Grasmere: The last day

All photos are large files, and can be clicked on for detail.

Grasmere is a picture-perfect village in the centre of the Lake District. It has famous literary associations, not least with the poet William Wordsworth. He lived in the village for many years, and is buried in the churchyard of St Oswald’s. Other famous writers known to have stayed there include Sir Walter Scott, Thomas de Quincy, and Samuel Taylor Coleridge. This has all led to the village being very popular with tourists, as well as making house prices unaffordable for most people. There is also the small lake of Grasmere nearby, which we did not go to on that occasion.

Because of all the aforementioned tourists, I didn’t bother to take any photos of the village. Anyone interested in seeing or learning more about the place can follow this Wikipedia link, or search Google images. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grasmere

We were there to make the hike up to Easedale Tarn, passing the small but attractive waterfall on the way. Unfortunately, it was another very dull day, but I took some photos anyway.
dscf0437

Once at the tarn, we stopped for lunch. A local shepherd was rounding up a large scattered flock. He was using a quad-bike, and two very thin collie dogs. His shouting and whistling attracted Ollie’s attention, and he walked into the frame. (Ollie’s image is not sharp in this photo. I was focusing on the centre of the shot at the time.)
dscf0444

Trying to get a wider shot of the tarn, I stepped onto what I thought was solid ground, only for my left leg to sink into a muddy bog! I managed to pull it out, but had to spend some time cleaning off my boot and trouser leg. I chose a firm path for the eventual photo.
dscf0439

On the long walk back down to the village, using a different route, I took this photo of some dilapidated farm buildings. The sheep farmer has moved to a modern complex much lower down, and these have been abandoned to nature.
dscf0452

This proved to be the last photo I took during my trip to the Lake District. We went out to eat in Keswick that night, and left for home at 9.30 the next morning.

16 thoughts on “Grasmere: The last day

  1. Good photos Pete, you did a lot of walking! Must have been really nice for you and Ollie to have somewhere different to go every day. Most of where you went is where we went 2 years ago, but then we also stayed in Keswick. Didn’t do as much uphill walking as you did though 🙂

    I hope you do take more photos and share them with us! What happened to the windmill volunteering?

    Like

    1. There was a lot of walking. It was arranged in advance by Antony, based on my ability to manage the gradients. He did a good job, as I was only really taxed to the max on one day.
      After the Buttermere and Lodore views, my own favourites from all the Lakes shots, I am inspired to explore more of Norfolk, and take more photos. I might even use my SLR again, who knows?

      The windmill had to be put on hold in March, once I got vertigo. I couldn’t face going up and down the near-vertical ladder steps inside, when it made me dizzy. If it goes away, I will return to volunteering there.

      Regards as always, Pete. x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s probably safe to say that everyone enjoys a waterfall. They all have a unique character about them. I’ve hiked up to small lakes in the Rockies (Colorado) and Sierra Nevada (California), and liken them to gemstones set in a ring of mountains. Typically, the water is crystal clear, highly reflective, and icy cold. I enjoyed your photos of Easedale Tarn, the waterfall, and the abandoned farm buildings. Even in zoom mode, Ollie’s image is quite sharp, in my opinion, and it was great to see him posing in such a spectacular setting. I did Google the village of Grasmere, and I must say that even without its literary connections it would be a tourist draw. It’s a very lovely place! Thanks, Pete, for sharing these photos of Cumbria. I’m sure you’ll conserve some great memories of your adventures in the region, and these photos will surely bring a smile to your face for many years to come.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comments, David, and for your continued interest in these posts and photographs. Grasmere is almost too attractive, and has drawn many modern celebrities too. Sting once had a house there, and the price of even a small flat above a shop is an eye-watering £250,000. I didn’t even bother to look at the price for a large cottage, or modern home.
      As you say, that trip will leave me with many memories, which I can refresh anytime, by looking at these posts on my blog.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  3. Pete…Thanking you ever so much for sharing with us your adventures on this trip. The beauty you captured with your camera was just out of this world. You allowed me to see parts of the world I’d never be able to see in this lifetime and for that I am thankful. Loved that Ollie was there for this trip too, I bet he had long naps too upon returning each evening. Take care, Laura

    Like

    1. Thanks again, Laura. I am very happy to have shown you these areas, as I am equally happy to discover those in Canada. Ollie soon settled in to the longer days, but he certainly had some deep sleeps during the evening!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. To be honest, I don’t think we ever thought of that, or even mentioned it. We could have used Antony’s tripod of course. We generally waited until all the other walkers had left, before taking uninterrupted photos. But you are right, we should have had a shot with us, and Ollie too.
      Oh well, it is in the ‘Memory card of my mind…’
      Thanks, FR. Glad you enjoyed this series, and thanks for your comments and suggestions, which are all much appreciated.
      I am inspired to take more photos again now, even if most of them won’t be shown on this blog.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

