A word about photos

When I didn’t post any photos, most followers used to ask me to include them. My main reluctance to do so at the time was the consideration of using up my WordPress allowance for this blog. Then I decided to throw caution to the winds. I bought a new camera, resurrected my old SLR, and started to post lots of photos. Pretty soon, I had used almost 45% of my allowance, and I was getting worried.

Of course, my great community of blogging friends soon came to my aid. They gave me tips and advice about how to reduce the file size, whilst keeping the ability to have the reader enlarge the photos, to enjoy the details. Off I went, armed with a useful tutorial on Adobe Photoshop, courtesy of my friend, Antony. I reduced the file size by 50%, so that they would load faster for my friends with a slow Internet connection. This came with the bonus of using considerably less space, and made my allowance workable, for the time being at least.

For most of 2016, and a couple of times this year, I added photos where appropriate, and enjoyed a big boost in viewing figures every time they appeared. But looking at the stats, I started to realise something. Hardly anyone was enlarging these photos. The stats show me every time an image is clicked on, and they were few and far between. For instance, my post about Southwold, with four reasonably interesting photos, has been viewed 114 times. Yet only two ‘clicks’ are shown for the images. Out of all those interested people, only one or two have bothered to enlarge the photos. Some of those who did so mentioned that fact. I thank them for doing that, as the photos are a lot more impressive when enlarged, as I say in the post.

So, I am left with a question. Is it worth me bothering to post images of a decent size, or are most of you content with the smaller photos visible on the main post? If you don’t want to enlarge the images, then I won’t be bothering to spend so much time making them into a decent size for viewing.
Just let me know how you feel. No criticism intended, or pressure applied.

Best wishes, Pete.

63 thoughts on “A word about photos

  1. Hi from Italy. I reduce to 72 dpi my shots, with Photoshop, upload them to Flickr, then I get the html code and put it on my blog here in WordPress. So I do not take disk space. 😉

    Like

    1. Thanks very much for that tip, it is very useful.
      Since I started to reduce the photo size in Photoshop, I have hardly used any space. However, your advice will be very helpful to other bloggers, as well as me.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As you know I use a lot of photos on my blogs, sometimes a single large one, often galleries of several smaller images. I don’t know how many people click on them unless they leave a comment on the gallery image. I wasn’t aware that the stats show that! [shall have to go searching the stats now]. I don’t tend to enlarge single photos (I do have a large laptop) but I often click through the galleries and occasionally I have viewed full size if there is something in a photo that I can’t see clearly. I usually resize my photos to 1000 x 750 pixels and they come out around 300kb or less. You can still enlarge them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jude. I resize my photos now, using Photoshop. I cut them to 50%, then reduce the saved image to half. They still enlarge well, and use a tenth of the space. I will leave it as it is for now, but thanks for the advice.
      Best wishes, Pete. x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I occasionally click so it’s nice to have the option, but maybe reduce the max size? My pictures are normally for reference so detail isn’t that important, so I rarely have anything above 1024 x 768 or there about.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ll come clean, I rarely click on the larger images. I’m happy to see them the way they are but I like having the option there. If cause a lot more work and people don’t partake of the option I think you have your answer. I’m happy posting trailers in my reviews but people rarely watch them. I’m okay with that but it doesn’t take me a lot of work to include them. This sounds like it causes some work for you. Ultimately this is a decision will be entirely up to you, do what makes you happy. I will continue to enjoy your photos and occasionally click on to enlarge. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Lloyd. It is not the work involved, which is just a lot of clicks on Photoshop. I just feel that they look so much better enlarged. Just a personal choice, I suppose. Thanks for letting me know, it is appreciated.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Just hover the mouse over the photo. When you see the hand icon, left click. It will get much bigger, then you can examine any details using the magnifying glass icon that appears. Happy viewing!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  5. Hi, Pete: I always check the posts in my laptop computer, that although is not gigantic, as my eyesight is not what it used to be, I have it set at over 100%. I’ve clicked on some of the photos sometimes when you’ve mentioned some detail not visible to the naked eye, but not usually because as most people have said, the quality is good as it is.
    Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for letting me know, Olga. It would seem that just a couple of us are using old monitors, so need the enhancement. If you are happy with the normal size, then I am very pleased.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  6. Maybe i should have asked this very question on my site as well. I usually use a medium or thumbnail image on the posts but in the gallery are usually medium [say about 680 x 680. I use a lot of photos to help me explain my feeble writing – so I do have to conserve space to make it to the end of the war.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. I guess I’m in the minority here. While I don’t click on every single photo, I routinely enlarge the ones I find most interesting. I have a small computer screen (purchased in 2002), so perhaps that explains it. I love detail, and my screen doesn’t deliver it. I’ve brought your attention to a detail or two over the years. I didn’t know that image clicks were something that WordPress tracked. Does it tell you who among your followers did the clicking?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It doesn’t tell me who clicked, David, just how many times. Like you, I have an old monitor, low resolution, and 15 inch screen. Maybe that’s why we like to be able to make them bigger? I will leave things as they are for now.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mine is a 15″ Envision EN-5100e flat screen LCD monitor. Back in 2002, it was noted for “sturdy construction,” and it continues to work very well today. I don’t really know if it’s considered “low resolution” or not, but it probably is by today’s standards. When I bought my piece of junk ASUS computer in 2013, I kept the old monitor. I think this monitor will outlive yet another computer…

