Jamiroquai: The mystery deepens.

I have written a few times before about the strange phenomenon of my post,
‘Whatever happened to?: Jamiroquai’.
This random music post has generated so many views (7 today alone) that it has become one of my most-viewed posts ever. Only one day has passed since I published it when nobody viewed it, and week after week it has consistently appeared in my top three posts. I have been unable to understand why it has been so popular, and although few people ever comment, it it constantly viewed. Winston Churchill once said, (talking about the Soviet Union) “It is a riddle wrapped in a mystery inside an enigma; but perhaps there is a key.”

Today, I noticed something on my home dashboard. Under the heading ‘Referrers’, I found this unusual link. Perhaps this was such a key.

cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/beetleypete.wordpress.com/2016/09/04/whatever-happened-to-jamiroquai/amp/?amp_js_v=6#origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com&exp=a4a%3A0&channelid=1&cid=1&dialog=0&prerenderSize=1&visibilityState=prerender&paddingTop=54&history=1&p2r=0&horizontalScrolling=0&csi=1&storage=1&viewerUrl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com%2Famp%2Fs%2Fbeetleypete.wordpress.com%2F2016%2F09%2F04%2Fwhatever-happened-to-jamiroquai%2Famp%2F

That’s a crazy-looking link. If you run the mouse over it and highlight it until it turns blue, then right click, you can activate the link. And like me, you may be surprised at what you see.

It is a representation of my post. The video clips I included are shown as stills, and do not activate. Otherwise, the text is all the same, and the comments box takes you back to my original post. This appears to be something put up by WordPress, although I was unaware that this post had been chosen to be showcased in this fashion. If this is indeed the case, it might well go some way to explaining the constant views, and frequent clicks from elsewhere onto that post.

I am sure that you are all very bored with this by now.
But from where I sit, it is like the Dead Sea Scrolls, or the Rosetta Stone.

35 thoughts on “Jamiroquai: The mystery deepens.

  1. I too looked up the amp project and am non the wiser. I also checked their ‘supported platforms’ and WordPress isn’t on the list, so it’s all very strange. I am still wondering at how many people are looking to see what happened to Jamiroquay, wherever they find your post, there must be a lot of disappointed fans out there!

    Like

    1. It seems to be a project that allows the posts to be read on any platform or device. But wordpress already does that, so I do wonder how my post came to be on it. I don’t want to kill that ‘golden goose’, but I am intrigued.
      Cheers, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It is actually a greater mystery if you google https://www.ampproject.org/. It is “an open source initiative that embodies the vision that publishers can create mobile optimized content once and have it load instantly everywhere”, but I am not sure how your post would end up being featured there. Could it be that an AMP user did that individually so that s/he could read the post easier on their mobile? (I like mysteries, as you may have gathered šŸ™‚ )

    Like

    1. Thanks for the additional research, Nandia. It does seem that someone has added my post to this project, which did not generate a pingback, or request for approval. I will continue to explore!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  3. One day I had 885 views for a random post. I have no idea why that particular day the world seemed to sync in with something I wrote. I like to think that your Jamiroquai post is one of the few, one of the better posts about your precious group. Regardless, you are never boring, Pete.

    Like

All comments welcome

