A Blogging Anniversary

I have just been informed by WordPress that I started this blog four years ago today.

Those first hesitant posts seem a long way off indeed, and I still regret the absence of some of my early followers, as well as the demise of some of the first blogs I ever followed.

As I often say here, if you are thinking about starting a blog, then just do it! It is free, and you have nothing to lose, except a little spare time. I am sure that you will discover that it can enrich your life experience in so many ways, and introduce to you fellow bloggers around the world in the process. If you have become tired of your blog, don’t give up! Choose a new theme, create some different categories, and take it in a different direction. We all have our blogging ups and downs, me more so than some. But the blog has a way of rewarding effort and time, and coming good in the end.

Thanks to everyone who has stuck with me since the start, and those of you who have joined along the way. You are all welcome, and appreciated too. Here’s to at least another four years, though maybe not another 1,000+ posts!

Happy Anniversary, beetleypete!

40 thoughts on “A Blogging Anniversary

  1. I haven’t been blogging much for a while. I’m just busy, and prioritizing other things. But I’ll hit it again before too terribly long. I’m sorry I missed your anniversary. I’m in the process of catching up. Yours is my favorite blog. Hands down.

    Like

  2. Congratulations Pete. Blogging has become a way of life. Hope to see you still blogging in the next six years so I could say “Happy 10th Blogging Anniv.”.

    Like

  3. Strangely enough I was reminded by Facebook this morning of a ‘memory of four years ago’ A picture of our house under construction! It also reminded me of the time when I used to blog a bit more often than twice a year:)
    Happy anniversary Pete, thank you for providing me with an alternative to the news on many a morning tea break. I must take your advice and try and get back into the swing of things on the blog again.

    Like

    1. Cheers, Eddy. I am sure that your regulars will understand how busy you are, and will reappear on your next post. Hard to believe that you have been building the house as long as I have been blogging. Thanks for sticking with me since the earliest days, you know it is much appreciated.
      All the best to you, Gosia, and the lovely Winkette. Pete.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Susanne. It is probably a bit too much blogging, to be honest. But it has kept me sane during the transition from work to retirement, and London to Norfolk. Your own blog is coming on nicely, and the photos are very good too.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations on your four years blogging.. I just wish I was here for your first year.. But, I can go back into your posts and it’ll be like I was here from the beginning.. Looking forward to many more.. Bravo, my friend across the pond…

    Laura

    Like

  5. I agree with you on losing some of the old bloggers. I can only surmise that some just weren’t interested in my content or I didn’t make it interesting enough. Then there are those who became tired of blogging and I’ve had 2 men pass away (that I know of). All these are gone but not forgotten.

    Like

      1. Thanks very much, GP. When some bloggers just disappear, I generally email them to wish them well, and thank them for their time. I am worried about one American man at the moment, as his blogs just seem to have stopped, so hope he is OK.
        Regards, Pete.

        Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

