More camera chat

After my recent run of photo posts, I am very pleased with the response to them. The positive comments, and huge increase in views, all are of course very welcome. After many years of avoiding photos and images on my blog, I might finally be coming around to recognising the positive aspects of illustrating many of the posts.

I did write a post about my current camera, and in general, I have been very pleased with it. For the money, it is a great little all-round compact, capable of producing some very pleasing results. But my rekindled interest in taking photos has left me excited about equipment once again. So I am thinking of adding another camera to my collection. I have narrowed down the choice to a mirrorless micro four-thirds camera. These seem to offer the ideal combination of a good-sized sensor, with smaller bodies that are more portable, and lenses that are easier to afford, than on larger systems. They also offer many cutting-edge features, all crammed into attractive retro-styled bodies that are as much of a joy to look at, as they are to use.

I know that many of you are keen photographers. Most of you are very good too, and at least some of you already own and use cameras based around this system. Perhaps there are others out there who have never seen this blog, but might be attracted by the tags. They might also use MFT cameras, and have their own opinions. So my question is this. I have narrowed down my selection to three choices, all of which will be investigated with a view to a purchase after Christmas. What do you think of my choices? Do you have alternative choices, or personal experience of using any of these?

Before I commit to what will be an expensive and possibly final decision on something I will be owning for a considerable time, I would appreciate comments and input from anyone out there, especially from those in my existing community. Here are the three choices, in no particular order.

Panasonic G80.
panasonic-g80
Olympus Pen F.
pen-f
Olympus OMD EM-5 Mark 2.
omd-em-5

Let me know what you think. Any comments will be much appreciated.

41 thoughts on “More camera chat

  1. Pete, I look forward to what you pick after December.. Love that you’re posting photographs and making them smaller, even though it was a difficult transition for you to lower the size. You blog will last longer with the smaller size photos and will look just as beautiful. Some large pictures on blogs won’t even open for me when I visit their page .. Happy days ahead, and we all I’m sure look forward to seeing Ollie more too… Just adore your pup….

    Take care, Laura

    Like

    1. Thanks, Laura. Learning to reduce the file size has saved me going Premium, or switching to another blog, at least for a while. As for Olllie, it all depends if he will stand still long enough to get in the shots!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Pete, yes indeed smaller sizes will lengthen the life of your blog. I hear ya, about pets not standing still.. I must wait until mine wants to rest most times.. Oh and I went to the link you provided, read the story line and was hooked.. I ordered the novel last night from Amazon and am very excited to begin reading it.. There’s a little message on Mondays post I made from lividemerald2013 for you to see.. Take care, Laura 🙂 Oh and Thank you, Thank you for that link….

        Like

        1. I think you will enjoy that unusual story, Laura. I have sent you an email with David’s email address, in the event that you would like to discuss his writing. If you get the chance, don’t forget to review his book on Amazon later. Every little helps…x

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Pete, Thank you for this message, I look forward to review for him on Amazon.. I just know that I’m going to love reading his book, given some of my history within the Catholic church growing up.. His story line sparked excitement to read.. Thanks so much for offering the link… Now, my dear friend when is your novel coming out? I’ll be the first one to buy 3 of them, one for me and one for each grown child of mine.. You have a talent ~ Take care, Laura

            Like

  2. I have the Olympus EM-10 which is smaller than the 5 model and fits nicely in my handbag with the flat 14-42 lens. I have been very happy with it (at least since it was repaired!) and I love the colours it produces, much better than my Fuji bridge camera. I don’t use half the stuff on the menus though and in fact find the menu settings very complicated, but shooting jpegs works fine for me. I quite like the Pen cameras and we are considering getting one for the OH so we can share the lenses. Nice and small and light and love the retro style.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Jude. I will probably investigate that model too, as it is a lot cheaper. I don’t shoot in RAW myself, and although some camera menus can be intimidating, I persevere with them until I find a set-up I like, then just pretty much leave it alone after that.
      Best wishes, Pete. x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The pictures also help make your post more visible on the Reader page. A post can easily be overlooked without any. I just have an old Canon digital. I don’t carry it around much, but it does come in handy for the blog!!

    Like

  4. Best of luck with your choice…see my reply to Ian. I can’t comment on the Panasonic, and as to the Pen F a friend has one and loves it. A great street camera as it is super small, but personally I prefer TTL rather than rangefinder view.

    Like

  5. I thought from seeing you on the Fuji blog, that you would go down that road. The Fuji X-T2 is their latest, but the XT-1 price will benefit from that, and it’s a great little camera. If you get it with the 18-55 kit lens (which is far superior to another other kit lens) I think you’d be a happy man. I know you don’t like processing photos, so the Fuji Jpegs are second to none, loads of excellent reviews for that aspect if you google it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The XT-1 is a very attractive camera, I agree. I am not sure that I want to have another APS-C sensor camera though, as I already have a Fuji S5 SLR, with a 28-80 lens. Add the X-30, and that’s two Fuji models, so I fancied a change. I might change my mind if I go to look at them though. I had previously considered the Fuji XE-2s, and still like that design. I am attracted by the five-axis stabilisation in the ones on my list though.
      The thing with cameras is that no list is ever the ‘last’ list.
      Thanks for the suggestion.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pete,

    I’ve never been very equipment oriented, really. The main point for me is to use a camera you are happy with.

    The two cameras I am happy with at the moment are both Sony cameras.

    My main ‘proper’ camera is the A6000 usually with the Zeiss 16-70 f4, which is roughly a 24-105 equivalent. I’ve got the wife angle zoom from Zeiss as well.

    My walk around camera is the Sony RX100. It’s a compact, but the quality is superb for its size ( roughly the size of a fag packet, if you can remember how big they are!). I really can’t fault it at all, and as they say, the best camera in the world is the one you have with you; there’s no excuse for leaving this truly pocketable camera behind.

    If you are settled on the Lumix, or Olympus, then go for it. The most important thing is to get a camera you are happy with.

    I look forward to seeing the results!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Ian. I looked at the RX 100 before buying the Fuji X 30, which is not really comparable, I know. Tony Kyriacou has a Sony RX1 R, and is very impressed with that, albeit it has to be handled carefully. If I recall, you used to be a Canon man at one time. An EOS 5 or similar?
      Regards, Pete.

      Like

      1. My life in cameras!

        Zenit E
        Practika LTL3
        Canon AE-1
        Olympus OM-1 and OM-2
        Canon EOS5

        There was a short hiatus from photography – then

        Canon G12
        Canon EOS6D

        The 6D was stolen, but insured. So now

        Sony A6000 and RX100IV

        The most enjoyable of the lot was probably the OM-1. It was small and light, and I could carry it everywhere with a 35mm Zuiko. And no battery anxiety.

        Like

          1. It was a Praktica BMS, with a 50 MM lens. It’s in a box in the loft. It resides there with the Minolta Dynax 7, all the Olympus clam-shell cameras, and some old rollfilm oddities I bought, intending to display them somewhere. The 24-105 lens from the Dynax is a lovely lens, and I might get an old Sony body to use it one one day.

            Well remembered mate.

            Like

    2. I agree with you, Ian – the main thing is to use a camera you are happy with, and will carry around. I used to lug a heavy Nikon D300 around….loved it, but the weight and portability became an issue, so I now use Olympus mirrorless. Much more portable for me at the moment (until I need lighter still!), love the retro look and the fact they look quite unobtrusive. And I’m very pleased with the image quality.

      Liked by 2 people

All comments welcome

