Something positive

Continuing my quest to stay positive in 2017, I am happy to report something tangible that helps me along my way.

I recently received a letter from the local Health Authority, requesting me to attend for a free screening check. As I am fast-approaching that worrying age of 65, it seems that I was considered to be ripe for preventive checks, organised by our British National Health Service. On this occasion, the offer was a free ultrasound scan, to determine whether or not I had an aortic aneurysm. This weakening of the major blood vessel in the body can be hard to diagnose from symptoms, and is generally fatal if undetected.

Of course, being me, I was wondering whether or not to go. If I had one, did I really want to know? The outcome might result in a major operation, one that in itself does not always guarantee survival of the surgery, or success of the procedure afterwards. But Julie was keen for me to have the test. After all, her own father died from a ruptured aortic aneurysm, in 2012. And he had no idea that it was there.

On Friday afternoon, I headed off to our small local hospital in Dereham. This is a community facility where clinics are run for tests and checks. It has no emergency department, no operating theatres, or maternity provisions. It is also less than three miles from Beetley, so exceptionally handy for me to drive to. A nice young man took me into the examination room. I got onto the bed there, and just had to raise my shirt. He placed some gel on my abdomen, and pushed a probe around my skin a few times. After a few minutes, he declared that I had a very healthy aorta, and it showed no signs of increasing in size.

He went on to tell me that it is highly unlikely that I will ever develop an aneurysm there, and I need no longer concern myself about that condition. A non-invasive, painless procedure, and I didn’t even have to get undressed! One less medical problem to ever worry about, and I was back home in time to take Ollie for his walk. At a time when our NHS is all over the news; facing criticism, lack of funding, and fears about its future, this was a shining example of a progressive public health service.

Now that’s what I call something positive.

42 thoughts on “Something positive

  1. Great to hear all is well and you’re still striving for a positive 2017.. Less stress alone will aid in a healthy body and mind.. Bravo my friend for going and checking it out… See it didn’t hurt a bit now did it.. wink…

    Take care, dear friend.. Laura

    Like

  2. A good result there Pete! Reminds me of recent events, of being referred straight to hospital from a telephone conversation with my doctor.

    Of course I assumed the worse and started counting down the days to my ultimate demise, walking around the house trying to work out why I had wasted (my overworked minds word not mine) the last forty years of my life and repeatedly taking my blood pressure (on the new machine I had purchased at what I thought was a bargain price).

    I also took a trip to T K Max to rumble through the shirts and jumpers I never buy. Finally the day arrives and I go to the hospital. Whisked in for blood pressure then out for echo cardiogram (with free running commentary).

    Everything is okay they say. Instantly I feel five thousand times more healthy, instantly forget all my health worries. Then off home for a sausage, egg and bacon butty (northern word for sandwich).

    Trouble is, I’ve now got a foot problem. Apparently I haven’t been walking properly for the past fifty-eight years (not that I noticed) and they are currently trying to correct this with insoles though this just makes me walk properly and feels quite peculiar as well as putting me of balance (well, my sense of balance).

    Keep up the good work Pete.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Gary. Glad to hear that you also had a good outcome.
      After all those years, ‘walking properly’ is going to take some getting used to.
      A bit like me having to wear real shoes, after months in wellies!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  3. That was a great outcome for you, Pete and I am thrilled with the positive results. You wrote a great story a few posts back and I couldn’t find a comment place to comment on it but it sure was a great story and you should continue with your writing skills because they are ….. in a word ….. “Out-frigging-standing! ….. You deserve a full english breakfast for your writing skills. I had one this morning …. sans the black pudding of course …. I cannot find black pudding here so I use baked beans instead ….and tomatoes, and mushrooms … and bangers and bacon …. and so on and on. Everybody I know is afraid of the traditional English “Fry-Up” but I discovered it helps me to lose excessive weight.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your kind words, John. There should be a comment option on all my posts. Let me know which it was, and I will check.

      The thing about that ‘Full English’ breakfast is that you can actually lose weight eating it, as long as you don’t have bread or toast with it. Most of us only have them in hotels or cafes these days. They are rarely eaten at home, unless we have guests.

      Best wishes from England. Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. “I recently received a letter from the local Health Authority, requesting me to attend for a free screening check.” Lucky you! All I get in the mail are letters from the Neptune Society and Palm Mortuary!

    Like

All comments welcome

