Felicity Harley: A re-blog

Felicity sent me this link to an open letter she wrote in 1981, following the election of Ronald Reagan to the Presidency of the United States. I don’t often re-blog other writers here, but this is exceptional, and deserves a wider audience. It speaks volumes about hopes, aspirations, justice, and motherhood. Despite being written so long ago, the thrust of it could just have easily have been written last week, following the result of the 2016 Presidential election in America.

I urge you to follow the link, and to read her impassioned and intelligent article in full.
View story at Medium.com

And if you would like to read more, here is a link to Felicity’s WordPress blog.
https://theshammuramat.wordpress.com/

15 thoughts on “Felicity Harley: A re-blog

  1. Pete, I cringed a bit when I wrote my comment (though I kept it brief), as I’m sure expectations among your followers is that only something positive will be written. I appreciate your response very much. It’s Thanksgiving Day here, as you know. We’re going to follow Pres. Obama’s example and pardon a turkey.

    Like

  2. Who should write authoritatively about the poor, the old, the weak the sick? Or who should write authoritatively about children, fetuses, or animals for that matter? If not being poor, old, weak, sick, a child, a fetus or animal disqualifies one, then the Church, science, scholars, and the rest of us would be disqualified too.

    Like

  3. A beautifully written and impassioned plea for an enlightened and compassionate social contract…even more relevant and urgent now. Thank you!

    Like

    1. My pleasure, Felicity. I have read a lot of posts against Trump and his ideas since the election. Most have quite frankly struck me as the moans of poor losers. On this occasion, I was impressed by the writing of course, and the similarities with 1981. Naturally, I have no favourites in the US political system.
      We don’t have Thanksgiving, but I send my best wishes to you and your family.
      Regards, Pete.

      Like

All comments welcome

