Buttermere: A gentler walk

All photos are large files, and can be clicked on for detail.

The approach to the peaceful lake at Buttermere was made through the hair-raising Honister Pass.
dscf0349

Perhaps when I was 25 years old, I might have enjoyed that drive. My MPV chose first gear all the way up, and the diesel engine was sounding like a tractor by the time we stopped before the descent, for the above photo. The downhill section was also a fairground ride, as I was on and off the brakes all the way into Buttermere. I concluded that I was happy to only have encountered light traffic during that trip.

The weather remained kind for the promised easier walk that Tuesday. Most of the path was close to the water’s edge, or not far from it.
dscf0368

After a much more relaxing day, it was back to Keswick, to get ready to go out to eat that evening.

25 thoughts on “Buttermere: A gentler walk

  1. Pete, these pictures are just breathtakingly beautiful. Your description of traveling up the mountain in first gear, reminded me of a trip to South America with my grandfather in the early 70’s. There was a beach we wanted to see on the other side of the mountain and the only way there was straight up… So, with the cliff to our left on a single lane dirt road hardly wide enough for the vehicle we slowly churned upward to the top and down again on the other side to the beach.. What a wonderful yet scary adventure that day was with my grandfather.. Often I wondered if he too was worried driving up the steep road.. Memories are what a life is made of… and you have some lovely memories of your adventures here for sure… Take care, Laura …

    Like

    1. Thanks, FR, that’s very kind of you to say. I did like that early morning shot myself, but it was rather spoiled by the road sign on the bottom left. At least the sign shows the steep descent! I tried walking down to the sign, so it wouldn’t be in shot, but then I lost most of that good light coming in from the east. (Right hand side)
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. There are some scary roads up top, the moment you can no longer see the road ahead of you before you descend has got the be the worst. I always loved the name Buttermere, soft calm and peaceful, just like the lake and the views you have captured so well.

    Like

  3. Those photos are picture postcard perfect. The first one stands out due to the play of light and shadow, and the second one is beautifully framed by the tree’s leaves. By enlarging the first one, I could see the winding road in the valley. Once more, I’m impressed by the region, and by your photo journalism.

    Like

    1. The scenic style of the photography and conventional postcard views are deliberate, David. I wanted to show the area to Julie, as she wasn’t coming along, as well as having a record for myself. I am happy that you like these shots, and thanks for bothering to enlarge the files too.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

All comments welcome

