Not complaining

As an aside, and nothing to do with this post at all. This is the 1000th post on my blog. Something of a milestone, I think you will agree.

It has been slowly warming up all week. By last night it felt uncomfortably warm in the evening, and sleep was hard to come by with no breeze through the wide open window. Undaunted, I switched on the large fan in the bedroom and managed a good eight hours.

It was warm this morning, and felt humid too, despite the sunshine. By eleven, it was clear that it was gong to be a hot day. The TV weatherman confirmed this, advising us of temperatures in this area set to touch 30 degrees. It is also going to get hotter, with a possibility of 33 degrees by Tuesday. Out with Ollie, you could really feel the heat, and the sun beat down on my back. Unusually for me, I even resorted to sunglasses as I wandered around with my dog. For Ollie in his fur coat, it wasn’t so much fun. He had to frequently go and stand in the river, trying hard to keep cool. In fact, I think it got to him a bit, and he is off his food tonight, sluggish and sleepy.

It was nice to walk around free of rain and mud, after enduring both for most of this year so far. Only in the darkest wooded areas is there still evidence of the thick black mud, but it is now easily avoided. Sitting on ‘my’ tree branch for a rest, I could even feel a pleasant warm breeze on my face and legs. I was enthused to carry on, and once Ollie had been for another dip in the river, I stayed out for almost three hours.

This is just another beetleypete weather post, I know. But there’s a big difference.

I’m not complaining

49 thoughts on “Not complaining

  1. Congratulations on your 1000th post! And I hope the weather behaves. All being well I should be back in the UK next week. Fingers crossed! (Here it’s very hot and the mosquitoes had a big feast on my account a couple of nights ago, that’s with the electric anti-mosquito thingy…)

    Like

    1. It might get up to 33 degrees here today, Olga. I go out covered in bug spray, and have had a lot less bites as a result. By the time you get back from Spain, the weather is supposed to be ‘normal’ again. As in a lot cooler, with a chance of heavy showers. Good old England, and its 3-day summers!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  2. Hooray, the good weather has arrived! I know, a bit too warm, but the alternative hasn’t been fun – here is LA it will be 90 degrees by the end of the week…but very dry, no humidity, so no complaints

    Like

    1. Thanks, John. Almost 90 here today. No complaints from me, as no rain! Enjoy your lack of humidity. But what about the famous L.A. smog? Is that around?
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

      1. Smog isn’t as bad here as the past…and the pacific oceans breeze carries it away…breeze also keeps a hint of coolness to the air…but our valleys routinely get to 105-110 – ouch

        Like

  3. Pete, Hello there… my internet took a nose dive into the beyond last evening just after I clicked like on your post here… I can relate how difficult it is to sleep when the humidity makes it so sticky.. You finally get nicer weather and that stuff rolls in.. seems you’re mirroring what we had last week.. it’s been nice here for a few days, but the warmer temps with the horrible humid nights are returning. Well I suppose it’s not snow and for that I can be grateful…

    Take care, Laura

    Like

  4. I was wondering where the sunshine had gone, we have had two days of rain and I was starting to miss it. Still I don’t mind you borrowing it for a few days, just as long as we can have it back soon.
    1000 posts! A milestone indeed, congratulations Pete, keep em coming.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Eduardo.
      I think you are getting your sun back soon. We are not allowed to have it for too long. Perhaps we have been too naughty in the past, I don’t know. But we must have the rain back soon, I have no doubt.
      Cheers, Pete.

      Like

  5. We are not complaining either, Pete. It was lovely in Cley today and we harvested our lavender in gorgeous sunshine, escaping into the shade every now and then. Tomorrow looks very promising as well! -)
    Congratulations to your 1000th post!! We are impressed!
    Lots of love from the coast to you all,
    Dina, Klausbernd, Siri & Selma x

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Lots of things! We bind it for lovley little bundles, we hang them up to dry in the conservatory. Yesterday we sat for hours peeling
        the little seeds off, do you say rub them off, maybe? They are also drying up in the conservatiry. Every day we have to toss and turn them until they are thouroughly dry, it’s almost like washing ourselves with lovely scent. Next week we’ll fill lots of satchets with the lavender. They come into the drawers and wardrobes, we keep one in the car etc. You just have to crush the satchet and it smells.
        The old lavender from last year are now on the compost. Together with hot water. Unfortuneately, the ants have decided to occupy the biggest heap of compost and the scent of lavender they don’t like so we hope they will move on.
        Lots of love to you all. The weather is till glorious so we are off to walk on the cliffs from Weybourne to Sheringham, one of my all time favourites.

        Like

        1. Thanks for getting back to me, Dina. It sounds like you have a Lavender ‘cottage industry’ going on there, and you put it to good use. Have you ever been to ‘Norfolk Lavender’, near Hunstanton? They have many varieties to enjoy, and it’s free to walk around the displays.
          Enjoy your lovely walk in the sun.
          Love from Pete and Ollie. X

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Obviously, that would be a welcome temperature right now in Las Vegas. Our daytime highs right now are in the 100-110 F (41-43 C) range. However, you may be dealing with a lot of humidity. Here, it’s only around 6%. As you know, humidity can make a big difference in comfort level. In any event, I’m glad Ollie has a river to soak in, and that you have a fan at your disposal. It’s always nice to hear the Beetley weather report (rain or shine).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am reminded of those awfully uncomfortable nights in our Camden flat, Ian. I don’t miss the hustle and bustle or noise at all. I just got old enough to do without it.
      Cheers mate, Pete.

      Like

All comments welcome

