Continuing positivity

Regular readers will know that I have pledged to be positive in 2017. After a lifetime of seeing my glass half-empty, I decided to change my attitude, and to embrace my 65th year by being positive at all times, about all things.

Some days, this is harder to achieve than on others.

I woke up this morning to bleak skies and torrential rain. Nothing that unusual here of course, but after a few bright days, the return to situation normal was far from welcome. This raised the prospect of a dog walk in driving rain, and more fresh mud to trudge through too. I could have complained, and felt pretty fed up. This was generally my reaction until now. But instead, I tried to see the positives.

I have excellent waterproof gear, so can walk though the rain untouched, save for my face. Rain and fresh air on the face is bracing and healthy, so that’s good, isn’t it? I also have new tough wellington boots, so as long as I watch my footing, the mud should not be a problem. No issues there then. And Ollie loves to go out whatever the weather, so that’s always a joy to see.
All good then
Embracing the positives.

Then the central heating system broke down. As I am sure you will agree, this is something that never happens in the summer. It is always a bleak and chilly day when the heating decides to play up, isn’t it? I went out to the boiler in the garage, and hit the red ‘RESET’ button. It fired up. Hooray!

Then it stopped again.

Three more tries, and it still kept stopping. If it is the main boiler, then it is going to be something very expensive, potentially. And this from a system only installed in 2012 too. Plenty to get annoyed about, on top of the bad weather. Instead of raging at the sky, I examined the situation with a positive mind.

We have an electric immersion heater in the water tank. So we can have hot water at least. A fan heater managed to take the chill off of the living room, and later on, I will light the wood burner, ensuring a cosy evening around the fire, and more heat than we can cope with. There is enough wood to keep it going for a few days, so that’s good too. Then I rang our heating man. Although he was out, I was assured that he will call back later, and try to fix it early next week. If it is expensive, at least we have enough money in our savings to cover the cost, and will just have to put it down to one of life’s little problems.

By seeing the positives, I was left mildly put out; but headache free, less stressed, and with a ‘One of those things’ attitude. No point getting all het up about something you cannot change, is there?

Staying positive, in 2017.

70 thoughts on “Continuing positivity

    1. Heating fixed easily enough, Olga. (I would usually add ‘for now’, but will not do that…) And the sun is so bright, I can hardly see to type.
      Take care, Olga. I hope that all is well with you and your Mum. x

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m full of admiration, Pete; I would have been seething quietly, since: a. I hate what I call ‘domestic disasters’ i.e. anything involving plumbers, electricians, etc and b. my dog HATES the rain (short-haired dachshund). So peeing and pooping are an issue (no, I don’t have a covered potty-yard, as pet books advise, but, on the other hand, I do live in Greece…) I also try to stay positive to avoid turning into a grumpy old bat, but, a word of warning: one should also be careful of turning into some ghastly sort of Pollyanna, who manages to smile about everything, to the annoyance of everyone around her. A good rant occasionally is not a bad thing. Here’s to a great birthday week, and hoping the sun will come out soon! Marina β˜€οΈ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That gave me a good laugh, Marina. The possibility of me turning into a grinning Pollyanna is non-existent, I can assure you. When I worked in the Police, there were a few of us with the same name. I was always referred to as ‘Grumpy Pete’, by way of identification.
      So, my new-found attitude is an experiment in progress, and these posts are actually written with an element of tongue-in-cheek, as anyone who knows me well would testify.
      The sun is out this morning though…And the heating was fixed… πŸ™‚
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  2. We had the oil tank filled today – now that’s something to make you pessimistic! But I just paid up and thought, well won’t have to worry about that for another 10 months (hopefully). Septic tank may be another worry though and replacing that won’t be cheap… life in the country eh!
    And isn’t it your birthday this month? Now that has to be something to be positive about πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We got some oil eight days ago. Β£217 for 500 litres, not too bad. We get it about three times a year, so around Β£14 a week for heat and hot water. Cheaper than Gas at the moment. (We don’t have any gas in Beetley anyway)
      The plumber came, and the boiler was sooted up. We had a couple of new bits, and a complete clean. Β£40, more than acceptable. Sorry to hear about the septic tank. That sounds expensive. We are lucky to have mains sewerage, but then we are not as remote as you.
      My birthday is on the 16th. I have a friend coming on the 11th for three days, then Julie has the following week off. So a whole ‘birthday week’ is planned. Always an event!
      Best wishes, Pete. x

