Beetley nature with the old camera

holly-berries

All photos can be enlarged by clicking them. They look better when enlarged.

It was finally bright enough this afternoon, so I took my recently exhumed old camera along on the walk with Ollie. Suitably seasonal berries, above.

They have recently been felling trees over on Hoe Rough. Apparently, they were in danger of falling over, after the roots had been eroded by flooding. They have just been left where they fell, and little clearance has been done. You can still see the blue ropes left behind by the workers.
fallen-trees

There isn’t a lot of colour about at this time of year, but these bramble leaves are clinging on to the last of their red.
leaves-and-thorns

In the darkest recesses of the woodland areas, I found these mushrooms trying to grow through the leaf litter.
fungi-and-leaves

As the sun started to set, the ground in front of this tree was draped in shadow.
tree-and-shadows

The bracken that covers much of Hoe Rough is dying fast. It produces some nice colours though.
dying-bracken

The second bend of the small River Whitewater was looking nice in the afternoon light.
river-bend

This was my first time using this SLR since I bought my new smaller camera. I was reminded just how heavy it is! The Optical viewfinder that I once considered to be so clear and useful now seems dark and muddy, compared to the Electronic version in the new camera. Focusing is slower too, and the ten-year old technology is showing its age. But it can still render very good natural colours, and the stabilised Nikon lens can easily be hand-held down to one quarter of a second. I needed to use the built-in flash for the mushroom shot, and the auto fill-in function seems to have achieved a pleasant balance. It was nice to use it again, but the huge weight is a definite consideration. Given that it produces the same pixel output as the newer camera, it is hard to justify carrying both, as the images are remarkably similar despite the huge difference in sensor size.
It does feel like a ‘real camera’ though!

45 thoughts on “Beetley nature with the old camera

  1. Pete, we went from the Polar Vortex to -4c this afternoon, and there is to be continued warming if you can call it warm.. The plow just drove past my driveway and left 3 feet of wet slush that weighed more that wet concrete. That about did me in for sure, but now I can sit for the rest of the afternoon and catch up with your posts. These photographs are outstanding. I tend to also love the lightening that you had here on this winters day. Sometimes, a grey sky is just what the picture needs given the time of year. Lovely post.. Take care and Merry Christmas to you and your lovely wife. Give good ol’ Ollie a nice treat and say it’s from Canada..wink… Laura

    Like

  2. Pete, my favorites are the first two (the berries and the felled trees in Hoe Rough). The berries photo is just beautiful, and I particularly like the focused perspective on the felled trees. I love taking photos, and hope to one day own a camera again!

    Like

    1. Thanks, David. I would have liked to have got the berries photo in better focus, but they were in an awkward place! I was playing around with smaller/larger apertures, and I think that worked OK with the tree trunks.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  3. And real photos πŸ˜€
    Love the landscapes Pete, and now you MUST have one that you can use as your header instead of the WP one. I quite like the trees and also the last one, except the tree on the right jars with me as the top is chopped off. Pretty close-up of the bracken too. I must admit I prefer my little Oly now – when I take out the Fuji bridge I notice the weight. A lot.

    Like

      1. Oh, yes, I know! Sometimes moving yourself is not an option so you have to accept the limitations. It does look like a very nice view though, so I hope you take a few more around there. Different lens maybe?

        Like

  4. As one of my middle aged children would say “Cool Dude, Cool.” Then I tell them the slang dates them and smile. (As in who is dated now). I like the way you used the f-stop on the closeups.
    Warmest regards, Theo

    Like

  5. Well you know I gave up my old Nikon D700 for my Fuji, and the only thing I miss is the 105mm macro lens which was pretty awesome, but I manage with the 60mm now. I like the photo’s here, especially the red leaves and the river shot.

    Like

  6. I don’t comment on your pic posts, Pete; I think it’s more like I can simply take in their ambiance without feeling compelled to acknowledge. But I do enjoy them… whether your subjects are nature or some rusting Tiger MkIV. πŸ™‚ Actually.. it reveals a lot about you as a person… and oddly we are pretty similar in our interests. You see beauty in the simple things. Back before digital cameras I was a picture-taking nut as well.. and most of my stuff were similar scenes. When I moved to the Southwest here I went a little crazy with all the new subject matter, from natural formations to ramshackle constructs from an earlier mining age… and when I got a digital camera it was great using Photoshop to make black & whites.
    Anyway.. keep on sharing. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thanks for your kind words, Doug. Much appreciated. One day, I might find some of my old pictures from the film days, and try to scan them in. If I live long enough…
      I would like to see some of your ‘ramshackle constructs’ though.
      Regards, Pete.

      Like

All comments welcome

