Goodbye, 2016. Please never come back

I cannot recall a time when I have ever been happier to bid farewell to a year. 2016 has been without doubt one of the worst years that I can recall. And I can recall some bad ones, I assure you.

There have been a few personal issues, that I will not be going into on a public forum. As well as that, there has also been an inordinate amount of deaths, both public, and personal too. Never has a year seen the Grim Reaper so busy. At least not one that I can remember.

On the plus side (and there isn’t much plus) we have seen people voting with their hearts for a change, and finally starting to engage in politics in a way that hasn’t been seen since 1945. Not everyone has been happy about that, on both sides of the Atlantic. But it has to be better than apathy, at least in my book.

Wars continue, religious conflicts continue. The rich get richer, the poor get poorer, and society carries on dividing in ever widening circles. It might well have been the worst year I can remember, during a relatively long life. In that respect, I wish it gone. I wish it forgotten, and disregarded by history.

So. I wish all of my readers and followers a much better year to come.
May 2017 bring you the realisation of your hopes and desires, and prove happy for you all, and your families too. May we all feel more positive, more hopeful, and less pessimistic. When the new year dawns, let us trust that it brings more positives than negatives, and delivers hope, instead of despair.

And if all else fails, we can continue to blog, to write, to post photos, and to feel part of an international community that crosses boundaries, language differences, and political opinions.

My sincere best wishes to you all. The readers, viewers, ‘likers’, and of course, the followers.

I wish you all a very Happy New Year from the quiet of Beetley, in rural England.

Pete.

62 thoughts on “Goodbye, 2016. Please never come back

  1. Pete, I can totally relate that 2016 has been a terrible year. I’ve been hanging on by my teeth so to speak since my older sister took her life back in April. Your friendship through those terrible months that followed really did get me through.. I show a strong front to my grown children and soon they forget I’ve suffered a loss. I wished they could have manage to see the broken heart beneath the smile on my face that I always try to produce for them. So, bless you my dear friend for being there in more ways than you can imagine.. So, for me and for that 2016 had its good bits too… both sides of a coin I suppose..

    But, yes … bring on 2017 and get this snow outta here and me back playing in the dirt in the garden 🙂

    Like

    1. I well recall your trials and tribulations during last year, Laura. If anything I said or did helped you through in a small way, then I am grateful.
      I am going to try to be more positive during 2017, so fingers crossed!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Pete, I keep telling my son to become more positive. How can a family be so different? I think after all of these years he’s finally releasing his stubborn streak and trying it out for a test drive… Stress will kill you faster than anything else, and I plan on being here a long time..

        So, being positive will only do wonders for the body, mind, and outlook.. crossing my fingers, toes, and eyes for you.. wink…..:)

        Like

  2. Happy New Year, Pete. Hopefully 2017 will be a good year for us all. Interestingly enough we had some changes on the political scene in South Africa this year that could be quite profound for us and may lead to better things for the people of this country. So it wasn’t all bad.

    Like

  3. There are a number of superstitions surrounding a leap year and my Russian friends in particular are very glad it is over..funny how just adding one day can apparently through out the rest of the year. Ours has been pretty exhausting but for us selling up in Spain and moving back to Ireland, buying and renovating a house has been a good thing. So sad to be losing so many well known faces it certainly has been a dreadful year for that.. I hope 2017 is much better for you and everyone.. Happy New Year.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Sally. I am very pleased to hear that your move back to Ireland has been something positive for you in 2016. I sincerely hope that you continue to enjoy your new life in the year(s) to come.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Usually, people don’t agree on much, but I think in general this has been a terrible year. One of the few good things for me has been the contact with the wonderful international community of bloggers, sharing their news and their successes. Breathe in, breathe out, relax and let’s see what 2017 is like… Warm regards.

    Like

  5. Dear Pete:

    I hope that the New Year and all the years that follow — and may they be many — are filled for you with happiness, health in abundance, prosperity beyond measure and every blessing from God and know that I am very honored to have made your acquaintence and thank you for your faithfulness in visiting my blog.

    Like

    1. Many thanks, John. I look forward to reading many more of your opinions during 2017. It’s always interesting to hear another point of view; and if I follow a blog, I will always read and comment on posts.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That is the first time I have ever been described as ‘a highpoint’ of anyone’s year, Cindy, and I am deeply touched. I was so pleased when you decided to continue blogging, and I will be anticipating many more of your interesting posts with relish.
      Your blogging friend from England. Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. John, I look forward to reading about more huge burgers, wacky food, bacon hats, and sushi backpacks. More out-there films, retro-cinema memories, and not forgetting Todd!
      (Maybe a bit less Macca though…)
      Best wishes from England. Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Like you, I’m glad to see 2016 draw to a close. (“Glad” might be an understatement!)

    I believe 2017 will be a better year for me. I’m looking forward to finishing the first of two detective novels (to be published in 2018 along with its sequel), and also to writing more song lyrics, as Chris Almoada and I hope to start marketing our collaborative songwriting. Of course, I do enjoy reading French novels, so I look forward to continuing with Jules Verne. The JV binge got underway with “Robur le Conquérant” (“Robur the Conqueror”) and “Les 500 millions de la Bégum” (“The Begum’s Fortune”) and continues with “Les tribulations d’un Chinois en Chine” (“Tribulations of a Chinaman in China”). After I’ve set this one aside, I’ll re-read “L’Île mystérieuse” (“The Mysterious Island”) and read, for the first time, “Les Enfants du capitaine Grant” (“In Search of the Castaways”). All that is good for the brain, but, of course, I can’t allow my body to vegetate! So, to keep myself in good physical shape, I’ll be walking the Las Vegas Strip, hiking in the desert, and rock scrambling in Red Rock Canyon.

    Pete, I do hope 2017 smiles upon you and yours (including Ollie).
    Happy New Year from Las Vegas!
    David

    Like

  7. Same to you Pete and I do agree that we’ll see a wave or resistance in this country against everything Trump and the Republicans stand for….and the better for it. We need a progressive movement that allows us to see the rapid class divide that has impoverished so many of people around the world. Happy may progressive movements like better healthcare, higher wages, climate change and equal pay for women succeed in 2017.

    Like

All comments welcome