      Like

  3. Congratulations! I am sure fear is the root of negativity. When you can stand back and look at the inconveniences of life and realize in the big scheme of things, ’tis nothing, well then, you’ve achieved success.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey Pete … I wish you all the best. I think negativity in general is probably like any other habit. A bugger to drop in the beginning but eventually, with perseverance and patience, you move past it and can make positivity your lifestyle instead. No unrealistic expectations, we all drop into a funk now and then, but!!! Habits can be broken. Btw … I just gave up sugar and carbs about 2 months back. Yeah, a bugger. I am, after all, the Reese’s Peanut Butter Queen. But … it’s all about habit more than anything else. I’m … well … past my prime, so to speak, lol, but I think we can all make big changes in our lives no matter how old we are or how ingrained the habits are. Again … wishing you great success!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thanks, Lois. Good luck with giving up the sugar and carbs. I rarely have sugar. But carbs? Well, I love pasta, granary bread, and lots of other bad things…One thing at a time, is my advice to myself.
          Best wishes, Pete.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. It is nowhere written that we are required to be Life’s little punching bags. Our destiny is to live life abundantly. Therefore your quest for positivity is a powerful step forward to a brighter, happier and more stress-free existence. Congratulations on your resolve.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You also have the best friend in the world.. Ollie. Unconditional love; he could care less about your politics, how you blog, even how you fart or pick your nose. The whole world could turn to pot (might be better if it did, actually) and he would not care. And all it costs for that little bit of devotion is dogfood. I’d say you got it all, my friend. πŸ™‚
    I think I just talked myself into going down to the pet store.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Good thoughts, Doug. Ollie is a constant indeed. Asks for nothing, gives everything.
      Think long and hard though. Getting a dog is something that will keep you stuck at home on many occasions that you might not realise until you have one to look after. Then again, it gives more time for blogging, and he sits quietly next to my chair as I type.
      And on the plus side, the plumber rang, and he is coming tomorrow!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

      1. Whoa!!! You saying there, “Think long and hard.” just made me remember what chuq meant on his post about sex!! Now I remember what sex was!

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Umm… tears from pain or tears from disappointment? I guess it’s all relative in the end. Oopss. I don’t mean I do (od did) my relatives in the end. I better declare diplomatic immunity here before Pete declares me persona non grata.

            Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s easy to keep your cool when the central heating system breaks down… Just kidding! Have you tried watching the Spinning Dancer? [ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spinning_Dancer ] I was thinking of your cup-half-empty/cup-half-full analogy, and I thought of the Spinning Dancer. Of course, which way she spins has nothing to do with bad attitude vs. good attitude, but it has everything to do with perception, albeit visual, not mental/emotional. As for my cup, no one ever talks about a full cup or one that is bone dry. Even the dancer has to rest…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I watched the dancer, and found it interesting. For me, she started anti-clockwise, then changed to clockwise after a while. I didn’t read what that says about my perception though, as I am trying to stay positive… πŸ™‚
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Hehehe, you got your share of it this morning, Pete. Sorry, for laughing. πŸ™‚
    You know life’s like photography, you need the negatives to develop.
    Hope you have got one of those superfast dog dry up towels. Give Ollie a gentle pat from me. xox

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You are so right, Pete. The boiler could have broken down in winter, things could be so much worse. Being a glass-half-full person not only relieves stress and brings on happiness; it gives you a whole new way of seeing things. Keep up your great attitude. Wonderful post. Best to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I saw someone on Facebook embark on a “100 happy days” thing where she would post something to be happy about every day for 100 days – sounds exhausting.

    I’m pleased that you are so determined to be optimistic, perpetual gloominess can be terribly tiring.

    My main failing is – and always has been – procrastination. It’s something I’ve been meaning to sort out for some time – maybe tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. While I hadn’t mentioned it, I decided to follow your example on this positive attitude thing. After a lifetime of seeing half empty glasses, it is different when one asserts the glass is half full. Yes, it is positive even if the glass is only an eighth full. OK, I think there is something in the glass…in short sometimes I really have to push it.
    Warmest regards, Theo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have to push against all I have ever understood to get past life’s little difficulties, Theo. It is early days yet, only March of course. But if I am ever going to see 66, I have to carry on with this less stressful lifestyle.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

All comments welcome

