The Lakes: Photography chatter

No photos!

Just to add some photography trivia and details, of interest only to those who like that sort of thing though.

Everyone else can just delete this post, and wait for more pictures.

For anyone who doesn’t know, my camera is a Fuji X30 compact.
fujifilm_x30_review-275x222
It has a 28-112 lens (35MM equivalent) and a small 2/3 size sensor. The secret is in the chip, and the film simulation modes. The chip renders ‘Fuji colours’, favouring reds and blues. The film simulation modes include ‘Velvia’, which replicates slide film, and ‘Classic Chrome’, which mimics Kodachrome 64 slide film. Other than occasional and very rare use of these modes, all my photos are straight J-pegs from the camera, with no post-shooting manipulation on Photoshop. The camera is light to carry, easy to understand, and only costs Β£280. I shoot in Aperture Priority, and let the camera choose the relevant shutter speeds. Occasionally, I employ Exposure Compensation, to create shadows or to avoid overexposure. Other than that, you get what I could see when I pressed the shutter.

By contrast, Antony carried some serious kit. A Nikon D3s full-frame SLR, with an assortment of lenses. He also had two tripods, and only shot in RAW, which he later sorts out in Lightroom, or Adobe Photoshop. For every shot I took, he took at least ten, maybe more. He also carried the small but powerful Sony RX1R. This is a full-frame compact camera, with a fixed 35MM lens, capable of stunning results with practice. It will take him some time, maybe a week, to sort out all his photos. But when he has done this, I expect to be able to put some on this blog, and I will also link to his site, which I really hope you will visit.

After half a lifetime carrying around huge amounts of photography gear, I was pleased to only have one small camera, and to ponder my limitations accordingly. I only shot around 230 images in a week, about 30+ a day. From those, I spent some time choosing the right ones to illustrate what I was writing about on the blog, as well as deleting a few on the way. Overall, I am happy enough with my choice, and can really recommend my camera as a reasonably-priced option that fits into a large pocket, or small case. Given good weather, is it an excellent little carry-around camera at a bargain price.

24 thoughts on “The Lakes: Photography chatter

  1. thanks for the additional info. The pictures on your blog are amazing in their beauty and clarity. I have always loved taking pictures but am just now learning to shoot photos using manual exposure with my new camera. I took a class last Saturday and was the only one there with a compact (Sony Cybershot RX100M3.) Even if I master the art I think I will still prefer a small camera as I can’t imagine carrying around so much heavy equipment!

    Like

          1. Thanks Pete. I appreciate that. Part of it for me is just learning some of the basic language of photography and of course learning to operate the camera. The short class I took helped some with that…

            Like

    1. I forgot to add. I always use Aperture Priority, to decide what depth of field I desire for the shot. The camera sorts out the shutter speed, or uprates the ISO to compensate if it is too slow. On modern digital cameras, higher ISO speeds are rarely a problem, up to 8 X 10 inch photos. Manual exposure systems generally end up with the same values, unless you use a separate light meter, like in the ‘old days’!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  2. I part xt my full frame nikon for the Fuji X-T1 so get the best of both worlds really. I can shove a fixed lens on and leave it at that in my pocket, nice and light, or take extra lenses with me and it’s still light enough to carry around. I do like to use RAW and make adjustments in lightroom, but I enjoy that part of photography, it’s just a digital darkroom really. I’m looking forward to seeing what your pal did with his ‘big boy’ camera πŸ˜‰ 2 tripods though??

    Like

  3. Might be the answer for me. I’m just using an i phone at the moment. You should do courses as you explain everything so well. Even I understand, and I’m hopeless at anything slightly technical.

    Like

    1. More photos are taken on phones than were ever taken on cameras, and many can be just as good as ‘real’ cameras. I like to have a viewfinder, as I never settled with looking at a screen. But if you prefer screens, the Fuji X30 has an articulating 3″ screen that shows all the same settings as well as an excellent viewfinder too.
      You are very kind with your comments Karen, but I doubt I could take courses. However, I am always happy to give more detailed advice and tips. Feel free to email me with any photo-related questions.
      petejohnson50@yahoo.com
      Best wishes as always, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

