The Lakes: Preparation for a change

Before I post about my trip to the Lake District, and add some photos, here is something about how different the experience was for me.

I have known my friend Antony for a very long time. We used to work together in the same Ambulance Station in London, so share the unique experience of emergency work in a crowded and hostile environment. Some years later he left the city and moved to the Lake District, where he lived for three years. He has always been energetic and fit, and embraced hill-walking, mountain climbing, cycling, and many other outdoor pursuits. For my part, I was embracing politics, red wine drinking, and eating in London’s amazing choice of restaurants.

A few years later, he returned to London and I suggested a job where I was working at the time, with the Metropolitan Police. He eventually became my partner in a police control room,Β where he still works to this day. He continued to be interested in all manner of sporting and challenging activities, and I continued my love of fine dining and fine drinking.We remained good friends, albeit with very different hobbies, and totally opposite outlooks on life.

When I retired and moved to Norfolk in 2012, he came to visit me some time later. We walked along the Norfolk Coast path to Brancaster, and he was impressed with my new found levels of activity, and outdoor interests. Although he is twelve years younger than me, our similar experiences and attitudes have always ensured that we would be like-minded, in most things. He suggested that we could go to Cumbria, and visit the western lakes. I was surprised, and sure that I would never manage the hills, or the difficult walks, so declined. He persisted the following year, so I finally agreed, wondering what I had let myself in for!

I soon discovered that I would need a lot of stuff. Soft-shell trousers, hiking boots, and a good coat too. He would lend me a rucksack, something that I had not carried since I was sixteen, and he would arrange suitable accommodation for us, to include bringing Ollie along. We decided to take my car, as it is large enough for all the luggage and has ample room in the rear section for Ollie to recline on his large bed. The arrangements were made, and the booking confirmed.

Then I really started to worry.

How was I ever going to manage the hills, or the long days of constant walking across rough terrain? Would Ollie cope? Would I hold Antony back, or fail completely? I set my jaw, and determined to do my best. All too soon, the day loomed. As I packed the stuff ready for the trip, I was still concerned about my ability to actually do all this. But I just went with it, and I am pleased to say that I did manage what was required.

As an aside, I was really pleased with the things I bought for the trip. With no prejudice, I can wholeheartedly recommend the following items for anyone considering something similar.
http://lowa.co.uk/?product=renegade-gtx-mid-ws
http://www.craghoppers.com/pro-lite-softshell-trousers-black-1-9.html
http://www.trespass.com/mens-edwards-waterproof-jacket

For a rucksack, I used one that Antony lent me, and I later discovered that ‘technical’ T-shirts are the thing too.
http://www.karrimor.com/karrimor-aspen-technical-t-shirt-444830?colcode=44483003

So go prepared, and make the best of it. Posts with photos will follow soon.

27 thoughts on “The Lakes: Preparation for a change

  1. After a wet weekend walking three dogs in Wales, I’m going to check the equipment you recommend (I’m sure they’ll have women’s versions). My raincoat and boots were OK but… Looking forward to your adventures and nice to meet Antony too.

    Like

  2. I am just the same when I go on outings with my photography pal Sophie, who is several years younger and fitter than I am, somehow I manage to keep up, and am so glad you did as well. well done Pete. Will be looking at your photo’s soon x

    Like

    1. Apparently, all clothing can be ‘Technical’. I think it means that they can charge more for it!
      It’s about flat seams under rucksack straps, non-chafing thighs, and all sorts of similar excitements!
      After a week of walking, you sort-of get the idea, but I don’t need that stuff pushing my trolley around Tesco…
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s always scary to think of what could go wrong or that you will fall short of the mark. It sounds like you did neither. πŸ™‚ Good for you. Looking forward to your pictures and hiking posts.

    Like

All comments welcome

