Not feeling it

This is by way of apology to all my regular readers and followers.

I am sorry that I am not posting much at the moment. To be honest, I am just not inspired to write. Maybe it’s the seasonal thing, perhaps because some things are going on behind the scenes, I am not sure. Whatever the reason, I am not feeling the blogging urge, and I am lacking ideas and energy. I seem to have run out of things to say, stories to write, and photo opportunities to post.

Even my music posts have dried up; as try as I might, I can think of no songs to write about. I have some DVD films still to watch, so they may provide some blogging fodder. But in truth, I doubt it. I may not be around for a while on this blog, but I will be sure to keep up with your blogs, and to add my likes and comments. I will also answer any emails, and make sure to be around in the community.

But otherwise, I am going through a ‘fallow’ period. It happens now and again, so it’s nothing to worry about. I will no doubt be back soon, firing on all cylinders.

And to be honest, I still feel very tired. Maybe things will change when it brightens up a little, after the 21st. This is a godforsaken gloomy time, to be sure.

Best wishes to all. Pete.

54 thoughts on “Not feeling it

  1. Hello Pete, I’m hoping it’s a seasonal slump. I have also not even been reading many posts the last couple of weeks, just dipping in now and again and I also feel ‘too stretched’ if you know what I mean. I always get over tense this time of year which means I start getting chest infections or colds. I just want to hibernate until Spring hahaha. Maybe we both need a tonic :0)

    Like

  2. Don’t worry about us, Pete. We wish you, Julie and Ollie a happy Christmas and all the best for the New Year. See you then!
    Lost of love from Cley,
    from the four of us
    XxXx

    Like

  3. Pete, never worry about your avid followers, I’m sure the rest will agree that we all need down time.. Even, the best writers have writers block… Feel better, refreshed, and go at the pace that feels the best for you my friend.. Take care, Laura

    Like

  4. It is natural to have a breather. We were not born blogging. I see there’s already a classic Pete tale with a twist to read later. Merry Christmas and best wishes to you, Julie and Ollie xx

    Like

    1. Thanks, Pippa. That new story is from September, and was originally intended for Halloween. I had it in draft, and made it a little shorter.
      I am still having that breather.
      Warm seasonal thoughts go out to you too. xx

      Like

  5. As long as you’re well… I think it’s good to take a break to replenish and get going again, but I agree it’s a gloomy time of the year (and few hours of light don’t make for many opportunities for photographs). I’ve just been reading a book about Artic expeditions and I’m not sure what’s worse, neverending day or continuous night (for me probably night)

    Like

    1. Thanks, Olga. I’m not ill, just not very enthusiastic at the moment. Perhaps because I am not a great fan of Christmas. The forced jollity and the annual rituals have never really grabbed me in the way that so many seem to enjoy.
      That aside, I wish you a very Happy Christmas, and hope that your Mum enjoys it too. Thanks for being such a good friend for the past few years, and I look forward to continuing our blogging relationship during 2017.
      Very best wishes, Pete. x

      Like

  6. Sorry you’re feeling a bit off, Pete. I think the body and mind need to go ‘fallow’ sometimes. It’s not by pushing yourself that inspiration will return, but by chilling out and daydreaming… Best wishes and have a happy holiday! MarinaπŸŽ„

    Like

  7. I think you are secretly writing new materiel for Jamiroquai! Which just made me think that all these references to Jamiroquai will be bumping you up the list on a google search for Jamiroquai. Although it such a difficult name to spell it is a wonder anyone ever searches for Jamiroquai!
    Happy Solstice Pete, everything seems better when you know the days are getting longer again.

    Like

    1. I think my days of composing Jazz-Funk music are behind me, but it’s an interesting thought, Eddy.
      I heard back from those blog-engine/multi platform people, update to follow at some stage.
      I hope that you, Gosia, and Malina have a suitably festive Polish Christmas.
      Best wishes to you as always, Pete.

      Like

  8. Sorry to hear you’re feeling a bit drained lately. The end of the year can be such a strange time, simultaneously feeling like it should be a time of self-reflection and a time to relax and not do much of anything. Hoping you’re feeling well again soon. Blessed and happy holidays to you and yours!

    Like

  9. Well if you’re gonna have a writers wobbly/block, this time of year is the best time to have it. Make the most of any festivities you can’t get out of, and have a bit of a brain-drain, watch movies have a few sherbets and put yer feet up. Come back in the new year full of vim and vigor (best saying ever!) we’ll still all be about 😊

    Like

  10. Pete! These are words that I loved hearing. Right now, I don’t have the killer blog post at my typing fingertips, nor in my mind. The past few weeks and this week have dramatically shifted our thoughts away. Couldn’t be more normal at Christmas time. My classroom is a perfect example. I know this will all shift back to ‘normal’ soon. I am headed to the Currier Museum of Art to see the White Mountains exhibit a few days after Christmas. That will be a fire! Merry Christmas to you!

    Like

  11. In which case I shall wish you and Julie, and Ollie of course, a happy Christmas and a cracking New Year. Are you having family round or are you going to them? It looks like I have drawn the short straw this year and cooking dinner for 7 of us! No fillet steak then this year…

    Enjoy the rest – and I’ll see you later πŸ™‚
    Jude xx

    Like

  12. You’ve been enormously productive recently Pete but things change, lulls occur, it’s not unusual and it’s not important. When you are ready to write you will write . . so it goes. You owe nobody anything.
    I need to speak to you so I will call you soon.
    Love and very good wishes, Ro xx

    Like

  13. To everything there is a season… maybe it’s your time to rest and draw strength from others… I am absolutely amazed that you post something of quality everyday … hopefully we can be as entertaining in our posts, as you have been to us. take care of yourself… Spring will come again!

    Like

  14. There is a ring of people out there who feel the same way. So you are probably a member of the “fallow”ship of the ring. But we all know you are also the internet’s blog king. So we all look forward to the return of the king. Those are my token thoughts.

    Like

All comments welcome