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Hi Pete, for what it is worth I read your blog on my phone so enlarging photos doesn’t make much difference to my viewing/reading pleasure. Phones have made many laptops redundant now, so the essence of your blog is enough for me and my phone. Just an observation. Keith

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cheers, Keith. It seems that the two ends of the spectrum, mobiles and large-screen monitors, are mostly making enlarging redundant. I will keep it as it is for now, and give it some thought.
      Hope all’s well. Pete. x

      Like

  9. The minority clicks on my photos, Pete. And I selten do. At home I have a big screen (27″) and when I’m travelling (like now) I generally have little time and I have the feeling I can view the photos very well on the smaller screen. I insert the images according to the WP recommendations for my theme: minimum: 1280 x 800. I was not happy with the smaller photos on our blog. Because I love photos and wanted to blow mine ones up, was the reason why I settled for the Full Frame theme. So I can understand your dilemma. What does WP recommend for your theme? I’d go for that size and not worry about the rest.
    But I have no illusions as far as what the readers really see, wants to see or not. HB B explained to me several years ago; the statistics say, the average reader stop looking after the third photo. Today, I sometimes insert up to five photos or even more. It depends on the narrative, and because we are blingual, we have a lot of words to frame.
    I am all for the photos and I primarely look for the images (and I’m all smiles when I see your photos and more smiles come when I see darling Ollie <3) secondly for the narrative, Klausbernd is the opposite. Whatevery way you choose, do what you think is right Pete. Having fun is mostly the only reward so just make sure you enjoy yourself.:-)
    Good night from the Rhine Valley, a gentle pat for Ollie ❤
    Dina

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks for the detailed explanation, Dina. I was missing the point about larger screens, and better resolutions. I think this goes a long way to explain why most readers are happy with the ‘smaller size’.
      Love from Beetley, Pete and Ollie. X

      Liked by 1 person

  10. If I enlarge on my phone then I don’t see the photo in full, only bits..however when on my laptop I do click and enlarge as I like to look at peoples’ photos…sorry that’s probably no help at all but I suppose it is what’s more practical for your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pete, I don’t usually click on the pictures for a bigger image as I have a nice sized computer screen already, so the images already looked very nice. It’s a great question, however…how much does the quality of the image drive viewing?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for letting me know, John. That is much appreciated. I hadn’t thought about big screens, as I still have a 15 inch Dell monitor, which is fairly ancient. That’s great information indeed!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

All comments welcome

