Twitter and Blogging: Some thoughts

I rarely use Twitter, to be honest. It all pours in so fast, I just cannot keep up with it. Although I follow quite a few people, mostly fellow bloggers, I am lax in remaining abreast of what they are tweeting. There was a time when I felt a little guilty about this. After all, if I took the trouble to follow someone, then I should make the effort to read what they are tweeting, surely? I just don’t have enough spare time to do this, regrettably. I don’t use portable devices for accessing the Internet, so I am restricted to occasionally checking into Twitter on the PC. As Twitter is such a fast social media platform, the streams of stuff have to be seen to be believed. As fast as I scroll through the messages, dozens more are appearing at the top.

As a result of my sporadic activity, I have only 87 followers, even after all this time. I don’t mind that in the least, as I really only use Twitter to publicise my blog posts, and I never intended to be a real ‘player’ in the Twittersphere. Nonetheless, I am very grateful to be the beneficiary of numerous re-tweets, kindly arranged by some very nice followers of my blog. The potential audience for these tweets is huge. As they are constantly re-tweeted or liked, the number of people who might see them grows exponentially. This does not result in many views of the blog posts though. Clicks from Twitter are listed in the admin dashboard, and in my case they rarely amount to more than a handful a day. This does not mean that I am ungrateful, far from it. I am honoured to have such good friends, and pleased to see any further exposure of my blog.

I made one of the rare visits to my Twitter account today, and noticed that I had received a message from Twitter itself. This was by way of a statistical review of one month of activity on my account. I clicked the link, and tried to make sense of the graphs and information. It appears that I have enjoyed over 1,000 views of my account since the beginning of July. This increased to 2,000 over a 28-day period. Delving further into the graphs provided, the real results of all this activity became plain to see. An average daily figure of just 1 click on a link, and 2 re-tweets. Likes were better, with 9 likes a day during the same period. According to Twitter, this translates to what they call an ‘Engagement Rate’ of just under 3% for the month. I take this to mean that only that percentage of the 1,000 views was acted upon by the readers in some way.

Despite these low numbers, I am encouraged. They mean that at least 30 people have viewed, re-tweeted, or liked tweets on my account. Considering my own lack of engagement, and the fact that I have so few followers, that is more than acceptable to me. So what is the point of this post, and my listing of these figures that mean little or nothing to anyone who is not beetleypete? The conclusion is that it is worth publicising your blog on Twitter, even if you are not currently a user of this platform. If you already enjoy tweeting, then make sure that you include the Twitter button on your blog, and activate the link on your dashboard. If you can, thank anyone who re-tweets, and do the same for them when you get a chance. Every little helps, even 3%.

29 thoughts on “Twitter and Blogging: Some thoughts

    1. I have had some great responses from re-posts on Facebook, Lloyd. I just feel that there is something creepy about it. Twitter is a lot less intense, especially if you hardly use it, like me!
      Cheers, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I know what you mean about if you are following someone you should make an effort to read and engage but I kind of think because twitter is so fast moving it is almost expected you’ll not see everything.

    Like

  2. Like you, I am on Twitter too. I think we even follow each other there but the thing is, I am lucky if I’m able to visit it once a month. there was a time when when my account was hacked so I changed my password complete with numbers but I need to see my journal if I log into it. Yes, Twitter helps in the blog promotion but not as much as when we directly follow a blogger here.

    Like

  3. I only use Twitter as a way to link my blog as well as re-tweet stuff that is related to the blog. It does take a while to get followers and some of them can be spam but it is flattering when someone likes and re-tweets your link to the blog. That said, twitter has been useful in exposing certain people as not being bright.

    Like

  4. I find twitter is (honestly) quite helpful with blogging. I don’t have a facebook account as I hate that kind of thing but twitter is cool.

    Pete you sly dog! I had no idea you were on twitter! I’m coming to find you!! xxx

    Like

    1. I just added the Twitter button to publicise the blogs. Then I pretty much forget about it, until I get an email telling me someone has re-tweeted or followed. It’s not a big thing for me though.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pete, I’m not keen on social media (am not on Facebook, Google Plus, Instagram, Snapchat, etc) but did sign up for Twitter not long after I started blogging in order to promote my blog. And I’ve found it can be quite fun to interact with other writers and bloggers, editors, cooks, tea aficionados and so on. Once I got the hang of it, it was not overwhelming and is actually quite easy to jump on for a few minutes once or twice a day.

    Like

  6. I look at twitter now and then, but don’t post my blog link there, though I do to my Facebook photography page. I mainly use twitter to follow singers and bands I like as they often post up tour dates. That’s about as far as I go with it.

    Like

  7. I reluctantly opened a Twitter account in June 2014, mostly thinking I might be able to stir up some interest in my limericks, lyrics, and books. Success has been modest, and the number of followers fluctuates, but I’m closing in on 500 followers (though I’m following fewer than 300 “tweeps”). Like you, my blog and my Twitter account are linked. It takes work to build a Twitter following, Pete. I mostly comment on the tweets of others, but do occasionally submit a tweet of my own. I have developed a few Twitter relationships, and use the “Search Twitter” function to call up their home page in order to comment on their tweets or even engage in conversations. I’ve received a few tweet replies from celebrities, most notably one from William Shatner (“Star Trek”), and also a couple of celebrity likes (e.g., Casper Van Dien of “Starship Troopers” fame). Twitter is time consuming, but it can be fun.

    Like

    1. I know that you manage well with Twitter, David, and I have been grateful for your comments and likes on my own account. One of these days, I might try harder to get to grips with it.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  8. Hello there Pete, I had a twitter account until last year and posted my older blogs on there, but it didn’t go anywhere in 4 years, so when I closed all such blogging accounts for a winters rest twitter went with them.. This time around all I use is Facebook, google and of course WordPress… Good luck to you with Twitter, it just moves too quickly for me… Great post and information on how tweets work… At least I understand it a little better now… many thanks…

    Take care and have a wonderful Saturday 🙂
    Laura

    Like

All comments welcome

