and I voted to leave, so should be happy. I am tired of the insults and recriminations though. Good luck with the MS, must be awful.
          Regards, Pete.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. A nuisance, Pete, and something that requires pre planning, in order to live life well….but if it makes me exercise my brain, surely that’s a good thing!!

            Like

          2. As for Brexit, we’ve opened a Pandora’s box, the genie has bolted, and goodness knows what happens next….. I’m trying to tell myself to just live life, worrying is futile

            Liked by 1 person

        2. Oh, dear Sue, we’re so sorry to learn about the MS, our hearts go out to you. We knew you have a health issue, but not that is MS. This certainly requires a lot of preplanning and you seem to do it very well. ❀

          Liked by 1 person

  8. We all have those moments Pete! I explore other blogs when I can’t think of something to share and write about. It’s raining here and it’s cold. Gotta have that hot cup of coffee πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

