Non-Fiction: Published online

I have recently submitted an article to Longshot Island. It is a non-fiction piece about my former life in London, followed by my move to Norfolk. I am pleased to say that it has been published online, and may be considered for future publication in the magazine. Please follow the link, and read it at your leisure. I am really happy to give publicity and support to this venture. They are undoubtedly helping new writers.
http://www.longshotisland.com/2017/04/10/farewell-to-the-city/

Many thanks, Pete.

69 thoughts on “Non-Fiction: Published online

    1. I think it was likely planted, Theo. The name Beetley derives from the Saxon for a wooden hammer or mallet, a ‘Betel’. That was the main industry around here, until the wider use of iron.
      Then again, there are a lot of acorns here too…
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

  1. Well, first of: congratulations! I read your piece and it was so good! I used to work in central London when I lived in Chelmsford in Essex and I decided London wasn’t for me, and I was 19! It’s too busy and at that time felt so unfriendly. I’d come from Leeds where everyone knew everyone as I’d lived in the same house since I was 6, and the people in London wouldn’t even make eye contact with you. Norfolk sounds like a lovely place. I visited Norwich once (to be in the audience for “Trisha”) and I thought it was beautiful. I can’t wait to read more from you πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jenny. You are very kind, and I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed the article. They have published one of my short stories in the actual magazine too.
      http://www.longshotisland.com/2017/03/02/valerie/
      I appreciate that London is not a friendly place for outsiders. You might be surprised to know that the North can be an unfriendly place for Londoners too. I have had some very bad receptions, in places as far apart as Liverpool, and Tadcaster. (But I did go to Cinderella/Rockerfellas in the Headrow, Leeds, back in the day (70s), and that was a good night!)
      Not making eye contact is something of a ‘survival tool’ in Central London! But if I had met you there, I would of course have been friendly!
      There is a lot more fiction (and non-fiction) on this blog, if you ever get a chance to read it
      Best wishes as always, Pete. x

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I haven’t been back to London in five years, but have to go there this July, to be best man at a wedding. I have only been to Norwich six times in five years too. I am becoming something of a recluse! x

          Liked by 1 person

  2. An excellent article, Pete. I really enjoyed it. I am also a city girl but I do understand that feeling of exhaustion and being used up that is a result of our very fast city life. Your comment about the lot of women intrigued me. I often wonder whether the lot of women has improved that much. With our emancipated lives and the freedom to work, it seem, sometimes, as if we now just have to work full time while still bearing most of the responsibility for running the home and raising the children. It also feels now as it is an expectation that women work and share the financial responsibility. Hmmmm, I feel a new post coming on. Have a lovely day, Pete, and again, well done on this fab article.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks very much for your kind words and thoughtful comment, Robbie.
      At the time (and place) I was writing about, every woman in my family still went to work. My grandmother had her own grocery shop, and my Mum worked in an office near St Paul’s. The women were also expected to do everything around the home, from shopping and cooking, to cleaning and looking after the children.
      I referred to what I lived in then as a matriarchal society, as they also had a lot of respect, arranged and organised everything, and treated the men in the family as if they were large children incapable of doing much; save for driving cars, and handing over some housekeeping money. Since I first married, (in 1977) things have changed a great deal, (at least here) with many women being the main ‘breadwinner’ in a lot of relationships, as well as men being expected to help with household chores and raising children, both things that would not even have entered the mind of my own father. The women in my family would never have gone out socially without their husbands either, which was a big change later.
      I look forward to that post of yours, written from a younger perspective.
      Best wishes as always, Pete.

      Like

  3. Outstanding, Pete. Your memory of your childhood to the tree that has seen 400 years of history and counting. I’m certain many of the readers will find something in their own lives they can relate to in that story.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thoroughly enjoyed your Longshot Island piece Pete. It ended and I found myself wanting more!

    It took me back to my own childhood in Battersea and evoked so many memories.

    Great writing Pete and so clever of you to prΓ©cis such a long time span.

    James

    Liked by 1 person

  5. A fantastic piece, Pete. And I feel similarly about Barcelona, even though I’ve lived away from there for quite a while now. And love the comment about the tree. We’re only passers by. I didn’t see how to leave comments on the site itself, perhaps I missed something or it’s not an option. I hope it’s picked for the paper edition too. I’d be surprised if it isn’t.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is no comment facility there, Olga.
      I am glad that you enjoyed it. I am hoping that these non-fiction ‘musings’ may become a regular feature on that site.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Like

    1. Yes, the oak tree section was part of a previous blog post. I sent the two in separately, and Daniel re-jigged the tree piece to follow on from the move from London. So anyone who remembers that post will recognise the later part of the article.
      Cheers mate, Pete.

      Like

  6. The article is very well written, Pete. But it shifts from your life in London to the tree’s life in East Anglia. The reader would naturally expect to learn how you adapted to your new life in Beetley, even though you remain, at heart, a Londoner. To be honest, I think you have two different stories here, even though they are connected. Independently, they are very well told, and I enjoyed reading them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, David. It may well be part of an occasional series. This was by way of an introductory article, although that was not made clear, as it it not definite. It is very much two different pieces, stitched together to give some idea of the different environments.
      If it goes ahead, then more details of that adaptation will be featured.
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. In your reply to Eddy above, you said, “I sent the two in separately, and Daniel re-jigged the tree piece to follow on from the move from London.” So that explains how the two pieces got “stitched together.” I hope you are able to pursue your idea of “an occasional series.”

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Elizabeth. There is a great deal about my ‘early years’ on this blog, as well as personal stuff about three marriages, and all the jobs I did. Let me know if you want more links to those!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      Liked by 1 person

All comments welcome

